We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: British, Bar, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a great restaurant and bar in the centre of Dolgellau. What was the original old County jailhouse has been skilfully converted into a contemporary, stylish and yet cosy restaurant serving traditional British dishes with a Welsh twist using mostly local produce. The ground floor bar is a great place to unwind and relax with a drink or light meal. Booking is essential, please check for opening times. Please note we are unable to cater for children under 8 years old.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We booked for a meal on Saturday at 8pm. We were made to feel very welcome and were seated in the bar which was a lovely experience with the finest array of gins I have seen. We ate our meal in the upstairs restaurant which was a great setting. The staff were excellent and the meal delicious. There is also an extensive choice of well-priced wine. We finished off our evening back in the bar where I discovered the excellent choice of whisky. We enjoyed it so much we booked again for the Sunday where the excellent experience was repeated in the downstairs restaurant which has a more relaxed feel to it. We had a great time on both evenings thanks to the great food, staff and ambience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pitters123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    70
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice but still room for some minor improvements”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a fully booked Sunday evening on the August bank holiday weekend. Staff were clearly very busy but calm and as attentive as could be whilst busily working away. Now I don't like to be rushed in a restaurant but I do think that Y MEIRIONNYDD have gone a little to far the other way, with a good wait before our plates were cleared away followed by another good wait for the next course. Maybe this was just down to the amount of diners on that evening but there were a few occasions when we thought we had been forgotten.
We sat upstairs which is quite a small room and the tables were a little too close for comfort with the couple next to us easily within arms reach, which made it difficult to have a private conversation. I can't comment on the layout downstairs as we didn't venture down there!
Overall the food was very nice, although I would have preferred to have been warned about the bones in the fish terrine either before or at the time of ordering. I spent a good few minutes picking bones out of my teeth during the first course, which is one of my pet hates. The main lamb course was cooked very well and was delicious but the lamb was a little too fatty/gristly to be fully enjoyed. When it came to puddings there was only one "pudding" if you discount the various ice creams and sorbets. Although the blackberry and apple crumble was delicious, a few more real pudding choices would be nice.
Overall the meal was enjoyable, well cooked and very tasty. I'm being rather picky here about one experience on what was a very busy night for them. However, the impression that I get from the proprietors and staff is that they are striving for perfection, so I hope my comments can help them to make some little tweaks in order to achieve that. I'd definitely visit again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Fairy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello Fairy73 and thank you for leaving your constructive review.
We are very sorry that your visit was not as perfect as you'd hoped, Bank Holiday weekends are always extremely busy for us, this one was no exception hence the delay in service. We try to look after everybody equally and whilst we don't actually aim to be perfect we do set ourselves very high standards, standards which were somewhat lacking for you both that night.
We've noted your comments about the rump of lamb, we pride ourselves on serving only the best Welsh lamb (read previous reviews) from our Butcher, however yours was not up to our usual standard for which we can only apologise. We would have happily swapped it for another piece had you let us know when we checked during your meal, rump of lamb always has a certain amount of fat that makes it so tender and flavourful.
Our Puddings during the summer tend to be lighter and often colder to reflect the seasons, from September we will be adding more traditionally warm puddings so hopefully when you return you'll have more choice.
Once again thank you for your welcome review, we are always learning and improving what we all do at Y Meirionnydd and look forward to welcoming you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

A superb restaurant offering an excellent menu at an affordable price. Service was perfect - welcoming and attentive without being overwhelming. Locally sourced produce cooked to perfection served in a very attractive, intimate setting. Wish we lived nearer so we could visit more regularly. Wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear NaomiC, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We were all thrilled to read it, you are a great Ambassador for Y Meirionnydd and we really appreciate it.
Someone suggested we should create a 'pop up' restaurant, a great idea but sadly not for us!
We really look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Marc, Nick and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Excellent food and service in a lovely building. It's in the centre of the town so parking may not be right out side. Book in advance as very popular even on a Monday night

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited the area in early August and although we were able to book a table at short notice, the restaurant was full. Our meal was delicious, we chose from an imaginative menu with lots of choice featuring locally sourced ingredients. I had beetroot and ricotta tortellini, my husband ate Welsh lamb, and our son had fillet steak. Highly recommend the deserts my chocolate torte was amazing. Great service in a beautifully restored environment.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ladyjane473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Meirionnydd also viewed

 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing