We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $36
Cuisines: British, Bar, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a great restaurant and bar in the centre of Dolgellau. What was the original old County jailhouse has been skilfully converted into a contemporary, stylish and yet cosy restaurant serving traditional British dishes with a Welsh twist using mostly local produce. The ground floor bar is a great place to unwind and relax with a drink or light meal. Booking is essential, please check for opening times. Please note we are unable to cater for children under 8 years old.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The service was lovely and the food was excellent. It was a gaol at one time so the ceilings were quite low downstairs but it all added to the character. Mind your head!

Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 313 of 407 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here at the hotel for one night and I can honestly say it was the best nights stay away ever!!! We dined in the cellar restaurant at night and the service was flawless, staff cant do enough for you and the whole experience made us feel very special.
We both had pate to start, then the fillet steak and the steak was cooked to perfection, service is timed excellently and the atmosphere made very romantic with soft, spiritulistic music in background.
The owner of the hotel/restaurant is one of the most friendly, approachable people we have ever met and this in addition to the superb decor throughout, top quality food and excellent staff made this .short stay an amazing experience. Thank you and we will definitly be returning soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cheryl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here. The atmosphere and service are very good and they have a good menu. The steak is recommended - flavourful and cooked to perfection. The fish pie was a real disappointment however - not fresh, with a gelatinous dill dressing. The frozen prawns sprinkled on top were a low point as were the frozen vegetables on the side. Overall this gave an impression of poor value for money. This however would be easy for them to correct.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Morvalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Morvalu
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased that overall you enjoyed dinner at Y Meirionnydd. However we are obviously concerned with regards to the Fish Pie – it is one of our most popular dishes (see earlier reviews) and we are sincerely sorry that you didn’t enjoy it as much as the steak.
I can assure you that our Fish Pies are made fresh daily by our chefs from fish provided by our fishmonger. The prawns for the topping are indeed frozen in keeping with virtually every other restaurant with a fish pie on the menu, to use fresh would make the pie prohibitively expensive. With regards to the vegetables they are NOT frozen, all our vegetables are delivered several times a week by Four Seasons in Llangefni, then prepared and cooked by our chefs as required. You are more than welcome to ask to see any invoices for these items. We never cut corners to make a cheap menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having read the fantastic reviews for this restaurant it was top of the list of eating places to try during our weekend break in Dolgellau.The decor and atmosphere in Y Meirionnydd are so good that you really expect the food to be excellent- and it was! We ate starters of the welsh dragon pate and the game terrine, followed by the fish pie and the lamb and all were delicious.The wine list is so well written, with some quite unusual choices and our option was fantastic.We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and would definitely return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, very much appreciated!
We look forward to welcoming you again,
Marc Nick and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Found this gem by chance, as we were staying in Dolgellau for the weekend.
We had'nt booked but they found us a table in a lovely room which mixed modern decor and old to perfection
The meal, wine, service and ambience all were superb.
Fully recommend a visit.

2  Thank rusticfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you both for leaving a lovely review. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our restaurant and we are pleased you so obviously enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you both again!
Marc, Nick and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Meirionnydd also viewed

 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing