We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab little place to eat, drink & be merry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Y Sospan Cafe

Y Sospan Cafe
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab little place to eat, drink & be merry”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Fabulous evening, food was fantastic, wine was great & the service was second to none!
I don't know why it wasn't busier but we loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your evening at Y Sospan.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Helen And Y Sospan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    166
    71
    47
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A wonderful tasty experience and a restaurant with great ambience. We enjoyed several starters and a dessert. Food was excellent, staff most hospitable. All in all a terrific fun experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and our staff looked after you. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
217 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“High quality food in informal restaurant”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The quality of the food served in the evening at this popular, informal place is worthy of a more upmarket restaurant. I had crab cakes and sea bass, both excellent, and unlike some other reviewers I had no problem with the size of the portions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you really enjoyed your meal and the potion size was just right for you. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food and service was good”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We nearly missed this restaurant as the downstairs looks like a tearoom. Upstairs the room is very nice and interesting. The food was good - tasty and good portion. The service was friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayneeded72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our upstair restaurant can be like a hidden gem. We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Over Priced Cafe Food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went expecting good food, good service and good value, they failed on every aspect. The Pate we ordered came with the bread already buttered which we did not want. I had the soup which was nice. Our main meals came, I had Sospan's house special which came in a metal dish. My partner got the Salmon in sauce. we both sat there looking at them after the waitress said enjoy! and shook our heads thinking is this it? First of all no vegetables second I had no knife. We waited and waited but the waitress never returned so we managed to call one over and asked do we get vegetables with our food and could I have a knife, the answer to both was yes, so why were they not provided? My meal was at best a microwave dinner, my partners salmon was tasteless and had to put her own seasoning on it to make it palatable. We left feeling ripped off having suffered poor service and poor food with excessive prices. We would not go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fun2bwiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Y Sospan. I believe the pate you order was off our special menu which said it came with butted bread, if you had mentioned this to our waitress she would swapped it straight away.

Our Sospan gratin which I believe is the dish you are talking about is a very popular dish which has chargrilled chicken fillet topped with home cooked ham, homemade cheese sauce and creamy dauphinois potatoes. This dish is NOT a microwaved meal.

We season all our meat and fish but we don't like to over season so we do provide salt and pepper for people that like it more seasoned.

I am shock that our staff had not brought the vegetable our straight away and I have spoken to all our waitressing staff to make sure this never happens again.

We hope that you will give us a try again so we can enjoy what Y Sospan has to offer.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Sospan Cafe also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Sospan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing