We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welsh tradditional”
Review of Y Sospan Cafe

Y Sospan Cafe
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“welsh tradditional”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

great place with reasonable pricesб food is simple but very tasty, you have to reserve table better, sometimes its full.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    172
    74
    48
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a long wait for our meal despite only 3 tables in the restaurant being used. Disappointed with the size of portions, lamb casserole with not much lamb in it, and a small flat tray of vegetables for 2 people. At these prices we expected more than 1 piece of broccoli each and a few carrots, and diced potatoes. We have eaten here previously but during the day when it is a tea room. Also the tables are far too small and the chairs need cushions on them if the service means a long wait. Very disappointing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review. Im very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time in Y Sospan. I have made the chef and waitring on staff aware of your issuses and this will not happen again.
We hope you will give us another try to show you what we have to offer.

Helen and Y Sospan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Living in Tywyn we go into Dolgellau at least once a week for a drive and day out. Tried a number of places to eat but recommend the Y Sospan. good a tasty food and plenty of it.
The service of the staff really make you welcome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lang4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food sloooooooooow service”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked and we saw people being turned away. I had the lamb casserole and hubby had the ratatouille. The food was really good home cooked grub. The service was unbelievably slow the waitress was lovely but run off her feet. They need more waiting staff and they need to train them up, we were there for over 2 hours we only had mains and a pudding. I would return but they really need to sort this out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We are a very busy restaurant and we do advise people to book. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to welcome you back.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Lovely food, nice staff, a bit of a squish”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate here last week when they were flat out with a huge group upstairs. They still maintained their smiles and the food, although it took a while to arrive, was very definitely worth it. My chicken dish was absolutely delicious, as was the sticky toffee pudding. The wine list wasn't bad for such a small place, and it was well priced, as was the food. The only slight downside is that the place is pretty small, so there isn't a lot of privacy or space between tables, but the food more than makes up for a lack of space. Booking is definitely recommended. We also went for tea and cake a couple of days later, and this was also good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are a very busy restaurant and we are sorry for any delays we are alway trying to work that all our customers get the best service possible. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal. We hope to welcome you back again.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Sospan Cafe also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Sospan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing