We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Y Sospan Cafe

Y Sospan Cafe
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: 1606 old gaol building serving no last suppers but tasty breakfasts and hearty home made lunches curated to your individual needs. Teas and coffees made to your specific instructions (no soya or skinny options available sorry, our milk is semi-skimmed). Gluten free options available - please ask your server for advice.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a long wait for our meal despite only 3 tables in the restaurant being used. Disappointed with the size of portions, lamb casserole with not much lamb in it, and a small flat tray of vegetables for 2 people. At these prices we expected more than 1 piece of broccoli each and a few carrots, and diced potatoes. We have eaten here previously but during the day when it is a tea room. Also the tables are far too small and the chairs need cushions on them if the service means a long wait. Very disappointing.

Thank PAT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving your review. Im very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time in Y Sospan. I have made the chef and waitring on staff aware of your issuses and this will not happen again.
We hope you will give us another try to show you what we have to offer.

Helen and Y Sospan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 469 of 595 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Living in Tywyn we go into Dolgellau at least once a week for a drive and day out. Tried a number of places to eat but recommend the Y Sospan. good a tasty food and plenty of it.
The service of the staff really make you welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lang4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Helen and Y Sospan team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked and we saw people being turned away. I had the lamb casserole and hubby had the ratatouille. The food was really good home cooked grub. The service was unbelievably slow the waitress was lovely but run off her feet. They need more waiting staff and they need to train them up, we were there for over 2 hours we only had mains and a pudding. I would return but they really need to sort this out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ally83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review. We are a very busy restaurant and we do advise people to book. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to welcome you back.

Helen and Y Sospan team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate here last week when they were flat out with a huge group upstairs. They still maintained their smiles and the food, although it took a while to arrive, was very definitely worth it. My chicken dish was absolutely delicious, as was the sticky toffee pudding. The wine list wasn't bad for such a small place, and it was well priced, as was the food. The only slight downside is that the place is pretty small, so there isn't a lot of privacy or space between tables, but the food more than makes up for a lack of space. Booking is definitely recommended. We also went for tea and cake a couple of days later, and this was also good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are a very busy restaurant and we are sorry for any delays we are alway trying to work that all our customers get the best service possible. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal. We hope to welcome you back again.

Helen and Y Sospan team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just back in our B n B after a couple of hours here. We arrived at 7.30, having booked a table, though the girl on duty didn't seem to have our name written down. It was 8.20 before our meal arrived.. There seemed to be only two people on duty this evening. My chicken supreme was delicious, as was my husband's pork, so he tells me. We opted for a dessert... His sticky toffee pudding was ginormous.. And delicious. But where the evening really fell down was in the size of my apple pie... It was tiny. Very very tasty but only about a 10th of a full apple pie and looked about a third of the size of the sticky toffee pudding. There was very little difference in the price of these two desserts which made it seem even less fair. The room is tiny and did feel rather cramped. The food was well cooked though and very tasty, but I would think twice about a return visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fairamethyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review. I am very sorry if there was a mix up with your booking all staff have been made aware so it never happens again. I am glad you enjoyed your main meal and dessert. I have taken on board what you have said about portions sizes and the chefs have also been made aware of this. I hope you can give us another try so we can impress you.

Many thanks
Helen and Y Sospan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Sospan Cafe also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Sospan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing