We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great short break”
Review of The Moelwyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Moelwyn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at The Moelwyn for two nights. It's a lovely small hotel, with wonderful food and incredibly helpful staff. It is clear that the young proprietor has a vision of excellent customer service and quality. The views across the bay are stunning and it's a brilliant place to unwind and relax. There's lots to see in this part of North Wales and Criccieth is a good centre for touring. The three course evening meal for £20 is a bargain and shouldn't be missed. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for The Moelwyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights recently, had a double and twin room, which were clean with comfy beds. Good value for money, especially when you compare to what others charge for similar in the same area and you don't have to pay extra for the sea view. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, cooked to order. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the meal was excellent. Very good varied menu, well cooked and presented. Others have commented that the service may be a little slow, but who wants to be rushed - you are on holiday after all! If you want fast food thrown at you then go to McDonalds or one of those other dreadful fast food places - if you want well cooked and served food in lovely surroundings with a view of the sea go to The Moelwyn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The food was excellent in particular the homemade chips. The service was very good but. Little bit slow however the waiter knocked 10 percent off as he told us the chips were hand made as the freezer had broken down. I would recommend the Molewyn for lunch and I am confident that the evening meal would be just as good.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for 1 night whilst in the region for a wedding. Was greeting by a very friendly host who quickly sorted the check in and showed us to our room. He offered help, tourism advise etc and made us feel at home. Once in the room the view was exquisite, overlooking the beautiful beach. Breakfast was nice in their restaurant and again views over the sea. Had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our little trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

As our long-standing favourite restaurant in Criccieth, we chose it for our first and last night. On the positive side, the food is still excellent. However, the Moelwyn always had a certain style, with attentive service finished off with help yourself coffee and mints in the lounge. That the pot of coffee and the mints have now been abandoned is a small point only, but the deterioration in the service is not. On the first night they were clearly short staffed but someone had failed to turn up so we took it as just one of those things. However, the last night showed the staff seriously overstretched with perfunctory and service and doziness punctuating the rather lengthy meal. At least we could watch the glorious sea view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beirniad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have been visiting the Hotel for at least 15 years and have always enjoyed the food.The 2 of us dropped in again, having booked on our arrival in the town at 4pm.Our meal was Pork Belly , the sweet was Creme Brulee , the starter was Thai fish cake. All brilliant. The hotel has always had a good kitchen but with a new owner and a new chef things have stepped up a lot . Now outstanding.
In addision an out door balcony has been added to enjoy the incredible sea view.we took our coffee there to culminate a super evening.
Well done and for our part we will look forward to our next visit .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is not a review of the restaurant – rooms only. Stayed in the attic room 5. Very much a mix matched looked a little bit like student digs. Nice skylight view over the bay. Bed was past it's sell by - very uncomfortable and felt like slipping out of it all night. Towels small and thinner than a tea towel as far as fabric. Basic hospitality tray, mugs burnt your hand off as Wilko basic mugs. Wires showing at kettle which took an age to boil. Carpet worn. Bathroom OK, mirror over sink kept moving down so unless you were under 5ft you would have struggled to use. No toiletries and one used toilet roll without spare. Radiators full of dust and room felt unclean to be honest. Thin blinds at window so as soon as the daylight appeared (after 4am) the room lit up! If a little money spent on room it would be great. Breakfast was its only saving grace, this was lovely. Didn’t eat in restaurant as put off by the standard of the room and didn’t want to waste our money. Great location but not to the standard would have expected – real shame. We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Chester for a night before we arrived. We expected that room to be basic but was luxurious in comparision.

Room Tip: Room 5 is great for view, not so much for a good nights sleep!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlotsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
695 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,476 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moelwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moelwyn

Address: Mona Terrace, Criccieth, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: $115 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moelwyn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a pair of Victorian Townhouses, Moelwyn offers six en suite, individually furnished bedrooms and a quality restaurant of enviable reputation, specialising in seafoods. The ideal choice for a relaxed short break holiday.With a stylish yet informal atmosphere, the restaurant has established an enviable reputation for the quality of our cuisine and boasts some of the finest views on the North Wales Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Moelwyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moelwyn Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing