We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of The Moelwyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Moelwyn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great location, comfortable rooms, great food, excellent public spaces and very accommodating service. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andypandymacanandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
56
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
280 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were there one afternoon and had to ask for forks, knives, butter because the waitress kept forgetting. Even worse, the double cream turned out to be shaving foam cream type (the one from a canister) and the jam was of poor quality and badly presented. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoelwynRest, Owner at The Moelwyn, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which is always useful to us.
I am sorry you were disappointed with your afternoon scone. You visited us on the first day of opening for the season with new staff. No excuse for poor service though and we are looking into our on- the -job training and hopefully providing more supervision so thank you for your comments.
We do not however, and never have used 'squirty' cream, using only fresh local dairy products as we always try to support local businesses
The jams we use are from a reputable local company and are presented in individual portions for hygeine purposes. I am sorry you found that disappointing and hope you will visit us again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had a very enjoyable four night stay at the end of November for a short break. In terms of location and how other B&Bs we were considering looked from the outside once we got there, we think we couldn't have chosen better.

Given a choice when booking, we opted for a larger sea view but smaller shower room and that is exactly what we got, a fantastic view across the bay and an ensuite shower room with rather a small basin, toilet and shower. It was great waking up to the sound of the sea crashing against the shore just a few yards outside the window.

The room was not particularly modern (except for the flat screen TV) but was clean, warm and in good condition except for a creaky bed frame.

Breakfast was excellent with all of the usual items available and very well cooked. Being out of season the restaurant was only open for reservations and was closed every night that we were there so we chose to eat out at Spice Bank (good), Tir-a-Mor and Poachers (both excellent).

Overall we had no complaints and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a night for our anniversary in June during a mini trek around north wales. It was our favourite place of the whole trip and we will definitely be back to stay for longer.

Our room had a lovely four poster bed, views of the sea and had lots of lovely little touches.

The restaurant downstairs overlooked the sea too and had lots of delicious sounding dishes to choose from. We went for the three courses set menu and the food was excellent. Breakfast the next morning was just as good.

Throughout our stay the hotel and restaurant staff were so welcoming and friendly and incredibly efficient too. They made us feel right at home!

Criccieth itself is such a charming seaside town. It's very beautiful and relaxing - perfect for a romantic break or a relaxing holiday for friends. Although it's quiet, it's within short distance of many attractions, such as Porthmadog and its steam train and Portmerrion.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoelwynRest, Owner at The Moelwyn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
great that you enjoyed your stay with us
i will pass on your comments to staff.
hope to see you again soon
regards, olwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We Didnt stay here but ate on the terrace one evening. It has terrific views of the bay and the food is ok. Nothing special. We were forgotton about as we were outside and they had good intentions but were to busy to cope so several people were a little unhappy about the service. The welcome we received when we first arrived was however very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcs10557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Spent a couple of nights at the hotel and found it fitted our requirments perfectly. Superb view from dining room over Cardigan Bay so breakfast was a treat. Had a minor problem with the shower which was promptly fixed so full marks there. Room facilities were fine and fitted in with the standard you would expect. Service was excellent so we would have to contradict previous reviewers. All in all most satisfactory

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed in Room one which as a view of the bay. Room was comfortable with the usual facilities. Breakfast had a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and juice. The cooked food was tasty and with the view out to sea made a good start to the day. Had an evening meal which was enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JualWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moelwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moelwyn

Property: The Moelwyn
Address: Mona Terrace, Criccieth, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moelwyn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a pair of Victorian Townhouses, Moelwyn offers six en suite, individually furnished bedrooms and a quality restaurant of enviable reputation, specialising in seafoods. The ideal choice for a relaxed short break holiday.With a stylish yet informal atmosphere, the restaurant has established an enviable reputation for the quality of our cuisine and boasts some of the finest views on the North Wales Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Moelwyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moelwyn Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing