We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tanrhiw

Tanrhiw
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tanrhiw
Dining area Lounge area photo 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Tanrhiw
Dining area
Lounge area photo 1
Lounge area photo 2
Beach nearby
Porth Ysgo
Porth Iago
Llanbedrog
Bardsey
Bedroom 1, photo 1
Bedroom 1, photo 2
Bedroom 2, photo 1
Bedroom 2, photo 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Criccieth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vanessa H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed June 16, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Nice cottage, full off character. Dog friendly which was great. Very handy to walk to beach & cafes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2018
Many thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephjw29
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent pet friendly”
Reviewed May 21, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We came in April it is about our 4th 5th time, we all have a lovely time :)

my son daughter love coming also my two Yorkshire terriers!!

its about two minutes walk to the beach and criccieth castle you don't need to use your car :) I'm sure we will be coming again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2018
Many thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan O
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect”
Reviewed March 27, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

what a lovely cosy cottage me and my husband felt really at home there.for me it was lovely going back to criccieth and remembering all my childhood holidays it has not changed to much.we will come back again would just like to say thank you to you both

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Many thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghy13
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3rd visit here, but not the last.”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Might even be the 4th trip, lovely cottage, cosy, dog friendly, characteristic.
2 mins walk to beach and it's down hill so makes it easier.
Open fire gives cottage effect, coal and kindle wood gets it started.
Shops nearby for milk, bread, alcohol, the essentials.
Car parking spaces across road, never had an issue with getting a parking spot.
Trusting owners, and we will be come again and again.
Wifi throughout property so I brought my fire stick and iPad and never an issue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Many thanks for your review, welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelH31...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2nd visit this year”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

lovely cottage, centrally positioned, very clean, everything you could want for a break in this lovely town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
Thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdenboy
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Cosy Cottage in Criccieth”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and myself have stayed in this cottage three times now, It is well positioned in the centre of the town with lovely views of the castle and sea from the lounge/dining room. It has been well equipped by the owners who we have found to be helpful and friendly. The cottage is surprisingly very light and airy for an older property and there is plenty of street parking opposite the cottage.
Criccieth is a delightful seaside town with a good choice of shops, cafes, restaurants and pubs to suit all tastes and pockets.
We find the property to be a very good base to enjoy all that Criccieth and the surrounding area has to offer.
We will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2017
Many thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experienc...
1 review
“Lovely location, lovely cottage but needs deep clean and revamp to reflect price.”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely location, lovely cottage but it did not live up to expectations from the previous reviews. Great correspondence prior to arrival and I had a couple of emails that stated that it is an old cottage and therefore that should be taken into account. That does not excuse the level of cleanliness and condition of some areas of the cottage. We had to give the bathroom and kitchen a good clean before using, there were even someone else's underwear in the bedroom drawers. Far too many ornaments and clutter that is not needed in a holiday rental as there wasn't enough space to put down our own things. A declutter, deep clean, removal of peeling wallpaper and a lick of paint would result in far better review. Sorry but on this occasion I would not recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2017
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review our ‘value for money’ dog friendly little cottage in Criccieth, a cottage that has welcomed visitors from America, Canada, Australia and New Zealand as well as much of Europe and of course Britain. The cottage has been a holiday let for some 14 years and has a number of guests who holiday there 2-3 times a year. Guests like its convenient location just a couple of minutes from the beach and castle.

Needless to say, we were rather disappointed to receive a 2* review having received very good reviews throughout the season. We always leave a welcome card, inviting guests to contact us should they have any concerns, we also email the day after arrival, again to check that all is well, in this case, nothing was heard from the guests during the week and we only met them on their departure day as we arrived to prepare for the next visitors, again, no matters of concern were raised.

We have an ongoing maintenance and decoration programme and in recent years have installed double glazing, central heating, laminate flooring and had the property thermally rendered.

As regards ‘deep clean’, in common with all holiday rentals, on changeover day there is only time for a general clean and inspection, particularly when guests do not vacate the property on time. The previous guest is a regular visitor and as she does not arrive until the early evening each time she visits the opportunity was taken then to carry out a ‘deep clean’.

This is a period cottage and we have tried to retain its character with furniture, furnishings, decor and ornaments. As for our ornaments etc this is our property, our choice and they will remain in the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing