We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good modern bedrooms,”
Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caerwylan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed here for a friends wedding , in fact most of the hotel had been booked by the wedding guests and party. The bedrooms were all very well decorated, nice and modern feel to them and good quality furniture - our room No 38 had fab views over the Bay and you could see the Castle, although slightly compact it was all very nice. It was a tad expensive i thought £100 BB for a friday but guess they need to make their money while they can. Breakfast very good although plates could have been a little better again because of the price and you could only help yourself to the juice and cereals. The major gripe i had was that bearing in mind the hotel knew that most of us were going to wedding that they didnt keep the bar open - it was actually closed by 11.00 pm so there was nowhere for anyone to go. Although this might be the way they always operate i did think they missed a money making opportunity and if you are going to charge £100 and say you are a hotel not a BB then a residents bar should be available. I did like the owner had put a little comment in the book saying that he plans to continue with his refurbishement and i hope it works out as this is a lovely little hotel with great potential.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCSAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 397 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2009

Booked in for one night. The staff were extremely helpful and showed us the 2 rooms they had available. Unfortunately there were no executive rooms available but both the standard rooms were newly refurbished and individually decorated to a really high standard. The bathrooms were new and spotless. We didn't use the lounge or bar area but both looked clean. There is a garden which overlooks the sea providing a nice space to relax and have a drink. The dining room was very pleasant. Breakfast was cooked to order and really good. We didn't eat in the evening but if as good as the breakfast then we would next time. Overall the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Although the hotel has 3 stars it was definitely 4 star standard.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank generalandmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We found this gem by chance. King room on first floor with view of beach & castle. Room & bathroom in new condition.
Hotel has lift which is important to us.
Breakfast & Dinner were superb.
We had to find a doctor - the lady on the front desk was so helpful. Made a recommendation and then she called the surgery to help set up an appointment.
Excellent center for sightseeing in North Wales.
The hotel was so delightful, we extended our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ONLY2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed here on Saturday 27th June for one night, an impromptu weekend getaway to the beach to chill out. Cricceth itself is lovely and quaint, a nice little seaside village. We found this hotel on the net, checked Trip Advisor first, saw mixed reviews, but the pictures of the hotel looked nice so we took a chance.

On arrival it looked just like the picture on the website, but looked quite different inside. First impression was it was very old fashioned and in desperate need to a refurb and new carpet throughout. We looked in the bar and in the lounge area, it was deserted - yet the hotel was fully booked, it was a very hot sunny day 30 degrees and there wasnt a single window open, it was stuffy and resembled a nursing home. We booked an Executive Room £55 pppn = £110 for the night, sea facing. Thankfully we were pleasantly surprised with the room, which was tastefully decorated and had apparently just been refurbished with a beautiful view of the bay. Reception were not helpful at all, and were clueless when we asked for a recommendation for local restaurant for dinner. She recommended a restaurant that was dire to say the least. We were advised to take a night key, as they lock the front door at 11pm prompt, and after that you wouldnt get in!! LOL. Isnt that theReceptionists job? She then told us there were no night keys left, so we had to be back before 11pm or be locked out! We returned to the hotel and started watch a movie on TV, which promptly was cut off at 11:15pm mid-film, as was every channel, we rang Reception (the call was diverted to another number), the Night Receptionist answered, we asked what the problem was and will it be restored. He said he had no idea what the problem was, he was asleep, I'd woken him up and he doesnt even know what time it was. He offered no solution and wasnt interested. So we deceided to call it a day and went to sleep - until a gang of rowdy teenagers on the beach woke us up at midnight, screaming, and shouting until 1:30am. The window catch was broken and we were unalbe to close it to drown out the noice outside. So much for a relaxing night in a quiet seaside hotel. When we checked out the next day, we mentioned this to the Receptionist (who was the same person I spoke to about the TV the night before), he wasnt in the slightest bit interested, and didnt comment at all, he just pushed the bill infront of us. To summarise: the hotel was like a nursing home, in fact it could be mistaken for one - the average age of guests being 80+. It was like being stuck in a time warp - very outdated and dowdy.

If you stay here book an Executive Room (sea facing), take your ear plugs to drown out the rowdy teenagers who congregate on the beach on Saturday night, and take a portable DVD player, as I think they cut the TV off on purpose. Besides the room being ok the other saving grace was the breakfast was excellent, and served by an extremely polite and well spoken guy who is a credit to the hotel, but they probably dont realise this.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LongHaulMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We were only here for one night but had a lovely room with a fabulous view out to sea. It was all newly decorated to a good standard. The manager and all evening staff were excellent as was the evening meal which was superb value. The only downfall staffwise was breakfast but hopefully the manager will now have sorted that issue. It is a shame there is no official parking but we had no problem parking in the small road in front. The hotel is situated up higher than the beach but that adds to the view and there are just a few steps down to the beach. There was also flat access just a few yards either way from the main hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Delightful hotel in a delightful location. Small friendly hotel that has individuality.
Very clean, comfortable and with excellent food.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Arrived without being familiar with the local area. The hotel is situated right on the coast. Parking is cramped but adequate. The new owners of this establishment have done an amazing renovation of the rooms on the top two floors in only 18 months. One can tell that the rest of the reno's will make a big about face to what could have been a faded rose. We chose to eat at one of the pubs but our breakfast at this hotel convinced us we should have eaten dinner here as well. Better than previous B & B breakfasts, included fresh cut fruit salad and a good variety of hot selections. Our room had sweeping views of the sea and local castle. Very quiet room. High definition tv. Generous towels and tastefully decorated. Yes - we loved it and our hosts are a lovely couple. Warm, conversational, helpful and hands on. Whole place felt like staying at Granma's house. Absolutley recommended. We give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollystofferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
719 reviews
22.3 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: $147 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caerwylan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 and 2015 Gold Award. The Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, 2013 & 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing