We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caerwylan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We first discovered the caerwylan while we were having a few nights away in Wales a couple of years ago and it's now become our first choice of hotel whenever we get the chance and have the spare money to have a break.
We only stayed the one night on that occasion but went back for 3 nights last February for valentines weekend.
We decided on our first visit to pay the extra to get an executive sea view room and it is worth every penny of the extra cost to do it because the views from the large bay windows which directly overlook the sea is spectacular and therefore booked the same type of room for our last visit,
The hotel itself is perfect and i mean perfect, the rooms are second to none for space and cleanliness and the rest of the hotel is just as good, the bar area is wonderful to sit and have a quiet drink before heading into dinner in the beautiful restaraunt where the food is of excellent quality,
All the staff at the hotel are very friendly and spend time to talk to their guests and make them feel at home which is a real bonus compared to some hotels we have stayed in,
The hotel is classed as 3 star but its of an extremely high quality throughout and is far superior to some 4/5 star hotels we have stayed in
We have just booked again for 3 nights on valentines weekend next month and can't wait to get there and enjoy the perfect hotel that anyone could wish for.
Thank you so much nick and Fiona and all the staff for providing such a lovely hotel in perfect surroundings,
See you all soon
Mark and Angela Patterson

Room Tip: It's definetely worth the extra cost of an executive room but I'm sure they are all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    58
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
225
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I usually prefer to stay in small B&Bs, but decided to stay at the Caerwylan, which is a 20 or so room Victorian hotel on the beach, because I loved the idea of having a view of the water. We splurged on an Executive room with a big bay window with views of the water and the castle. The room was large and comfortably furnished in neutral colors. There was a small table with two chairs by the window that was perfect for dining with a view. We ordered take out fish and chips and ate them in our room to get maximum enjoyment from the view. The bathroom was huge, though nothing luxurious, but it also had a water view. Breakfast was very good, and parking was easy at the Blue China right down the street. I was impressed that each morning they cleaned the room while we ate our breakfast.

Criccieth is an okay small town, but I wasn't in love with it. We enjoyed touring the very small castle, but it certainly isn't worth going out of your way for. We visited Tre'r Ceiri hillfort on the Llyn peninsula (our favorite hike of our two weeks in Wales -- equal in thrills to Snowdon, but a lot easier), as well as Harlech, Caernarfon and Mount Snowdon. They were all easy to reach from Criccieth, but I would guess there are better bases for touring the area. Still, we were very glad we chose the Caerwylan, primarily because of the view from our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chm1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We arrived at the Caerwylan Hotel on Friday for a weekend away and were straight away impressed with the place. We received a great greeting at the check in desk and were shown around the hotel. The man that greeted us was just so kind and friendly. We received the same treatment throughout our stay, The staff were wonderful, kind and funny. The food was just of a superior quality and the hotel itself is in a fabulous location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely plan to go back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zepranksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went to Criccieth to visit my friend overnight, and she suggested this hotel. We arrived, beautiful weather, had drinks in the lounge which looked over onto the sea, and the castle was on the right hand side, it brought back many good memories. The Hotel staff were extremely helpful, since I am slightly handicapped. My room was very comfortable, and I could see the castle and part of the sea from it. Breakfast was served in the dining room overlooking the sea, the food was really good.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, get a room on the front, especially if you are staying more than one night b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights because of a wedding at Port Meirion, a few miles down the road. This is a really good hotel and we are pleased to strongly recommend it! All the staff are helpful and friendly. We had room 18 overlooking the sea/bay and it was spacious and perfect. The furnishings throughout the hotel are of a first class quality and well maintained. It was also exceptionally clean everywhere. The cooked breakfasts were fine - we did not have evening meal at the hotel, although we got the impression it is popular with local people, often a good sign!
The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and appears very well run. So pleased we chose the Caerwylan.

Room Tip: A bonus if you are holidaying is to stay in a room with a view - like room 18. As another contribut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe_Runners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
768 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Definitely the Caerwylan! We tried another a few years ago, a 'restaurant with rooms' and it had a lovely view, but the bed was not much smaller than the room. Tight! And then a super hotel - but found it was out of town and away from the sea.

So if you want the only really decent hotel in Criccieth, and a great sea view, its got to be the Caerwylan. Listen to the sea!

That's what we do - listen to the sea. Have an executive room (its worth the extra) and leave the window open so that you can hear the seagulls (just as in Radio 4 drama set at the seaside) and listen to the waves breaking on the beach. And the rooms are spacious.

The restaurant is excellent. We go to a few hotels and restaurants each year, and this one is good. The staff are friendly.

Parking - the road outside is narrow, and I do not risk leaving mine there. Prebook a garage - they are tatty, but watertight and lockable.

And that's why we keep going back, where we open the window and listen to the sea!

Room Tip: Go for an executive with bay window and sea view - worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We'd stayed here several years ago. Then it was a hotel with great views across the bay, the castle and distant mountains. The rooms, while large, we're in need of some tlc. The new owners have obviously invested heavily to update the rooms to a high standard. The prices were quite high, but justified by the quality. We ate in the restaurant one night, and we're very impressed.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room ( most are)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15Chris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
285 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,442 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
107 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Property: Caerwylan Hotel
Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caerwylan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 and 2015 Gold Award. The Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, 2013 & 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing