We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location”
Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caerwylan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire united kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great place to stay,ideal location,with amazing views.Accommodation was of a very high standard,with luxury in every way,the seating in the large bay window in our room was an added bonus.The staff very so welcoming and extremely friendly.Excellent food and service with a smile from all.The parking was restricted,but for the amazing cost of just £1.75 one can hire a garage just around the corner.we will be returning

Room Tip: excecutive suite was large with amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank she00123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    59
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
229
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in an absolutely wonderful position with the most beautiful views. It provides a very high standard of accommodation in the communal areas as well as in the rooms. All sympathetically decorated and extremely comfortable. The service was great and the staff are warm and welcoming and extremely helpful. The quality of the food for dinner and breakfast was high. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie50302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great position, in good decorative order, friendly staff and an excellent restaurant that is well attended by local mature people, so its necessary to pre-book for dinner. A lounge overlooking the sea to sit in whilst dinner is prepared for you allows you to enjoy the setting. An enjoyable stay and I suspect will return at some point which is a rarity for us. The kitchen staff deserve a pat on the back. The bedroom was adequate and comfortable albeit at times a little hot at night. We stayed during good weather and this made the break the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 33 overlooks the side garden, Criccieth castle and faces west, so the sun can raise the temp of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed on two occasions at this fabulous hotel - In February 2013 and again in April 2013. On both occasions we had a great experience. Room was fab - wonderful sea views with seating area in bay window. Modern décor, well maintained and clean. Slept really soundly. Breakfast was good on both occasions with plenty on offer. During February the hotel restaurant was not open mid-week so we ate out at nearby restaurants but in April the restaurant was open every night and we experienced fine dining at a reasonable cost. The staff were helpful and friendly and the owners were on site on both occasions and were great. We book a garage (at the back of the hotel) for the car and that was fine. All in all we would recommend this hotel and we will definitely be returning. Excellent value - well done all.

Room Tip: no swimming pool or fitness centre - with its situation on the sea front you need neither just sit i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel has been recently refurbished but maintains a traditional feel, in what is a traditional North Wales seaside resort.
We stayed in a standard plus room, which was large, clean and airy (though rather warm even with the windows open) with a great view of the castle and sea. The bathroom had a power shower and good soft towels. The bed was super kingsize, but the duvet was rather heavy. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided in the room.The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the communal areas welcoming.
Parking is not easy outside the hotel as this is a very narrow road, but there is free parking on the road below. Garages are available at a reasonable rate and this might be advisable in the height of the season.
Breakfast was traditional, plentiful and good. We had two evening meals. The classic Sunday roast was good from a fixed price menus. On the second evening, we had food from the a la carte menu and this was not up to the same standard, and I would think about trying one of the other restaurants in the town (limited on a Tuesday evening in early June).

Room Tip: Go for one with at least some sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel rooms are refurbished, food good and staff generally helpful and friendly. The greeting was the only odd/ efficious moment - we had to go into the restaurant immediately without even taking our bags to the room or wait 1.5 hours for dinner.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

10 of us spent 2 nights at the Caerwylan on a golfing holiday and enjoyed a wonderful time with excellent full breakfasts and fantastic evening meals in the restaurant. The rooms are spotless with the best showers we've ever encountered. Fantastic views and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gateinngolfingsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
291 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
109 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
690 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Property: Caerwylan Hotel
Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caerwylan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 and 2015 Gold Award. The Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, 2013 & 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing