We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Excellent Time”
Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caerwylan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed on two occasions at this fabulous hotel - In February 2013 and again in April 2013. On both occasions we had a great experience. Room was fab - wonderful sea views with seating area in bay window. Modern décor, well maintained and clean. Slept really soundly. Breakfast was good on both occasions with plenty on offer. During February the hotel restaurant was not open mid-week so we ate out at nearby restaurants but in April the restaurant was open every night and we experienced fine dining at a reasonable cost. The staff were helpful and friendly and the owners were on site on both occasions and were great. We book a garage (at the back of the hotel) for the car and that was fine. All in all we would recommend this hotel and we will definitely be returning. Excellent value - well done all.

Room Tip: no swimming pool or fitness centre - with its situation on the sea front you need neither just sit i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 397 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel has been recently refurbished but maintains a traditional feel, in what is a traditional North Wales seaside resort.
We stayed in a standard plus room, which was large, clean and airy (though rather warm even with the windows open) with a great view of the castle and sea. The bathroom had a power shower and good soft towels. The bed was super kingsize, but the duvet was rather heavy. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided in the room.The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the communal areas welcoming.
Parking is not easy outside the hotel as this is a very narrow road, but there is free parking on the road below. Garages are available at a reasonable rate and this might be advisable in the height of the season.
Breakfast was traditional, plentiful and good. We had two evening meals. The classic Sunday roast was good from a fixed price menus. On the second evening, we had food from the a la carte menu and this was not up to the same standard, and I would think about trying one of the other restaurants in the town (limited on a Tuesday evening in early June).

Room Tip: Go for one with at least some sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel rooms are refurbished, food good and staff generally helpful and friendly. The greeting was the only odd/ efficious moment - we had to go into the restaurant immediately without even taking our bags to the room or wait 1.5 hours for dinner.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

10 of us spent 2 nights at the Caerwylan on a golfing holiday and enjoyed a wonderful time with excellent full breakfasts and fantastic evening meals in the restaurant. The rooms are spotless with the best showers we've ever encountered. Fantastic views and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gateinngolfingsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent value for money: single rooms were half the cost of double rooms & were large enough. Staff were extremely helpful & friendly & place was spotlessly clean with recent refurbishment.
I would recommend a meal (or two) as dinner on both nights was delicious & freshly cooked.
Will definitely be returning,

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Four of us spent two nights over the recent Bank Holiday. The rooms and decor overall are lovely, modern but in keeping with the location....and what a location! The hotel overlooks the beach and bay: Rooms have superb views of the sea, the hills and the castle.
The staff are all very welcoming and friendly. In particular Anwen, who is in charge of the restaurant is just lovely and so very helpful.
We had two breakfasts and two evening meals in the restaurant and all were just superb. There was a great choice for the evening meals.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank JohnFox53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Booked the Caerwylan Hotel as a surprise gift for my father in laws 90th birthday. We booked 2 sea view rooms and they were absolutely fabulous. Just overlooking the bay and the castle. The beds were extremely comfortable, the decor was crisp and fresh. It was perfect. The staff were so nice they couldn't do enough for us. Will definately make a return trip there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
719 reviews
22.3 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: $147 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caerwylan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 and 2015 Gold Award. The Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, 2013 & 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing