We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class hotel with beautifully appointed rooms throughout” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caerwylan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top class hotel with beautifully appointed rooms throughout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Chose this hotel as a last minute stay, and one that we would re-visit.

The hotel is very well situated on the sea front, having beautiful scenes of the sea and Cricceith Castle.

The service was very good from the owner through to the restaurant staff. Breakfast was very enjoyable too.

Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsChevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    55
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
208
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

travelling around wales on our motorbikes,we found this amazing hotel.we went in to ask the owner if he would accept bikers(as not everyone will accept us),we were amazed by the welcome given to us.before we agreed to stay the night,the owner insisted that we looked at the rooms to see if we were happy with what he had ;left.I was amazed by the room(we stayed in room 11)there was a king size bed,with quality bedding,plenty of wardrobe space,hair dryer,complimentary tea,coffee and chocolate,biscuitsetc.the shower was amazing,best shower i,ve used,better than the one i,ve got at home.the hotel has just been redecorated,and all i can say is i wish they,d come and do my house,because their taste in decorating is brilliant.the breakfast in the morning was excellent,the usual stuff,but cooked well and plenty of variety.the lounge area was immaculate,big leather sofas,big heavy tables and the view across the bay from the lounge was lovely.they got a nice garden by the side of the hotel,where they,ve got plenty of garden table and chairs to relax on,and you can buy a drink from the bar.all in all a exceptionally good hotel and well worth the money.a little tip i would give is,go and look at the other 3 star hotels in the area as we did,and i can guarantee you,ll book this one,because the others not stand up to this hotel,and we all felt this hotel should be rated a minimum of 4 stars,but personally i would class it as a 5 star .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawns64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

I stayed with my 90 year old, blind mother & my 21 year old daughter. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were arranged by the management so that we could be next to my mother and the staff went out of their way to accommodate her.
The rooms themselves (one double, one single) were of a reasonable size, very clean & very attractive.
We had bed, breakfast & evening meal on a special deal over 3 days. The food was delicious with an excellent choice.
The hotel is well positioned, by the beach and with magnificent views. The access to & from the beach was a little much for my mother as it is quite steep, but bear in mind that she is 90 years old!
Thank you to the hotel for a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glitzy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

We just spent four nights at the Caerwylan, our third stay at the hotel. The owners Nick and Fiona have lovingly restored this grand seafront hotel to a very high specification and the latest improvement is the longe and bar area. Residents and visitors are treated with utmost courtesy and the meals are always both local but prepared with a flourish that makes the whole experience memorable. Rooms are refurnished to the highest standards and its location means that you can wake up, throw the curtains and listen to the sea.
A great getaway and the owners and staff create a special and relaxed and friendy atmosphere.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are worth the extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were initially put off when we arrived at the Caerwylan Hotel as the outside looked a little neglected. I did think we had made a huge mistake booking the hotel when we arrived and they told us the lift, although very old, was tempermental. That i am glad to say are the negatives out of the way because the rest of the stay was perfect.

We were shown to our room which had a big bay window with fabulous views of both the bay and the castle, as promised (and they didn't disappoint). The room was very clean and bright with two chairs by the window to keep you entertained (we didn't need a TV although there was one in the room).

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and this was what you would expect - tasty and enough to keep you going for most of the day.

Parking was very easy as there are two roads directly under the hotel (was is quite busy but we always found a place on the coast road).

I found this hotel on trip adviser and am glad we stayed because it was very relaxing with an easy pace to it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWilliams94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Hotel has great location and good service. The public rooms are looking a bit tired but then its being refurbished soon.
Food and dinner service were good with very attentive staff, but dreadful decor with cold lighting and conference room chairs.
Bedroom attrectively furnished, but the negatives were mould in the bathroom and a refrigerated truck outside the window at 7.40am on a Saturday morning!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BreakawayScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

The staff we absolutely delightful at this beautiful hotel in Criccieth, North Wales. The building is an old fashioned, sea side hotel, with an original lift with gated doors. We were really able to make ourselves at home in the bar and lounge, as well as in the gardens all of which had wonderful sea views stretching for miles and miles. Our room was an executive room, number 15. There was a double bay window with the most fantastic view - definietly worth paying more for. In the morning, the sun streamed in from the left aspect and we were able to see it all day over the beautiful rippling waters. The room was large enough to accomodate the furniture with lots of space - enough to make us feel like we were in our own lounge at home, except with a spectacular view.The room was clean, except one smudge on the window. The complimentry toliteries were kept in the cabinet in the bathroom - a nice homely touch, I thought. The staff were welcoming, friendly, helpful and willing to do anything to make sure our comfort was not conpromised in any way. There was no noise in the morning and housekeeping staff were friendly and very polite. We were able to keep our car in the garage passed check out for no extra cost, so that we could continue with our sightseeing. We will definintely be making a second trip to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reginacupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
22.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Property: Caerwylan Hotel
Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caerwylan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 and 2015 Gold Award. The Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012, 2013 & 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing