We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Criccieth
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
151
9
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
151
9
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house fudge north wales room was cleaned daily locally sourced ingredients full english long weekend stay great start to the day no hesitation in returning award winning fresh fruit salad restaurants and shops cooked to perfection breakfast was beautifully cooked excellent short break warm welcome each morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed here for two nights in October 2019 - we had a double room and a twin room on the first floor. We was able to park at the back of the property and no issue with this even though we drive a large SUV. On arrival we was greeted by Andy and Tina who were both very welcoming and carried our cases upstairs. One of our party was poorly and needed emergency dental treatment, Tina got straight on the phone to numerous dentists for an appointment for us.
Both rooms were presented extremely clean and well furnished, with everything in that you need. The beds were extremely comfortable and we all slept very well with no disturbances. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was beautiful, setting us up for the day. On one morning one of the party was not able to come down for breakfast as was unwell but Tina did them a breakfast and wrapped it up for them which was very kind.
There were local pubs, restaurants and shops to visit within walking distance. Tina and Andy were knowledgable of the area and was able to advise where to eat ect. The bar area is a lovely relaxing area and Andy was there to serve us a selection of drinks until 9.45pm which we felt was more than reasonable. Would definitely return. Thanks for taking care of us so well. Jessica, Maureen, Mary and Giorgio.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jessica121287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronrhiw, Owner at Bron Rhiw, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words, it was great to meet the 4 of you! We hope you are all well & the tooth has been sorted. Take care and we look forward to seeing you again at Bron Rhiw!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

Being the first visit to the area, it was a bit of a 'pin in a map' exercise to select a place to stay, and I landed on Bron Rhiw.
Boy am I glad I did!
The room is very clean and tidy; bed lovely and comfortable; en suite modern and fresh - good start!
Andy and Tina are very welcoming, convivial hosts and treat you as a friend from the start. There's a good tour when you arrive, pointing out all the essentials (fire assembly, breakfast, access, parking, etc.).
Room is good (TV, kettle etc., hairdryer, nice thick curtains and carpet). It's very quiet with new double glazing.
Slept very well.
Breakfast was all you could hope for. Cereals, juice, yogurts, etc. to start, then into the Full English, or variations as you like. A good point is your breakfast table is your room number - saves any issues of singles occupying the table laid for four...!
Good supply of coffee/tea as you progress through the good-standard breakfast. Nice sausages, really good bacon, portobello mushroom, tasty egg & beans - all really well cooked.
There's a lounge and a small bar for your evening relaxation.
Some off-road parking.
Andy and Tina will recommend places to go, eat or visit, as well as places to avoid - very useful if you don't know the area and prefer local knowledge to TA, Google or whatever...
Only down side of Bron Rhiw is there's no lift, but what do you expect in a Victorian/Edwardian building? If you're limited on mobility, maybe this place isn't for you, but if stairs are ok, it is a fantastic place and well worth checking in to.
Oh and don't forget Tina's home-made fudge! Excellent!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank B623MLpeterd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronrhiw, Owner at Bron Rhiw, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2019

Thank you for your great comments and review. We are so glad your 'pin found us in the map' :-) We are very happy you had a good stay with us. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again at Bron Rhiw! Tina & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Bron Rhiw is a lovely old house situated close to the centre of Criccieth. It is well maintained, spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. I had stayed at Bron Rhiw before, and immediately felt a sense of homecoming when returning. Tina and Andy are the perfect hosts - welcoming, friendly and helpful, whilst taking a genuine interest in their guests.

Downstairs you will find a spacious dining room where breakfast is served, and also a large residents lounge together with 'Andy's Bar'. The lounge is tastefully decorated and has several large, comfortable sofas.

The bedrooms are all upstairs. My room was light and airy and had a comfortable bed, en-suite bathroom with a good shower, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. It was prepared to a high standard each day.

The breakfast was very good, cooked by Tina and served by Andy. There was good choice of items including cereals, juices, yogurt, fresh fruit salad (lovely) as well as a full cooked breakfast made from top-quality, locally sourced ingredients. Various other breakfast options were also offered. Tina also makes fudge which is becoming legendary - if you are offered some then you'll certainly enjoy it.

So, if you are planning to stay in the Criccieth area, then Bron Rhiw is a very good place to stay - and you will not be disappointed. Will I be going back? Certainly, so please leave room for me.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank LoveWales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronrhiw, Owner at Bron Rhiw, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Bron Rhiw! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed everything including my fudge!

We will look forward to seeing you again!

Thanks again, Tina & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

This is the third time we have stayed at the Bron Rhiw and it gets better every time. Tina and Andy are excellent hosts and do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Rooms are spotless, breakfast superb and service is very friendly. We will definitely be back again next year and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronrhiw, Owner at Bron Rhiw, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Thank you for your kind review, it was good to meet you all. Look forward to seeing you again next year! Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

After deliberating all week whether to have a few days away for the August Bank Holiday my wife and I decided last minute to see what was available.
We tried everywhere but to no avail. Suddenly I discovered that Bron Rhiw had one double room available for the weekend so I went ahead and booked it.
We arrived at approx 4pm and we were given a warm welcome by Andy the owner who showed us to our room. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
At breakfast the next morning we had the pleasure of meeting Andy's wife Tina who had cooked the fantastic breakfast we had just consumed. The breakfast menu was excellent with an assortment of cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts and of course a full cooked option. It was good to know that all the produce had been sourced locally. Freshly brewed coffee made it an even better experience.
Tina and Andy went out of their way to ensure everything was good with our stay at Bron Rhiw, two genuinely nice people who really care.
I have written numerous reviews on places we stay at and I always thinks it right to mention the negatives too. This time I am unable to find anything that didn't meet our standards.
We will definitely return there the next time we return to North Wales, It's an ideal place to stay for visiting the whole of the area.

Good luck Tina and Andy we wish you every success for many years to come.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronrhiw, Owner at Bron Rhiw, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words and review! It was a pleasure to meet you both. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Bron Rhiw. Thank you once again and fingers crossed, we look forward to meeting you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews