We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average B&B, disappointing evening meal”
Review of The Abereistedd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Abereistedd
Ranked #13 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at the B&B and the rooms were fine - clean with a good view, although it was the most expensive B&B we stayed at in North Wales. The evening meal was at a restaurant prices but the vegetarian option was very disappointing and certainly did not justify the price. This was more surprising considering we were asked to give a day's notice on the choice. We found it odd that when we asked for a ten minute break between the main meal and dessert, it was greeted as an unreasonable request and were told this wouldn't be possible because they were busy. We were the only table having an evening meal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebeam, Owner at The Abereistedd, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

"The most expensive B&B we stayed in" - we are NOT a B&B. We provide guest accommodation to a high standard, including a large comfortable lounge, a well-stocked bar with draught beer, and we offer evening meals. We are graded 4 star highly commended by the AA.

We charge £21 for a meal that consists of starter, main course, dessert, speciality Welsh cheese board, tea or coffee and mints. There isn't a restaurant in Criccieth where you could get that sort of meal for £21!

I acknowledge that perhaps the vegetarian option was not to this lady's taste, but that doesn't mean there was anything wrong with it. It was in fact, roasted vegetables in a red wine and tomato sauce, served over pasta. The lady asked for parmesan cheese, which was duly supplied.
Our guests are asked during and after the main course whether or not the food was OK. Nobody said it wasn't. The next morning, everybody was asked, as usual, if their stay had been OK, again nobody said they were unhappy in any way. If people won't say when they are not happy with something, it's very difficult to do anything about it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 112 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed there with my sister for only one night during our road trip in Wales and it was just perfect in everything.
We have never been received so well, Brian was so nice and lovely.
The room was very spacious and the bathroom was very well fitted, but the most fabulous thing was the view from the room, a wonderful seaview.
The breakfast was very good with a large choice of food. There is a carpark just in front of the hotel, and if it's full, just across the street you have a big free carpark.
Everything was perfect and we will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarineOOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Brian's and Linda's lovely hotel. The view from the room is fantastic looking over Cardigan Bay. Somedays I feel we could just stay in the room and look at the views. The food is always good (we do have evening meal) with enough choice but we can change little things to suit us.The hotel is very well looked after good rooms and lounge. As for the location - it takes some beating with the lovely Criccieth Castle and beach. We look forward to our early morning walk before breakfast. We have already booked again later in the year and cannot wait. I am always felt to be welcome and I feel just as comfortable as when at home - a real treat.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakesrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Discovered this hotel last year and just returned from our 3rd stay. Lovely hotel facing the sea, Lovely views from our window and if it rains we can watch the world go by in comfort. Excellent service and beautifully cooked food. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Good breakfast choice and a good choice of evening meals. You have to select what you require for dinner after breakfast but this is not unreasonable as it is only a small hotel. We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cegidfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Had a two night stay with my wife Aug 10/11th. A well positioned b&b with uninterrupted views over a lovely bay. Found the room to be very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and served by very keen pleasant helpful staff. We were advised that the Castle pub would be good for food at the right price. We went and had great pub food with real ale at great prices. Home made burger was massive. Recommended b&b great value and a good pub within walking distance "sorted".

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

A traditional bed and breakfast - no great surprises and everything a (very) basic standard. The hotel bar reluctantly provided drinks and breakfast was between 8:00 and 8:45 which didn't give much flexibility.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Quiet location, Good scenery from the front and side, Food - simple but Linda makes it out of this world. Diets catered for if made known. Rooms very comfortable indeed. Brian a fount of knowledge on where to go, what to see and accurate in what weather to expect. Good outdoor activities within easy reach by car or public transport. Can't think of any stay in a hotel that has been better . Very caring proprietors who put themselves out for you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Criccieth hotels
0.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abereistedd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abereistedd

Address: West Parade, Criccieth LL52 0EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range: $89 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abereistedd 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Abereistedd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abereistedd Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing