We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Just read a negative review on this hotel and can't stress how much I disagree. The hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly and made our stay an absolute pleasure. The room was charming and very good value. Pay no attention to the other reviewers comments about the room being dated, some people have no taste! Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wimble-dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
There are newer reviews for The Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 788 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2008

My partner and I recently stayed at the Lion Hotel, if I had read the reviews beforehand I might not have gone, so I wanted to give my honest opinion. The hotel was very smart, we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly the staff were so friendly and very helpful. The food was good value for money both in the bar and the restaurant, we had 3 courses and coffee for i think it was £15, I think the restaurant was a bit pink for me though! Our room was in the Castle cottages the view was fantastic(of the castle), only downside is you have to go outside to get to the room, but the weather was fine, so no problem.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brummiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Our party enjoyed a four night stay at this hotel. The rooms were of a typical UK seaside resort standard: a place that has had its former glory. We were out on coach tours every day so we did not spend our days around the small town. The rooms were clean, and the staff were hardworking (not in the main British) The food was good, the evening meal choice was made at breakfast time. The evening entertainment was a harpist, singer, and keyboard player. This hotel has very creaky floors!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jante069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

The food and service at the hotel were very good. The waiters were well organised so you weren't asked about something twice which was a pleasant change. The food was of a very good standard and quickly served by friendly staff.
We had a room on the first floor with a sea view which was clean and comfortable even if the decor was a little dated and the chairs a bit springy. My only negative comment is that the room was above the bar and so was noisy until about 1:30am which would have been OK if I hadn't had a long week at work and a long drive.
The room was also above the front door where smokers and taxi dawdlers made lots of noise that comes straight through the ill fitting single sash windows. I took earplugs so this wasn't much of a problem and we could probably have had a different room if we had asked.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernPasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

i loved staying at this hotel.. however i was 8 months pregnant and my fiance was getting chatted up by 2 nutters... the dining room is really cramped and the foods awful if your a vegetarian all meat products.. staff were very friendly and they have a lovely cat called ambrose

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank peggyperm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2007

I recently had a one night stopover in the Lion Hotel In Criccieth. We were given the 'family room' which consisted of a bedroom with double bed and another room with single bed. When we arrived we were taken out of the main building which itself is need of a makeover and taken to what I would describe as what used to be an OAP ground floor flat! When you walked in it was if you was visiting a very elderly relative. Our impression was it had been used for this and when they had departed, the owners just changed the sitting room into the single bedroom. The decor was so dated, the carpet was the brown floral 70's pattern. I could go on but I've got to try and get over the experience! So if you do go, hope the other rooms are not the same and don't go for that one.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank BROCKWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

Water leaked through ceiling of room 21 from room above. Wet plaster and cracks showed this had happened before. Since this was above the TV and light switches, it should not have been allowed to happen.
Had to clean filthy bath before using it.
Bin not emptied. No coffee or sat TV as advertised.
Loud music party in bar after midnight for non residents.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank T0lerantTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
695 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range: $95 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Criccieth
The Lion Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing