We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
75
133
44
18
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
133
44
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelalfa coachcastle viewentertainment roomentertainment every nightleisureplex hotelschef's specialsvegetarian optionslarge comfortable roomhigh streetwaiters waitresseshalf boardeach eveningcoach partygood pointslovely showertable service
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 282 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2009

I took my mother away for a 5 day break with a large tour group. The room we had was a very pleasant, warm, clean twin room. There was plenty of hot water. We had magnificent views of Criccieth Castle. Despite there being at least 30 in our group the staff were all very efficient and well mannered. Food was served nice and hot and we didn't need to wait long for our meals.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DawnWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Okay I have blogged about this hotel at http://tinyurl.com/5ohuqf but in summary this place is an accident waiting to happen. They have no sense of customer service and the place is so dated it should be shutdown under the trade descriptions act for calling itself a hotel.

Try the Marine Hotel down the road, for a much better experience, nicer views, and a breakfast that is cooked with heart!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MarkDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

One of the worst places that I have ever stayed in. The service is disgusting. As for the General Manager who thinks he can treat people the way he does, has a lot to learn about the trade. He was rude and dissmissive of any complaints. This was an aweful experiance of north Wales and will not be in any hurry to return. The only good thing that i can say about the hotel was the checking out. My advice would be to take your own food as the food and service was very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller011SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Not a great experience and we'd recommend asking to view the rooms you will be staying in before paying your money over if you stay here.

We were shown three rooms before we found one that had windows that opened and considering the heat we're having lately this made our stay uncomfortable to say the least.

To be fair, we understand that the hotel is up for a full refurb over the next two years so it may come out well over time but this doesn't help those looking to travel in the meantime.

The hotel's kitchen seems to be a contradiction. Breakfast was okay but portions were disappointingly small. The small portion theme continued into the main evening meal but the quality dropped dramatically. A definite miss if you're looking for good food.

All this said, we would want to say that the staff who helped us were great.

Wouldn't recommend at the moment

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteelerCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

A nice, friendly well run hotel. Despite this being a budget break at no time did we feel they were cutting corners. Staff are reasonably well trained and management are hands on.

Nice easy stroll to the town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbusdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews