We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George IV Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George IV Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
moffat scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“better than average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Four nights on an alfa coach trip,we really enjoyed our stay,and
would visit again.
The weather during our stay was amazing,very hot and sunny all week,which really gave Criccieth
a chance to shine,it was lovely to see lots of family,s enjoying the beach and seaside,many people
swimming in the sea well into the evening.
Our room was clean and spacious and seemed to have the sun on it most of the day,the bathroom was almost new and had a tremendous shower.
No complaints about the food either, it was well prepared,well presented,and served by efficient
and friendly staff.
the entertainment was ok but for the price we paid,we were hardly likely to get Tom Jones or
Catherine Jenkins,and as bingo drives me mad,a lovely evening walk down on the seashore
then back in time for the guest artist,and a pleasant drink before a good nights sleep in the
comfortable bed.
If you do decide to try this hotel you will be warm,well fed,and well cared for,it,s not the Ritz
but it is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 220 has a seaview,you can also get a glimpse of the castle to your right,and this room has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sirensong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    96
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
20
82
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SURREY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here on a 4 night coach break. The room had been refurbished the only thing missing is perhaps a safe and mini fridge. The breakfast was well cooked and the waiting staff first class nothing to much trouble. The evening meal was standard coach holiday menu but once again nicely cooked they offered chef dish of the day and a veggie dish which you were asked to order in the morning which we found no problem with. Packed lunch was available which we ordered for our journey home at £3.75 well worth the money . We are looking forward to returning to this friendly hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandie165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was the third time my friends and I have visited the George IV Hotel in Criccieth and each visit has been perfect for our needs. The hotel is located on Criccieth High Street in the centre of town and central to local shops, pubs and restaurants.

The mainstay of the hotel would appear to be catering to large coach parties but by no means should that put you off the George IV as we have always found the hotel to be perfectly suited to our small group.

Meals are taken in the large dining room and dinner is usually undertaken to a timetable. Breakfast is the typical sort of hotel fayre with fresh fruits, fruit juices, cereals, cold and hot breakfast items cooked to order and hot pots of tea and coffee.

The rooms are of a reasonable size and fitted out with all the amenities one could need. I’ve always found the beds to be comfortable and the rooms spotlessly clean. There are also complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in the room and these are topped up daily. The bathrooms I find are a little on the small side but as I take a single occupancy room this is no great problem. The shower units are modern and powerful and very refreshing after a day in the Welsh countryside.

It is my experience that all the staff are very helpful and courteous and nothing is too much trouble… well done to all George IV staff.

The hotel has a small private car park located directly across the road and this is free of any charge. The George IV Hotel is not the Ritz but it is an honest hotel that provides its guests with decent and fair facilities at a fair price.

Bottom line, would I recommend this hotel… yes and without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My friend and I arrived at the George on 28th June 20014. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel most welcome.The rooms were spotless and not long newly refurbished so were very comfortable. The meals were the best we have ever eaten in a hotel, the chef uses very fresh produce. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all extremely polite.
There was also an abundance of information available for places of interest.
There was nightly entertainment which appeared to be very popular, my friend and I preferred to take a walk in the evening.

Room Tip: The sun is on the front of the hotel in the morning and on the back in the afternoons. Some have a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were on a tour with Alfa and stayed here for four nights. The hotel was a nice surprise, our room was large and clean, and there were very helpful staff. We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast package and found the food to be good, always hot and efficiently served by the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: We chose to pay more for a castle view room, which was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weesnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a late booking for this holiday with Alfa on the 14th June till the 18th, expecting the worst really, had to book a castle view as just had one twin room left could just about see the right side of the ruined castle and if I pressed my nose tight on the glass and peered left I could just see the sea, but what a cracking room two big windows and loads of space to move No 109. The food was the everyday Alfa food but is pretty good the hotel is nipping clean and the staff were all very good courteous and friendly, service was quick and food hot. The views around Criccieth are fantastic so we had a good few days hol, all helped by the driver who is a continental coach driver and this was his first ever UK tour but he done great and was great if you read this thanks Des from Bedlington.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at the George 1V hotel as part of a Glenton holiday. What a treat - they even arranged spectacularly good weather. The rooms were newly refurbished and clean and comfortable. The selection of food was good and always arrived hot. Staggered times for coach parties made for excellent and speedy service. With entertainment every night this was an excellent holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 181Margaret181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.3 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George IV Hotel

Property: George IV Hotel
Address: 23-25 High Street, Criccieth LL52 0BS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George IV Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George IV Hotel - Criccieth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]Situated on the High Street in the centre of Criccieth with magnificent views towards the sea and castle from many bedrooms. 47 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC (most have bath and shower). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Extensive public areas include a delightful cocktail bar, attractive large restaurant, entertainment room with additional bar and a cosy lounge. A small lift serves first and second floors (not the third floor) and there is ample car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your George IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iv Criccieth
George IV Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing