We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
75
133
44
18
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
133
44
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelalfa coachcastle viewentertainment roomentertainment every nightleisureplex hotelschef's specialsvegetarian optionslarge comfortable roomhigh streetwaiters waitresseshalf boardeach eveningcoach partygood pointslovely showertable service
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 282 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2008

One of the worst places that I have ever stayed in. The service is disgusting. As for the General Manager who thinks he can treat people the way he does, has a lot to learn about the trade. He was rude and dissmissive of any complaints. This was an aweful experiance of north Wales and will not be in any hurry to return. The only good thing that i can say about the hotel was the checking out. My advice would be to take your own food as the food and service was very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller011SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Not a great experience and we'd recommend asking to view the rooms you will be staying in before paying your money over if you stay here.

We were shown three rooms before we found one that had windows that opened and considering the heat we're having lately this made our stay uncomfortable to say the least.

To be fair, we understand that the hotel is up for a full refurb over the next two years so it may come out well over time but this doesn't help those looking to travel in the meantime.

The hotel's kitchen seems to be a contradiction. Breakfast was okay but portions were disappointingly small. The small portion theme continued into the main evening meal but the quality dropped dramatically. A definite miss if you're looking for good food.

All this said, we would want to say that the staff who helped us were great.

Wouldn't recommend at the moment

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteelerCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

A nice, friendly well run hotel. Despite this being a budget break at no time did we feel they were cutting corners. Staff are reasonably well trained and management are hands on.

Nice easy stroll to the town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbusdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Stayed at the George with my fiance and three year old daughter plus 15 other family members. The hotel is very close to the castle, beach and black rock either by car or on foot.
The hotel is on a busyish main road with a large car park opposite the hotel and we all got our cars in it.
We had a family room which was extremely large with small double bed and single bed with two armcahirs and tv etc. The room was also ensuite with an enormous bathroom. The bathroom was ok but didnt have a proper shower instead a hand held one which was ok but im 6'3 and when you streched to your head to wash it went cold straight away?? so used the bath instead.
The furniture and decor is very dated and needs replacing!! we didnt eat at the hotel in the evening but had breakfast which was not too bad. cereal, fruit, fruit juice and buffet full English with toast and tea and coffee. the staff were extremely helpful but didnt speak much English OR welsh!!!
Overall a good pleasnt stay for one night with enough rooms for us all to stay in with helpful staff!!
Forgot to mention - Although we visited in October it was very warm but the hotel was so hot it was unbelievable!!! Plus the radiators weren't turned on?? it was still warm at 03:05 hours the following morning as it kept me awake!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We stayed there for a night and had a decent, clean double room. The hotel itself is quite nice, the service was good, staff were friendly and helpful and the dinner was actually very good.

The hotel could do with a bit of works as the furniture is quite old fashioned, it was like staying in a Victorian era doll house.

Very good value and would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JonathanWKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews