We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great at the George !!!”
Review of George IV Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George IV Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have just returned from the George 1V Hotel at Criccieth and a most enjoyable stay it was. We had a front room with a view of the castle and the beaches either side, altho there were trees in the middle of this view it did not deter from the enjoyment but would have been STUNNING !!! if they not been there.
This is a very friendly hotel, the staff are amazing and always smiling , nothing being too much trouble for them , the meals are very well cooked with a good choice and ample portions and served with a smile.
Our room was comfortable as was the beds, and very clean , plenty of hot water and towels changed daily.
This hotel is on the high street with the shops and beaches a short walk away , there is not much to do here but ideal for walking and the scenery is wonderful and the town very pretty.
We went on a 5 day trip with Alfa and our driver Ian was the best, a lovely gentle man with humour to match .
Portmerion is a must if you are on this trip and bring your camera its amazing alho' you will need a lottery win for shopping. There are good shops at Pothmadog with a pretty harbour and its cheaper.

The star of the show is The train up to the top of Snowdon , it is sensational with views to die for.
Criccieth and the George are a great base if you are travelling by car, and once all the refurb in the hotel is finished it will be lots better as the restaurant has to double up as an entertainment room at the moment .

We cannot comment on the entertainment as we didnt stay in for that as we went walking instead, but were told there was bingo and quiz nightly and the singers that were there were good. We are looking forward to returning to this holiday venue with Alfa.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the view but being on the main road could be noisy for some people altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at the George !V for a couple of nights in June. It has a slightly weird feel to it as if nothing quite fits properly. Some peole may find this unsettling but we loved it. The staff - all non-British - are brilliant and couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast was also very good. We had a room overlooking the sea and the castle. The room was spacious with a bit of a leaky window - it rained constantly while we were there - but that wasn't a problem. The staircase in the hotel is just magnificent while its walls have some rather naff paintings on them. As I said, nothing quite fits.
If you like the unusual, with great staff and a good breakfast then please visit the George.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I had arrived very late to this hotel, and the following morning went to breakfast and as I went to sit at a table, I was told, "no, over there" and put on a different table to the one I went to sit at. I asked for poached eggs and when they arrived they were cold,stone cold. I had to take my own plate back and the second time they were brought out, they were barely like warm.

Don't stay here, the service is appalling.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

lovely old hotel, gentile shabby and the elevator doesn't go to the top floor, but the views across the town to the sea and the castle ruins are stunning.

Lovely management. Very 'Faulty Towers' but I like that sort of thing. If you are looking for a sleek, modern hotel - this ain't it. If you want a shabby chic hotel right on the high street, thien look no further

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Petes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

just spent 5 days at the george hotel via alfa travel.a refurbishment programme has begun
on the hotelbut there is still a long way to go.our front bed room was large and gave us a great view of the sea and castle.the furniture in the room needed replacing and the bathroom
was very small,however the bed linen and the towels were clean and the bed comfortable.
the food was exellent with plenty of variety.the staff were very helpful and friendly.
the evening entertainment was usually a vocalist (not bad) and the dreaded bingo which
seems to appeal to the older end. overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return
to the george 1v hotel.
,,.a mature couple west yorkshire

Room Tip: front rooms first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank musicman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Just got back from a stay here with Alfa Travel. Rooms could do with a refurb but public areas are nice and clean and the staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Set evening meal was pleasant enough and always something appealing to choose. This hotel would be a good base to stay under your own steam as plenty to do in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PK2Cramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We went with Alfa coach holidays for 6 nights and stayed at the George iv. We stayed in a triple room 305 and it had views of the castle and sea Fab! The room and bathroom was spacious and clean, it was tired looking and could do with re-decorating but saying that it had character. The staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the waitress we had was excellent. Food was good and there was always something to choose from on the menu each night. I enjoyed the break away and would recommend for a base to explore North Wales.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Topmarks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
4.3 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
716 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George IV Hotel

Address: 23-25 High Street, Criccieth LL52 0BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: $67 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George IV Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George IV Hotel - Criccieth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]Situated on the High Street in the centre of Criccieth with magnificent views towards the sea and castle from many bedrooms. 47 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC (most have bath and shower). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Extensive public areas include a delightful cocktail bar, attractive large restaurant, entertainment room with additional bar and a cosy lounge. A small lift serves first and second floors (not the third floor) and there is ample car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your George IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iv Criccieth
George IV Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing