We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
80
135
44
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
135
44
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alfa travel alfa coach castle view entertainment room entertainment every night leisureplex hotels chef's specials coach parties high street large comfortable room waiters waitresses half board good points each evening table service public areas staff were friendly and efficient
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 290 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at the George !V for a couple of nights in June. It has a slightly weird feel to it as if nothing quite fits properly. Some peole may find this unsettling but we loved it. The staff - all non-British - are brilliant and couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast was also very good. We had a room overlooking the sea and the castle. The room was spacious with a bit of a leaky window - it rained constantly while we were there - but that wasn't a problem. The staircase in the hotel is just magnificent while its walls have some rather naff paintings on them. As I said, nothing quite fits.
If you like the unusual, with great staff and a good breakfast then please visit the George.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I had arrived very late to this hotel, and the following morning went to breakfast and as I went to sit at a table, I was told, "no, over there" and put on a different table to the one I went to sit at. I asked for poached eggs and when they arrived they were cold,stone cold. I had to take my own plate back and the second time they were brought out, they were barely like warm.

Don't stay here, the service is appalling.

Room tip: Try a different hotel
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

lovely old hotel, gentile shabby and the elevator doesn't go to the top floor, but the views across the town to the sea and the castle ruins are stunning.

Lovely management. Very 'Faulty Towers' but I like that sort of thing. If you are looking for a sleek, modern hotel - this ain't it. If you want a shabby chic hotel right on the high street, thien look no further

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Petes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

just spent 5 days at the george hotel via alfa travel.a refurbishment programme has begun
on the hotelbut there is still a long way to go.our front bed room was large and gave us a great view of the sea and castle.the furniture in the room needed replacing and the bathroom
was very small,however the bed linen and the towels were clean and the bed comfortable.
the food was exellent with plenty of variety.the staff were very helpful and friendly.
the evening entertainment was usually a vocalist (not bad) and the dreaded bingo which
seems to appeal to the older end. overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return
to the george 1v hotel.
,,.a mature couple west yorkshire

Room tip: front rooms first or second floor
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank musicman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Just got back from a stay here with Alfa Travel. Rooms could do with a refurb but public areas are nice and clean and the staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Set evening meal was pleasant enough and always something appealing to choose. This hotel would be a good base to stay under your own steam as plenty to do in the area.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PK2Cramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews