We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
75
134
44
18
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
134
44
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelalfa coachcastle viewentertainment roomentertainment every nightleisureplex hotelschef's specialsvegetarian optionslarge comfortable roomhigh streetwaiters waitresseshalf boardeach eveningcoach partygood pointslovely showertable service
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 283 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I had arrived very late to this hotel, and the following morning went to breakfast and as I went to sit at a table, I was told, "no, over there" and put on a different table to the one I went to sit at. I asked for poached eggs and when they arrived they were cold,stone cold. I had to take my own plate back and the second time they were brought out, they were barely like warm.

Don't stay here, the service is appalling.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

lovely old hotel, gentile shabby and the elevator doesn't go to the top floor, but the views across the town to the sea and the castle ruins are stunning.

Lovely management. Very 'Faulty Towers' but I like that sort of thing. If you are looking for a sleek, modern hotel - this ain't it. If you want a shabby chic hotel right on the high street, thien look no further

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Petes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

just spent 5 days at the george hotel via alfa travel.a refurbishment programme has begun
on the hotelbut there is still a long way to go.our front bed room was large and gave us a great view of the sea and castle.the furniture in the room needed replacing and the bathroom
was very small,however the bed linen and the towels were clean and the bed comfortable.
the food was exellent with plenty of variety.the staff were very helpful and friendly.
the evening entertainment was usually a vocalist (not bad) and the dreaded bingo which
seems to appeal to the older end. overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return
to the george 1v hotel.
,,.a mature couple west yorkshire

Room Tip: front rooms first or second floor
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank musicman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Just got back from a stay here with Alfa Travel. Rooms could do with a refurb but public areas are nice and clean and the staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Set evening meal was pleasant enough and always something appealing to choose. This hotel would be a good base to stay under your own steam as plenty to do in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PK2Cramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We went with Alfa coach holidays for 6 nights and stayed at the George iv. We stayed in a triple room 305 and it had views of the castle and sea Fab! The room and bathroom was spacious and clean, it was tired looking and could do with re-decorating but saying that it had character. The staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the waitress we had was excellent. Food was good and there was always something to choose from on the menu each night. I enjoyed the break away and would recommend for a base to explore North Wales.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Topmarks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews