We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”
Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This was our 6th visit to the Hotel. It is location is great. Just outside the town, but in easy walk of the beach and the restaurants. The hotel itself is well maintained, the sea view room we had was spacious and clean. The breakfast was excellent, as was the service. You are able to come and go as you please. Julie and the staff are very friendly and efficient. Julie has a very good knowledge of the area and is very informative. Parking is good.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are ideal, with wonderful views across the bay and of the castle. Traffic gets bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilfaulty43, Owner at Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you for staying with us again, Richard. You are right - we are in a great location, close to the beach, castle and excellent restaurants but Criccieth is also a good central point for driving down the Llyn Peninsula (which is my favourite), Snowdonia etc.
We have just bought a luxury lodge with 2 bedrooms, overlooking the sea and mountains, towards Pwllheli, so if ever you come with another couple, you can look up Headland View Lodge. It is fantastic - I could live there!
See you soon and thanks again - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 299 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful break and couldn't fault anything at all - The room, cleanliness, friendliness, breakfast and the welcoming pot of tea on arrival! We offered to pay for the pot of tea which we told it was all part of the service. We recommend this Hotel which is in a great spot for the Coastal Walk and a good choice of Restaurants in Criccieth. We hope to return for another break soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SET1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilfaulty43, Owner at Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write. Hope to see you again if you come to Criccieth. Kind Regards Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel mid-August 2014. Booked primarily because of the excellent reviews that have already been credited.

This hotel is located a short distance from the beach and has views across the bay. It is well decorated and spotlessly clean. Our room was on top floor, was a good size and again had views across the bay one way and towards the castle the other. The bathroom was a good size, again spotlessly clean and complimentary toiletries were available.

Breakfast was well presented.

The hotel is within walking distance of nearby ‘local type’ shops, restaurants and a couple of pubs.

Ample parking is available.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor with bay/castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank et79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilfaulty43, Owner at Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you so much for recommending us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that you remember us if you come this way again. Thank you - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Booked online in March 2014, for our booking 1st-4th august 2014, Twin room, looked at the hotel and pictures of the rooms online, so was very happy. Arrived to be met in the car park and told our room was ready, to our surprise it was in the car park behind the hotel, called the Annex.
Informed Julie but she was not able to change our rooms and said that since we had booked online,had we have emailed her directly or by phone we would of been informed it was an Annex room separated from the hotel.Imagine, the first morning going out for our breakfast with coats on and our umbrellas, it was pouring down with rain and of course missed the nice smell of breakfast been prepared ,instead had a view of the back of cars and a pile of logs for the fireplace. She did offer to call around other hotels in the area but of course that would not have included a refund!
My advice is please check first that its not the Annex room as on the website it is not stated!!
Ann Humphreys. Cardiff.

Room Tip: Avoid Twin Room Annex!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annoufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilfaulty43, Owner at Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

I am sorry Ann that you felt you had to mark us with a terrible review. You were not happy being in the annex room which is fair enough. We usually find that guests like this room as it is so quiet. I kindly offered to find you alternative accommodation and of course I would not have charged you however, your Mum said to you and then to me that she really liked the room and wanted to stay. She told me the next day that she particularly liked the room and was very happy in there. Apart from being in a separate annex, you did not express any dissatisfaction with your room or the facilities whatsoever. We did your ironing free of charge, we made you teas and coffees. Late morning, you ordered milky coffee. You then invited several members of your family over from another hotel and you ordered teas and coffees for them and yourself. You have graded our service one out of five which I am surprised about as you had all of these extras and left without paying. Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Travelled to Wales the day "hurricane Bertha" apparently hit. Did encounter some heavy rain but if we had listened to the weather reports we would not have left home. So glad we did not, Glyn y Coed is lovely small homely hotel. With beautifully decorated rooms in laura ashley wallpapers. We had a sea view room with fantastic views but managed to look into other rooms and all were an excellant standard. Very clean with a comfortable bed, only complaint as I am a very light sleeper I did occasionally hear some passing traffic, but it was not a problem. Criccieth is an ideal location to see all the lynn peninsula, the hotel has free parking. Breakfast was well cooked & presented. Julie and all the staff were very helpful and gave us some brilliant tips on where to visit. We will return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room, but all rooms good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carolunsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilfaulty43, Manager at Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Yes, the weather wasn't as bad as forecast was it! We do, generally, get good weather along this coast - you can see from our plants. Thank you for your lovely comments - they are much appreciated. Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Directly opposite the slip road to the beach 3 minutes walk away the B&B is ideally located. The views from the lounge and front generously proportioned and airy, tastefully-furnished bedrooms are beautiful. The imposing castle on its high rock and sweep of Cardigan Bay, Black Rock Sands and Harlech castle are laid out in full panorama. The owner Julie and her staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly and informative. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast choices were well presented using the best local ingredients.
The accommodation and hospitality added significantly to the enjoyment of the holiday. Criccieth, the Glyn-Y-Coed and the scenic delights of the Lleyn Peninsula will see us again - definitely !

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter but smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilfaulty43, Owner at Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

You made it all sound so picturesque and wonderful - I fancied staying there myself!! Thank you for writing - we do appreciate it. Hopefully, we will see you again. Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

A belated review, we stayed here at the end of June and enjoyed every minute! Julie was the most welcoming host with a pot of tea on arrival, she gave us the best advice and map to explore the coast and see places which we would not have even heard of! Our room had a fantastic view, was clean and beautifully decorated. The place is a credit to Julie who has obviously worked extremely hard to make it what it is, such a warm, inviting and cosy stay. It's in an excellent spot to explore the town and take a drive out. Breakfast was lovely too. We cannot wait to return for another stay.

Room Tip: No 6 has a fantastic view, large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KateIan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilfaulty43, Owner at Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Aaaah - they were lovely comments - thank you. I love explaining about fantastic places to visit in the area - I get all enthusiastic, I know - but now you have seen for yourself, how beautiful and scenic it is around here. I am sooo lucky! Sounds like we might see you again then!! Many thanks to you both. Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Address: Portmadog Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: $103 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea, castle and mountains, Glyn y Coed is a ten bedroomed Victorian house offering Bed and Breakfast. We have private parking and are just minutes walk from the beach, castle, cafes and excellent restaurants. We are situated centrally for visiting the Llyn Peninsula (with stunning scenery and beaches), Snowdonia, down the coast towards Harlech and up the coast to Caernarfon. We are also near to Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, the ZipWires etc. We can offer maps and good advice on places of interest. Please call us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing