We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostess”
Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stopped over in Criccieth after finding the only hotels in Abersoc was full and others not suitable. Well thats the best thing than can happen in life because not only is Criccieth great but the Glyn-y-coed has the best hostess and rooms you could possible want its one hotel you can recommend to friends and cant wait to go back again soon.
Many thanks to Julie for providing a great great place and a great example of how a hosts and hotel should be.
David and Vicki xx

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D19VET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 302 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just spent 4 lovely nights at this lovely B&B. we had looked at the forecast which wasn't good for the week but it was totally wrong! We arrived to a beautiful blue sky, mill pond sea and a very warm reception from Julie, the owner. We only had a shower of rain on the Wednesday evening but it didn't last. The acuweather forecast was wrong each day and Julie said they often get people cancelling as they check the forecast. That area has its own micro climate and was lovely each day. If it started cloudy, it cleared by midday. The B&B was as beautiful as Criccieth itself. Don't drive through and ignore it. It knocks the surrounding towns into submission as it is very unspoilt. Lovely restaurants or pub grub if you prefer. A must for all. We will definitely go again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Lovely room, fab freshly cooked breakfast and great location. Parking is easy and off road - perfect for exploring the town and this wonderful area. Would highly recommend it. And the tea on arrival was much appreciated.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank waversuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very nice hotel in centre of Criccieth and an owner who makes you very welcome. Julie asked if I wanted a cup of tea as soon as I walked through the door. Parking is easy just off the main road. I was in "the Annexe" which is a lovely self contained room at the rear of the main hotel. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very filling I did need lunch that day. I would definatety go back again. There is a very good restaurant just up the road The Poachers and a real ale pub The Prince of Wales! You can't go wrong really! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived at the Glyn-y-Coed hotel after a long journey. Julie the owner greeted us with a warm welcome and a drink on the patio. Our room was very nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. The views over the sea and Castle are wonderful. One of the mornings we were going to walk up Snowdon and Julie very kindly gave us an early breakfast to set up up for the day. She also recommended the places to eat in the local area, all of which were within a 5 min walk. Julie is really super host and will give you lots of information if you need it on places to visit. We had a super time here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddywack-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Not only is this everything you would wish of a great B&B you can also add in the Julie factor.
Julie, who owns the hotel, must surely be the most caring and energetic of hosts and her enthusiasm and obvious love of the area is infectious. Just stay for a couple of nights and you will discover what I mean.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room if you're not quite so agile as you used to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boydie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Can only echo the last two reviews, absolutely spotless accommodation, lovely position and breakfasts were excellent. Julie even lent us an ordanance survey map and told us the best places to visit, many we wouldn't have found on our own. Would certainly return. Can only say they go the extra mile to make the stay perfect.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fred187065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
716 reviews
15.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Address: Portmadoc Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales (Formerly Glyn-y-Coed Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: $105 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea, castle and mountains, Glyn y Coed is a ten bedroomed Victorian house offering Bed and Breakfast. Private parking and just minutes walk from the beach, castle, cafes and excellent restaurants. We are situated centrally for visiting the Llyn Peninsula (with stunning scenery and beaches), Snowdonia, down the coast towards Harlech and up the coast to Caernarfon. We are also near to Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, the ZipWires etc. We can offer maps and good advice on places of interest. Please call us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing