We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We chose to stay here as a result of good trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Excellent location on the main Portmadog road, friendly welcome and a pot of tea were just what we needed. The front facing rooms and lounge have superb views of the coast and mountains. Our family room at the back looked over gardens and the chickens and was a excellent size with a comfy sofa, room to move around, tea and coffee facilities and a wide range of board games and DVDs. Everywhere was beautifully decorated with special flair. Plenty of parking to the side of the house. Julie is a charming host, friendly and interested and very willing to help you plan a day out. She gave us an itinerary for a drive round the Lleyn peninsular that we would never have worked out ourselves that took us to some stunning views. An excellent choice for us.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms for a stunning view but all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FussyPeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 299 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights here for a relaxing break. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, breakfast was excellent, ample choice to set you up for the day. Hotel decor lovely, someone has an eye for interior design. Front rooms have fabulous view over the bay and castle. Towels, toiletries and hairdryer provided and tea and coffee in room, even had chocolate treat one day. Lovely and warm for an off-season break. Spotlessly clean. Car parking on site and a stone's throw walk from town centre with several places to eat. Julie is a very attentive and knowledgeable host and would recommend you avail of her local knowledge with regard to visiting picturesque areas of the peninsula which you may otherwise not come across. By the same token she is not over-intrusive. All in all would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: First floor double room at front fabulous view and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freewheelerhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Perfect location
Perfect hostess
Perfect breakfast
Perfect room
Perfect hotel

As regular visitors, we know our most recent trip wasn't just a one off. This hotel is consistently excellent. We would have no reason to look at any others when visiting this part of the country. The Glyn y Coed coupled with Criccieth add up to a totally relaxing retreat and one where we will return time and time again.

Room Tip: Front rooms offer a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpennyBD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed three nights off-season while touring the area, and felt lucky to have found such a welcoming and well-run establishment. Julie was out when we arrived, but left a key and we made ourselves at home (this was arranged by phone before we left home, which I thought was a professional approach). When she got back, she made us a pot of coffee, which was appreciated. The hotel is a lovely Victorian building with high ceilings and a lot of nice period features. Whoever planned the decoration (I assume this was Julie) has a real eye for colour and design, and all the decor is of high quality and tastefully done. The hotel is on the main Porthmadog road with ample off-street parking, and close to the centre of town with shops etc. We had a room on the top floor with stunning views of the sea and castle. The room was lovely, everything very comfortable, tea, coffee, biscuits, and - a nice touch - some chocolates. The breakfasts were superb, with cereal, fresh fruit, excellent coffee (very important to this caffeine addict) and a full cooked breakfast, all freshly made with local ingredients. Couldn't have been better. We were made to feel very welcome and couldn't fault anything about the stay. In fact, we are probably going to change our plans for next month and go back for another short break. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front rooms with sea view are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful single night stay out of season in room 6, overlooking Criccieth Castle, the sea and coast to Harlech and beyond. Julie couldn't have been more helpful, and provided a lovely breakfast. Attentive customer service is obviously key to her. My fiancée is not easily impressed but loved everything about the Glyn-y-Coed; there can be no higher praise, trust me!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a front facing room, and book direct with the hotel by phone so they avoid losing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShotsGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Want a fantastic hotel with beautifull views and close to the beach,then this ones the one.We had room 1 looking out onto the ocean and the Castle,the room was very large and well equiped. The jewel in the crown undoubtably is Julie the owner who really does go the extra mile nothing and I mean nothing is to much trouble for her. The breakfast is first class with all the trimmings.Situated close to the centre of town with a variety of pubs and restraunts everything is close at hand including the beautifull beach.

Room Tip: We had Room 1 with great views,but viewed the other rooms all of which were individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

we spent two nights here on 7th and 8th of december for a wedding in criccieth.it was cold and frosty outside but the hotel was nice and warm.we had a family room which was spacious,nice beds,clean and had loads of dvd,s etc for kids to watch.nice ensuite and lots of nice touches.breakfasts were very tasty plus plenty of choice for cereals and fruits .julie was very helpful with numbers for taxis and directions and a lovely host.the views of the bay and castle are stunning and we would love to return here in the summer and spend more time exploring the area.a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Address: Portmadog Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: $103 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea, castle and mountains, Glyn y Coed is a ten bedroomed Victorian house offering Bed and Breakfast. We have private parking and are just minutes walk from the beach, castle, cafes and excellent restaurants. We are situated centrally for visiting the Llyn Peninsula (with stunning scenery and beaches), Snowdonia, down the coast towards Harlech and up the coast to Caernarfon. We are also near to Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, the ZipWires etc. We can offer maps and good advice on places of interest. Please call us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing