We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hostes that goes the extra mile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The hostes that goes the extra mile.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Want a fantastic hotel with beautifull views and close to the beach,then this ones the one.We had room 1 looking out onto the ocean and the Castle,the room was very large and well equiped. The jewel in the crown undoubtably is Julie the owner who really does go the extra mile nothing and I mean nothing is to much trouble for her. The breakfast is first class with all the trimmings.Situated close to the centre of town with a variety of pubs and restraunts everything is close at hand including the beautifull beach.

Room Tip: We had Room 1 with great views,but viewed the other rooms all of which were individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    35
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
56
157
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

we spent two nights here on 7th and 8th of december for a wedding in criccieth.it was cold and frosty outside but the hotel was nice and warm.we had a family room which was spacious,nice beds,clean and had loads of dvd,s etc for kids to watch.nice ensuite and lots of nice touches.breakfasts were very tasty plus plenty of choice for cereals and fruits .julie was very helpful with numbers for taxis and directions and a lovely host.the views of the bay and castle are stunning and we would love to return here in the summer and spend more time exploring the area.a really nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent a night at Glyn y Coed last week. This is a small, modest hotel with good views over the sea front. Landlady Julie made us very welcome - she's quite special and obviously part of Glyn y Coed's success. We got a good size ensuite room at the front with a very comfortable bed. All spotlessly clean and in good order. Breakfast the following morning was made with good quality ingredients and very tasty.

Free wi-fi which is also very welcome.

Would very happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the sea-front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorfolkArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at Glyn Y Coed for 4 nights in late October for a short family break. The guest house is conveniently located in the centre of Criccieth only a couple of minutes walk from the shops, several good restaurants and the Harbour.

We were welcomed by Julie on arrival with a smile and a pot of tea and we felt instantly at home from the minute we crossed the threshold. The guest house is spacious, clean and well maintained. We stayed in the family room at the back of the hotel which was large and quiet but no view of the sea. The rooms at the front of the hotel have a nice view of the sea and Criccieth Castle.

Breakfast was freshly cooked to order with good quality ingredients and was provided with a friendly and attentive service.

We had a fantastic 4 days and would highly recommend Glyn Y Coed.

Criccieth makes an excellent base for a holiday with easy access to many activities in North Wales including the mountains, beaches and various castles/attractions.

We will definitely go back ........

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely view of the sea and castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here in August with my Wife and a group of model glider pilts while we flew the nearby sea cliffs. The hotel was warm, and perhaps could benefit from airconditioning, however it was beatifully done up with excellant staff. breakfast was very good, with a variety on offer. Pricing was reasonable for the service recieved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olafthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our third stay at Glyn y Coed. We have always found the hotel one of the most welcoming we have stayed in. Julie is committed to providing an excellent experience for her clients. Nothing is too much trouble; Julie and her staff are always friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is excellent for exploring this beautiful part of the country, whether your taste is the coast of the Lleyn or the mountains of Snowdonia. We look forward to our next stay, particularly if we can secure one of the rooms with the wonderful view of the bay and castle! Our best wishes to Julie and staff for their continuing success in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FyodorWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of September. North Wales is a very long way from our house and after a tiring day we felt instantly relaxed on arrival by Julie who showed us our room and then immediately offer us tea in the immaculate lounge area.

The bedroom, overlooking the sea and the castle, was spotlesss and very, very comfortable. My wife said the only thing missing was a full length mirror!

Breakfast was very good, with exceptionally good quality produce and lots of choice. The honesty bar was also a nice touch and proved useful when we returned after our first night.

I'd thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone looking to stay in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasjread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
356 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
207 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyn-y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

Property: Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Address: Portmadog Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyn-y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Glyn-y-Coed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing