We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location, great hospitality, highly...”
other travelers have booked this property
French Kingsize Bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
French Kingsize Bed
Spacious room Chillaxing area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
French Kingsize Bed
Spacious room
Chillaxing area
French Doors with Balcony
Tea & Coffee
Our free range hens
Porthmadog bay
Cardigan Bay
Portmeirion
Portmeirion
Betws-y-Coed
Borth-y-Gest beach
Garden
You've arrived!
Welsh Highland Railway
Ffestiniog Railway, Porthmadog
Caernarfon Castle
Caernarfon Castle
Criccieth Castle
Mount Snowdon
Standing stones on Anglesey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Criccieth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
Emily T
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic location, great hospitality, highly recommend Fron Oleu”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Shelley and family ensured that we enjoyed a luxurious stay; excellent, varied breakfasts, a superb room with beautiful view and tasteful decor. Fron Oleu was the perfect location to set off from for long walks in Snowdonia, and to return to for warming cup of tea with Welsh cakes provided in our room. The room is spacious, the bed huge and glamorous and the hospitality was second to none. We will certainly return to Fron Oleu, which offered a taste of Welsh country living in traditional stone farmhouse, converted for a comfortable modern stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and hospitality
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We would love to see you again and there are so many more walks for you to do. I shall work on those directions!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary S
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet countryside retreat in beautiful location”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely B & B, very comfortable, would happily stay there again and would recommend to couples who like a peaceful country retreat. Ideal for nature lovers - cows for neighbours, birds and squirrels on the feeders for breakfast-time entertainment in the lovely farmhouse kitchen. The family are lovely - so friendly and welcoming and full of great tips on where to go for the nicest walks, beaches, country pubs, etc. The lovely bed is extremely comfortable and suitable even for my husband who suffers from back problems. The views from the bedroom windows are delightful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OllieRend...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect! An absolute gem!”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The most beautiful little b&b we have ever seen! The room, location, breakfast and service were perfect. Shelley couldn't have done anymore for us and her breakfast is to die for! The room was spotless, spacious and the bed was superb. We would recommend this little place to anyone and will 100% be booking again next year! Don't waste any more time reading reviews, book now! Thanks Shelley! X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia D
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Room with views and AMAZING breakfast and hospitality”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at Fron Oleu and from the minute we pulled up outside we were greeted with a warm homely welcome, which continued throughout our stay. The room was absolutely stunning... stylish and immaculate, set in a peaceful environment with beautiful views from both the balcony and the kitchen table at breakfast. The location is great in terms of it being very central to lots of attractions ie Port Merion, beaches etc. The only thing I would say is if you want to go out for dinner you'll need to drive or pay quite a bit in a taxi as the restaurants are quite far out. Providing you're ok with that I would thoroughly recommend it. I can't wait to go back!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
Thanks you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella T
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Gorgeous room and excellent amenities. All the small touches just added to a great stay. The hosts are lovely adding to a fab trip away. Only 3 miles away from Cricceith. Would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenaweb...
wales
2 reviews
“Absolutely stunning - stay nowhere else on your visit to the Lleyn”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We are absolutely thrilled to have discovered this gem on a place in north wales. We have stayed in many b&bs around the world and this definitely ranks as one of the best.

The warm welcome from Shelley & Adam was wonderful and the plate of welsh cakes in the room was a lovely touch. The suite has a private access and the double doors of a Juliette balcony look out onto the rolling countryside. It is so peaceful and away from it all yet such great and convenient access to both the Lleyn and Snowdonia/Anglesey.

We really hope to return one day wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in that area.

Thank you Shelley and Adam!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your time to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure looking after you and we would love to see you again in the future.
Best wishes, Shelley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuGreig
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem.”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Fron Oleu for 2 nights in May. After a long, wet ride on the motorbike from Cambridge we were greeted with the warmest welcome and a well needed cup of tea. Hosts Shelley and Adam have created the perfect one room B&B which was an unexpected surprise, and along with their friendly chat and Shelley's delicious breakfast we simply cannot fault it. The room was beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in! A must stay for sure. I hope one day we will return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing