We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place we have ever stayed”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View of  'Clearview' woodburning fire
Open Plan Kitchen and Lounge Area
Sitting
Lounge and Dining
Kitchen
Sitting
Oak Stairs lead to an airy and delightfully relaxing bedroom
Old stone steps (now unused) lead to the bedroom
The lane at the bottom of our drive. The River Afonwen runs alongside our entrance. Magical!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Criccieth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrismess...
N yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place we have ever stayed”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Coach House is home from home.Everything you could want ,from tea and biscuits on arrival to washing and drying facilities if needed.It is very comfortable and well equipped.
The location is perfect for exploring the area whether on foot or by car.The Coastal path from Borth Y Gest to Criccieth is well worth a walk but beware,it is further than you think!
Most car parking seems to be free! and Bus services are quite frequent too although not always on time during busy periods!
Super place to visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fact that everything we needed was available
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statleren...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A truely wonderful place”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

With more than 25 years of experience we can probably say that we are experts when it comes to cottage accommodation.
The coach house was the best we had for years. Beautiful rural location, quiet, lovely beaches, nature reserves, mountains, steam railways, castles and more and all within easy driving distance.
In short everything one could wish for in one package.
Maureen is a wonderful host!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home away from home
Liked least: for wifi we had to walk towards the main house for the signal; umbrella was provided so no problem.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous little retreat, peace and tranquility.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked late for a five day stay. Maureen greeted us on arrival, a box of chocolates, and tea tray on dining table as a welcome. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, and facilities are all you need for a quiet get away. Cycle route close by, and Criccieth a short drive away. The location is also ideal for day trips to Porthmadog, Pwllheli and Caenarfon. We loved it here, and the dry weather was a bonus.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay - couldn't ask for more.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I cannot recommend the Coach House highly enough, particularly for those looking for a break to 'get away from it all'. The house and it's facilities are excellent - it is comfortable and contains everything you could possibly need for a short break away.
The Coach House is set in an idyllic rural location, surrounded by well kept gardens and peaceful countryside and lots of good walking opportunities; however, it is only a short drive from the busier coastal towns of Criccieth and Abersoch, ensuring good access to other facilities.I had the best night's sleep I had had for years :-)
The owner, Maureen, was welcoming friendly and very helpful. A ten out of ten!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it :-)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional from start to finish”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The cottage is cosy, warm, beautifully presented and the ideal size for two. The surrounding grounds are lovely and it is the perfect place to relax. It was so quiet in the evening that we had 2 nights of incredibly restful sleep (a true achievement for 2 trainee teachers!)

We had car trouble during our stay and we were absolutely blown away by how helpful and kind Bob and Maureen were from the moment we arrived in Wales to the second before we left. Their genuine comparison turned what could have been a total disaster into a perfectly manageable situation.

The location is perfect for exploring the local area, with Snowdon National Park, Portmeirion, the quaint seaside town of Criccieth and more just a short drive away.

We most certainly intend on returning this year, and perhaps rent the neighbouring 'Farmhouse' with the family in tow. (We had a peek and it looked beautiful in there too!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bob and Maureen! The location and the log fire.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderer2...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Ideal for a peaceful retreat”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We live in North Wales, but we were just looking for a peaceful holiday home for a relaxing weekend, and we found it. The Coach house is lovely. It is so quiet and is in a lovely rural location but also just a few minutes drive from the coast. The hose was very clean - and they left tea and biscuits for our arrival which was a lovely touch. It was a cold winter weekend - but the lovely wood fire kept us lovely and warm. We would love to come back and fully recommend this cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie F
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“small but perfectly formed.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is a truely lovely place for a romantic retreat. This was our third stay here and it is consistently excellent. We love - the friendly welcome where nothing is too much trouble; the peaceful location with lovely views; the warm and cosy cottage has everything we need; very comfy bed with quality bedding. Most importantly it has a great 'feel', it's relaxing simply being there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's a relaxing place to be.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing