We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Criccieth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhos Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just returned after a very relaxing stay at Betws Bach. Cottage was very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Was good to have a real fire but there was plenty of back up heating as well. Spent a lot of time in the snooker room and the 3 tv sets kept the kids happy. Spent time at Black Rock Sands, hiked up Snowdon with the dog and did lots of other walks. We were lucky with the weather but there were wet weather activities nearby (Copper mine, slate mine etc).
Would be happy to return sometime.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ORACLE_TOAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anwen J, Owner at Rhos Country Cottages, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to post a review. We really appreciate it. Its good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Betws Bach. The snooker table certainly provides hours of fun for all ages and the log fires cheer up the place. One of the best things about Rhos Cottages is their central location with Black Rock Sands,Snowdon and so many other attractions all within a 30 minute drive. We hope to see you again, one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Perfect for those with small children as no stairs to worry about and plenty of room in and out for playing. We have stayed every year for nearly ten years. Great for couples. We also come for a winter break and it's the little bits of luxury we love. Highly recommend a stay here. Lovely quiet location, great service and always prepared for us to a high standard.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbastin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anwen J, Owner at Rhos Country Cottages, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed another stay at Rhos Wen and found everything to your satisfaction. As you've said Rhos Wen is safe for young children and there is plenty of level grounds outside for them to play with peace and quiet all around. Look forward to seeing you in the Autumn when the log fire will be roaring away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I, with no direct family in this country, like to find somewhere special to stay at Christmas. It needs to be in a peaceful location, away from the commercialisation of Christmas, comfortable and with a good kitchen and en-suite bathroom (my wife is slightly disabled). Rhos Ddu ticks all those boxes.
We hit a small snag with an intermittent heating boiler but Anwen would not rest until it was fixed.
Her attentive visits allowed us to get to know this special owner and her husband, Bleddyn.
The cottage was furnished to a high level, one of the best we have come across and at a very reasonable price for such a high standard of accommodation.
We would be very happy to not only recommend this cottage but also to make a return visit at a time when the weather would allow us to make more use of the garden and the surrounding countryside for walks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgw102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anwen J, Owner at Rhos Country Cottages, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your Christmas at Rhos Ddu despite the hiccup with the boiler and that this hasn't put you off planning coming to stay again. When any problem arises we do a 100% effort to resolve things as soon as possible.
It was a pleasure to see and meet you both and to know how much you appreciated the accommodation and it's tranquil setting. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My dream was to spend a Christmas in a quiet country cottage with a real fire place etc. Initially, I was very apprehensive to book any cottage as we have never stayed in these kind of properties before.
But after my very first phone call to Anwen I had no doubt about the place I had chosen (Hendre). Anwen made our booking process very easy and all information was very comprehensive. In addition, her liaison was excellent and supportive.
With regard to the Farmhouse itself, it is placed in a breathtaking location with endless country walks, beautiful views, farms with animals greeting you and the sound of a bubbling brook.
The Hendre Farmhouse is just a magical place to stay. We had the most wonderful family Christmas time at Hendre. The house is very spacious, warm and clean. It’s furnished very well and in good taste.
The kitchen is just like you have at home. It has everything you need: top quality crockery and cutleries, coffee makers, and various tea pots. It has everything for cooking, baking, steaming and more, even scales  . All kitchen appliances are NEFF brand! It also has a fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing/tumble drier machine, hoover, iron etc.
The lounge is very spacious, warm and bright. It has Flat screen TV with SKY and a DVD player. You will also find some books to read or various family games to play. The main feature was a beautiful fireplace, with beams and original bare stones.
Upstairs there are three large bedrooms, which are very cosy, warm and clean.
It is a well presented and organised house and the owner was extremely helpful and friendly. Anwen will advise you on the area and will help you as and when.
We organised our food delivery from Asda and they made the delivery just in time.
We truly enjoyed our stay at Hendre and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belka372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyni, Owner at Rhos Country Cottages, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad that you all enjoyed your Christmas at Hendre. We put a lot of effort into ensuring everything meets guests expectations at Hendre so it is really good to get positive feedback. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from spending a week at Rhos Ddu cottage. The cottage is beautiful, spacious, extremely clean, superb facilities (dishwasher, washer/dryer, freezer, dvd player, i-pod station, 4-poster bed), amazing views and has the most luxurious shower ever! The surrounding area is very picturesque and peaceful. The children loved seeing the cows in the enclosed field every day! Anwen is very attentive, although not intrusive and is always happy to help with any questions about the local area to make your stay even more enjoyable. Will definitely be back! Travelled as a family of 4 with 2 children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichPye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We've just had the most fantastic week at Hendre. The cottage is beautiful, with everything you could need. Everything is top quality, from the furniture to the bedding. All crockery, cutlery and kitchen equipment is provided. The crockery is lovely quality and all matching. There's a full kitchen, with dishwasher, hob, oven and fridge. All utensils provided. In the utility area there's a washer dryer and a freezer. There's a barbecue provided. The bathrooms are top quality. There are four toilets, so no fighting and queuing! One downstairs, also. There's two shower cubicles and two baths (one whirlpool).

It is so peaceful and quiet, surrounded by beautiful farmland. The cows came to look at us when we arrived. The kids got such a kick out of that. They would come to the fence to look at us, as we walked past. You are very private there, as the next property is in the distance.

The cottage is ideally situated, just a short drive into Criccieth and a little further into Porthmadog. It's also not too far from Harlech, Snowdonia, Ffestiniog, Caernarfon, etc. Criccieth is a lovely little town. Lovely quiet beach, overlooked by Criccieth castle. There's a few nice shops, restaurants and pubs, on the high street. The butchers is fantastic. We stocked up from there and ate off the barbecue most nights. Also, we had Tesco deliver us some shopping, when we arrived. We had no problems finding somewhere to park in Criccieth and it was free. We found the park in Criccieth and the kids loved the playground. We didn't eat out once the whole week! We loved the facilities at the cottage so much!

Hendre farmhouse cottage is a real credit to the owner, Anwen. It is outstanding. You couldn't ask for better facilities or a better setting. We can't wait to visit again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TramSparkSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Have been going here for 4 years now, it is a wonderful house, very clean, comfortable and quiet, apart form the sheep! Anwen does a tremendous job, and was kind enough to let us hold a family reunion this year. Have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
2.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
378 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
6.1 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#2 of 12 in Porthmadog
399 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhos Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhos Country Cottages

Property: Rhos Country Cottages
Address: Ynys, Criccieth LL52 0PB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Criccieth
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhos Country Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhos Country Cottages VISIT WALES 5 STAR Self Catering Accommodation. A choice of four individual, stand alone self catering properties situated in private, secluded grounds 4 miles inland from a pretty seaside town of Criccieth with a castle, interesting shops and excellent restaurants. The cottages sleep from 2 to 7 people and have well equipped kitchen-diners, spacious bathrooms and comfortable lounges. Visit our website for full details on each cottage ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rhos Country Cottages Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing