We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and relaxing”
Review of Bodlondeb Hotel

Bodlondeb Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bodlondeb Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just spent two nights in Bodlondeb with my boyfriend through an Amazon Local Deal. From the moment we arrived our hosts were friendly, accomodating and welcoming. Dinner on the first night was delightful (I wanted the recipe for the Cream of celery soup!) and breakfast each morning was tasteful and hearty enough to set up both up for a day of exploring this beautiful corner of Wales.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Findangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just spent the weekend at the Bodlondeb Hotel in Criccieth through an Amazon Local Deal with my partner. Checking in was pleasant with Nicholas being extremely helpful. Our double room at the back of the hotel was a little on the small side with only having 1 bedside table which meant not being able to read as I got the side with no table/light. The bathroom was a good size with a good shower and the clean towels each day. Our deal was bed and breakfast with 1 evening meal which we took on the Friday evening. The meal was excellent with a lovely choice of dishes and breakfast on both days was equally substantial.

Criccieth is a lovely base to explore the area and on the Saturday we visited Port Merion and Harlech which were lovely. Criccieth itself is a lovely village with a couple of restaurants and pubs and would recommend it as a lovely weekend break.

The deal from Amazon was very good value for money. The hotel in it's defence is a little tired and could do with and in time will do doubt be renovated to eradicate shaky sash windows which kept me awake with the wind but other than that the bed was extremely comfy and the bedroom had tea making facilities which was nice. Both NIcholas and Leisha made our weekend most enjoyable and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 day break in September using an Amazon voucher.It was excellent value for money.The food was very good, both breakfast and dinner. Pity dinner was not served on Tuesday evenings. The view from our front facing bedroom was superb.The room was large with good storage facilities but the bathroom was tiny and a little tired. Hospitality was first class.Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STUART089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good
We stayed here for an August Bank Holiday break. The location is set back from the front but our room had great sea views. The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the beach, town & railway station.
The room was large and had all we needed in it. There was plenty of storage with some lovely furniture and a sofa in the sea facing window. The bed was comfortable and linen, including towels, was all clean and soft.
The public lounge area was comfortable and doubles as a bar. As there’s no real bar the Beer is bottled.
The restaurant had plenty of room between tables, giving a nice comfortable atmosphere. The choice was varied but you do have to pre order, usually at breakfast time. The food was tasty and there was more than enough on every plate for me.
The Breakfast was good and set us up for the day. There was a good and varied choice for this as well.

Bad
We got the first two nights B&B plus a meal on a deal through Amazon, which made it good value. I think that the extended part of our stay was not worth it. We only stayed the extra nights as friends of ours from Swansea had joined us for a few days.
One let down with the room was the lack double glazing. You could hear the road outside being used like a race track one evening and the train passing every time. There was also lots of condensation on the inside of the sash windows, parts of the frames were rotten and the windows could only be opened a few inches as they had stoppers on the frames.

Conclusion
In their defence the owners have done a lot to the Hotel since they took it over and have a lot of plans for developments and its future.
I’m sorry to say I’d only stay here again on an Amazon type deal as I do not think the rooms are worth what we paid. Our friends agreed with us on the lack of value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a lovely break at the Bodlondeb Hotel via an Amazon local deal. We received a very warm welcome on arrival. Great service. Food was excellent, can really recommend the Rib eye steak and the strawberry cheesecake. Our room very comfortable and we had a lovely view from our room number 1. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed in August, bedroom tired and in need of decorating, bathroom extremley narrow and could not get dried, had to dry in bedroom. Breakfast over cooked, booked in for week but left 2 days earlier. Hotel pictures on website do not represent hotel, would not stay here again, overpriced for accomodation.

Room Tip: If staying ask for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked through an Amazon deal for 2 nights B&B and a 3 course meal on the first night. The bedroom was quite small and on the side of the hotel and very noisey from the hotel next door as the window faced their kitchen, we shut the bedroom window which helped but then the room was very warm and stuffy. The bed was quite comfortable and lovely white bedding underneath the awful throw on the bed. The meal was lovely and the breakfast excellent. The owners and staff where very friendly and helpful. The hotel was in an excellent spot for walking to the beach which is just accross the road and into the town.

Room Tip: try one of the rooms at the front at an extra cost seemed bigger and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy41black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Criccieth hotels
0.4 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#15 of 21 in Criccieth
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gwynle Boutique B & B
Gwynle Boutique B & B
#6 of 21 in Criccieth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodlondeb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodlondeb Hotel

Address: Portmadoc Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Hotel Class:3 star — Bodlondeb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bodlondeb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodlondeb Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing