We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bron Aber

Bron Aber
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Criccieth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bron Aber
Ranked #13 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Terrific value”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a lovely B&B. On arrival I was offered cake to go with the tea in the room. How welcome after a long drive. The room itself is spacious with a view of Criccieth Castle. Everything is clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is excellent.
I imagine this is a better place than those that look out on to the sea. It is well enough situated at the edge of this delightful Welsh town.
Why stay anywhere else when in Criccieth? Excellent value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having stayed before, once again we were not disapointed. On arrival we were offered a welcome slice of Barra Brithe (local fruit cake) to go with the good selection of tea and coffee in the room. The whole place is immaculate and very comfortable. If you want it there is a lovely guests lounge, with wood burner for cold nights and the breakfast is top notch, highly reccommended and excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WithoStokeonTrentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived quite late on Friday afternoon for a wedding on Saturday, we were initially a bit worried that we might arrive a bit late and the Hotel would be locked up. We were very pleasantly surprised when we were greeted by one of the owners Bryn, who was very welcoming and even offered to make us some food if we were hungry. After showing us up to our room, he returned a moment or so later with two portions of home-made Bara Brith which was very tasty and amazing in itself!

The room itself was perfect, it was large and roomy, we had a very clean and adequately stocked bathroom and everything was much better than we had anticipated, the bed was clean and comfortable and the chairs were amazing to relax in. We had fantastic views of the sea and castle from our room and everything was amazing!

Two others things, I think worth mentioning!
1 - The Breakfasts were amazing, the food was cooked perfectly and there was enough of everything to make sure even the most bottomless appetite (Like Mine!) was filled!

2 - I cannot stress enough how lovely Bryn and Meri are! We came back on Saturday from the wedding and we were faced with a small walk to the reception and Meri even gave us a lift up to the Venue since the day was beautiful and she didn't want us to get our outfits all sweaty!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at the Bron Aber many times and hope to stay many more we stay in the same room with a beauitful veiw of the castle. Bryn and Meri are great hosts and most welcoming which makes your break away feel like your visiting friends with the extra bonus of a fab breakfast.The location is good for the beaches and fishing either fly or sea and if your into walking that to. Bron Aber is a 5 minute walk into the village for a meal out or drink , simply the Bron Aber cannot be beaten for a break away.Curly and Jules Chipping

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Lincs, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

At the best B&Bs you almost forget that you are away from home. Bron Aber is just such a place. Our room (3) was spacious and immaculately clean. We had a good view of Criccieth Castle and the sea from two sides of our bay window. Something we particularly liked was that there were two easy chairs with proper high backs that made you want to sit on them! Too many B&Bs provide seating that is too uncomfortable to sit and read on in our experience. The breakfasts are very nice and served in a spacious and airy room overlooking the garden, Parking is fine. The B&B is well within walking distance of the shops, restaurants, castle and sea whilst being on the quiet edge of the town. There is no traffic noise. When you see some of the tired-looking places in the town you realise that you've chosen well with Bron Aber.

As others have intimated, however, it is Bryn and Meri's hospitality that really makes the difference. They are always there to greet you with a delicious piece of bara brith (Welsh fruit bread) and to offer help and advice. When you meet them you are guests when you leave you feel like friends. Simply wonderful value for money. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiandLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My partner and I had a wonderfully restful stay, with views of the beach from my pillow. Tasteful decor throughout, with something always catching my eye in obscure spaces.

The shower was energising and the bathroom was spacious, I particularly liked the bathing pots. I loved the breakfast with local yogurts and fresh fruit.

All in all a very happy find! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjuna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed 5 nights,the help and advice for places to dine out and visit given by Bryn and Meri was second to none.The food and accomodation at Bron Aber couldn't have been better. It is also an ideal place to stay for visiting nearby Snowdonia. We look forward to many more very happy visits to Bron Aber in the future.
chris & ali w

Room Tip: pick any room they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Criccieth hotels
0.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Awel Mor
Awel Mor
#3 of 21 in Criccieth
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron Aber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron Aber

Property: Bron Aber
Address: Bron Aber Pwllheli Road, Criccieth LL52 0RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron Aber 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bron Aber Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing