We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penwythnos gwych mewn man arbennig.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plas Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Bontnewydd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend staying with Andy and Julian in their wonderful Country House close to Caernarfon. What can one say that hasn`t already been said? This was our first visit and certainly won`t be our last. From the moment that we arrived we were made to feel at home, with afternoon tea served in the Drawing Room in front of a roaring log fire.
Our room, Lady Armstrong, on the first floor, with distant views over the surrounding countryside, was spacious with every amenity to make your stay more comfortable.
We enjoyed one evening meal in the dining room and a Christmas Dinner in the Gun Room with friends, Andy and Julian`s cooking and attention to detail is exemplary.
Breakfasts, served later at weekends, offer a good choice, all sourced locally.
If you are looking for a Country House for that special occasion or just a few days rest, you will not find a better location or a couple who go that extra mile to make your stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotswold-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 612 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our second visit to Plas Dinas this year, and once again Andy & Julian have provided the ideal place and conditions for a peaceful and relaxing weekend break in this beautiful and largely undiscovered part of North Wales.

The room was homely and roaring log fire, squashy sofas, and quality magazines in the sitting room invited peaceful afternoons of restorative rest.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

What an experience!!!! WOW excellent hotel have stayed here before with my two children. Andy and julian fab hosts all the way. Food remarkable on both ocassions nothing is too much effort. Friendly and immense service throughout. Anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay its Plas Dinas all the way.

Paranormal Night amazing met some lovely people will be coming back again :)

Room Tip: Stayed in the Princess Margaret suite very comfortable outstanding cleanliness and amazing facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A wonderful welcome with a friendly smile. The house is out of this world with so much history to offer, with luxury rooms and views of the grounds. The food was lovely with the menu offering excellent choice for everyone. Andy and Julian are fab hosts and make your stay fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just got back from Great weekend at Plas Dinas! For a relaxing weekend you Can Not get better! This was our second Visit to Pals Dinas and it won't be our last.Andy & Julian Make you feel like this is your own home.Nothing is a bother to them and the food is exellent.You can feel the history in the House! The Paranormal Night Was VERY Interesting! Thanks Agian Guy's

Room Tip: All Rooms Are of Exellent standard !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

On our arrival at Plas Dinas we were warmly welcomed with a log fire & Andys homemade cookies. Andy & Julian were the perfect hosts and made our engagement weekend perfect in every way. The hotel retains its history with a familly feel whilst at the same time offering every luxury. The food & room were excellent as were the views and grounds. Thanks again for making this special day very memorable for both of us.

Room Tip: Take the 360 view of all rooms as they all have their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently stayed for the night at Plas Dinas on a mini tour of North Wales. The house is lovely and had a huge roaring fire in the lounge which was lovely to sit by and have tea and home made cake. Andy & Julian are fantastic hosts (and cooks). The house has loads of history - with strong links to the royal family. Our room was very large (The South Room) with a lovely en-suite and a huge range of Molton Brown products. The home made biscuits are a lovely touch as well. We can highly recommend for an excellent base to tour the area or just enjoy the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
2.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,340 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
441 reviews
2.4 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dinas Country House

Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bontnewydd
Price Range: $124 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful things fill Lord Snowdon’s historic family home, Marco's cooking hits the spot and the ten, en-suite bedrooms offer wifi and luxurious Molton Brown amenities.This is the family home of Lord Snowdon. It dates to the 1600s and stands in 15 acres with an avenue of oak that sweeps you up to the house. Princess Margaret stayed often and much of what fills the house belongs to the family: stunning chandeliers, oils by the score, gilt-framed mirrors – an Aladdin's cave of beautiful things. There's a baby grand piano in the drawing room, where you find smart wood floors, an honesty bar and a fire that roars, but potter about the house and find masses of memorabilia framed on the walls (make sure you visit the private dining room). Bedrooms are quite something, the past mixing gracefully with modern design. Nothing is left to chance, a constant programme of refurbishment sees to that. You get four-posters, classic colours, sumptuous fabrics, a sofa if there's room. Bathrooms are excellent, some with showers, others with free-standing baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plas Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinas Country House Hotel Bontnewydd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing