We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant move!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northop Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was moved here by the local Holiday Inn because of a problem with my room there. What a pleasant surprise. Apart from the fact that the price was lower, this is a much nicer option. The room was pleasant if a little dated, and had all that I could want. However it was rather chilly despite it being quite warm outside. There was some distant traffic noise, but not enough to be a problem.

I had a meal in the restaurant, which was very nice, but the portion sizes wouldn't have been adequate if I'd had an active day out walking or cycling for example. Breakfast was also good with a good range of buffet items, both hot and cold. The bacon was very crispy, but otherwise all ok.

Staff were all very friendly and attentive. I will definitely return if I need to stay in the same area again. Great location and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastYorksAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Indie23,

Thank you for your review following you visit to attend a wedding.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and your great feedback.

A lot of time and planning goes into organising such an important event and your kind comments will be appreciated by all concerned.

We hope we may welcome you and fellow guests on many future visits to Northop Hall Country House Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 443 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, and it was more than we could have asked for. The hotel was immaculately clean and tidy. Set in immaculate grounds with a small play area for children.

The staff were fantastic, and nothing was to much hassle for them. The most attentive staff we have ever seen.

We decided to have our evening meal at the hotel. Stunning food, and once again, fabulous staff.

A full English breakfast awaited us in the morning, along freshly cooked pastries and toast. Again wonderfully attentive staff.

We will definitely be staying here again.

10/10

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Clare R,

Thank you for your brilliant review, we were really pleased to see you enjoyed your visit with you family.

The feedback from our guests is invaluable to us, and we are constantly looking at ways of improving our guests experience, and 10/10 is very welcome.

Your kind comments about the team will be much appreciated by everyone here, as I would like to think everyone goes that extra mile to look after our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you on many future visits, when I hope you will make yourselves known to me so I may thank you personally.

Kind regards,

Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived here at about 1.00 pm having travelled a long distance and we were able to go to our room immediately- very much appreciated! The room was large, perhaps a little dated but it had new carpets and curtains and was spotless and very comfortable. It was a hot day and we were able to sit outside and relax in a rural setting with lovely gardens stretching out below us and cows in the next field.
The breakfast was possibly the best I have had in a hotel and that includes 5star hotels! The orange juice was pure orange; the bacon was back bacon and perfectly cooked; the sausages were tasty and not little pink tubes of fat which sadly is what one normally gets ; the pastries were fresh and the eggs were perfect.
The wedding meal was very tasty and the service was all one could ask for. The staff were at all times very helpful. We had a great time here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debbieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear debbiebelfast,

Thank you for your great review, we were delighted to see you enjoyed your visit to Northop Hall.

We do appreciate all our guests feedback as this helps us make improvements where necessary. You are probably aware we are constantly making improvements, and this of course includes our bedrooms, many of which have now been refurbished in recent months.

We hope we can welcome you on future visits to North Wales.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to review Northop Hall.

Kind regards,

Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just returned from our Daughters Wedding, and we cannot thank the staff and especially Dot the wedding planner enough for providing the most perfect day for our daughter. This hotel's setting and formation creates a intermate environment where your guests can mingel and socialise, rather than be confined to one reception room. This feature along with the friendlyness and experties of the staff was a great winner with our guests.The food in the wedding breakfast was excellent and the evening buffet was the best we have had for some time. I would strongly recommend it.Our daughter fell in love with the place the minute she drove up the drive two years ago, and now we have had our big day we are definatly pleased with our venue choice, excellent !! excellent !!! excellent !!!.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Alyn G

Thank you for your great review following your daughters wedding at Northop Hall Country House Hotel. We were delighted to hear all the arrangements went well.

Thank you also for your kind comments, which are appreciated about Dot and the Team, who do work extremely hard to make all the events here run smoothly.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family here on many future occasions.

Best wishes to the Bride and Groom.

Yours sincerely,
Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We recently got married here after falling in love with it many years before. We have stayed over on many occasions and have always found it to be a wonderful experience - gorgeous food and lovely rooms - very clean. The surroundings are beautiful. We would like to especially thank Dot who is the wedding planner at this hotel - she is amazing and nothing is to much trouble, she recommended some great wedding suppliers and she ensured our day ran smoothly. As soon as you meet Dot she puts you at ease and really goes out of her way to provide help and support. She was wonderful with our twin girls. We would also like to thank Sam who was our toast master at the hotel - he was fantastic at organising the day and worked hard to ensure the wedding ran smoothly. The staff at the this hotel are really friendly and helpful and all our guests commented on this - we can not recommend this hotel enough for a great weekend away or as a wedding venue. We can't wait to return xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIcHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear NicHenderson

Thank you for your great review following your recent wedding, we were delighted to hear that your special day went well and you and your guests enjoyed their visit.

Thank you also for your kind comments about Dot and Sam, and the rest of the 'Team' which will be appreciated by everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests on many future occasions.

Best wishes to you both and your family.

Kind regards,

Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I recently attended a wedding reception at this beautiful hotel. For the most part, my experience was fantastic but I was very disappointed that the bar ran out of draft lager by 10:30pm. I have never been to any wedding where the bar ran of draft. Not impressed

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hutch906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Hutch906,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit, we were pleased that overall you enjoyed the wedding reception.

I do apologise for running out of draught lager - we do stock 3 draught lagers in the main bar, and had a very busy day before the wedding that you attended, and I was not aware that we had used so much lager until it was too late to resolve the matter, on the Saturday evening.

We were not able to source an emergency delivery until the following day-Sunday.
I agree this should not have happened and was an inconvenience for many on a very busy weekend.

I hope you may return in the future when I assure you we will have a good selection of draught lagers and beers on offer.

Kind regards,

Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our son and daughter-in-law held their wedding reception here on Saturday . We have held a number of functions at Northophall over the past few years and not once have they let us down. This Hotel excels in the wedding venue market . They understand completely the importance of the day and treat each Bride and Groom as unique individuals . They guide and coach you through the process whilst being responsive and flexible to your own ideas.
Aesthetically, the grounds provide a stunning backdrop to the photographs . We held the wedding breakfast in the main restaurant and the evening reception in the Garden suite . This worked extremely well and both rooms looked stunning ( thanks to Joyce from JJ' venue dressing ).
The quality of the food was high. It was all served hot, with extra sauces / gravies as standard. The vegetables were not overcooked and were served by the delightful waiting staff. The trio of desserts chosen were simply stunning.
The evening buffet was of equal standard and ample in portion sizes.
We had a live band at night and the room accommodated this well.
I cannot recommend Northophall highly enough as a suitable venue choice, be it a wedding, other function, meal or weekend visit.
They manage the balance so well between delivering a professional efficient service alongside a personal, warm and friendly manner. Thank you to all the staff who helped to make the day so wonderful for us all. Martin &Wendy Catton

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Opinionsubjective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Martin and Wendy.

Thank you for you wonderful review, we were delighted to hear that the day went well for everyone - especially the bride and groom.

As you know a lot of time is spent in arranging all the details for such a special occasion, the more information we have the better for all concerned.

Your kind comments about all the 'Team' will be very much appreciated by everyone involved here at Northop Hall.

We look forward to welcoming you and you family back here on many future occasions.

Kind regards,

Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop Hall
1.4 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
1.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
5.4 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chester Northop Hall
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
3.3 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northop Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northop Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Chester Road, Northop Hall CH7 6HJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northop Hall
Price Range: $67 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northop Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Northop Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northop Hall Country Hotel
Northop Hall Country Northophall
Northop Hall Country House Hotel Wales/Flintshire, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing