We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soughton Hall(Northop)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (473)
    Filter reviews
    473 results
    Traveler rating
    226
    115
    72
    35
    25
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    226
    115
    72
    35
    25
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewschequers restaurantsuperior roomfour poster bedwedding venuelounge barcountry housewedding breakfastwedding receptionbeautiful buildingfrom start to finishafternoon tealovely groundsgorgeous foodfollowing morningthis lovely hotelevening buffetwonderful wedding
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    355 - 360 of 473 reviews
    Reviewed March 28, 2012

    Great place to stay. Staff really freindly. Rooms to an ok standard. Food outstanding!!
    Downside - small tv in room, should be outside enjoying the surrounding area though!

    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Bikerboy40
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 26, 2012

    I arranged a private dining event at the hotel recently and was delighted with the end result! The surroundings were lovely and my party was catered for perfectly with food and drink at very compettive rates. This particular evening we virtunally had the run of the hotel with the staff happy for us to use the facilities as required.
    The staff were more than helpful in arranging the event and helped me make a surpise party go extremely smoothly.
    I would definitely go back for an event similar to this

    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Nicky L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 18, 2012

    Our first stay was in December 2011. The room was less than clean and no better after we asked it be cleaned whilst out. We did however receive an apology a discount and the offer of a newly refurbished room on our next stay.

    We took them up on their offer.
    The Room was slightly cleaner but not “Newly Refurbished”. The carpets tired and wrinkled one lamp did not work and the windows could barely be opened. The bathroom fan and pluming intrusively noisy.

    The Breakfast was poor the cups either cracked or dirty. The smoked salmon Scrambled egg and croissant inedible, burnt and runny at the same time. The overall quality of the food low the. The staff inattentive no offer of a coffee refill on either day.

    Having walked past a vacuum cleaner in the corridor I was amazed to see a Dyson could get that full. The staff seem to lack standards and direction.

    I have now read most of the reviews and wonder if the five star reviewers actually stayed in the same hotel. The lower standard ones are a more accurate reflection.

    There will be no third visit.

    Room Tip: is there one?
    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Andrew B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 8, 2012

    This place is amazing, for a quiet stay or weddings the grounds are kept fantastic and are an ideal back drop for a relaxing stay. Only downside the rooms are a bit dated and could do with a refurb.

    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank GaryKenMacclesfield
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 6, 2012

    Last weekend we spent a truly magical weekend at this hotel as we got married there on Saturday 3rd March 2012. Having spent the day before the wedding at the hotel with a number of family members we were able to sample the bar meals at lunchtime , and an evening meal in the restaurant in a more usual environment and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.
    As a wedding venue the staff are fantastic making sure your day runs as smoothly as possible, the surroundings are perfect with the grand staircase making a great photo point, beautiful grounds making a fabulous backdrop for outside photos and the characterful bar area with it's real fire another perfect indoor photo opportunity.
    Dot, Daniel and the team were full of assistance offering a calming voice throughout the day that made sure everything went to plan. We had a civil ceremony in the Garden Suite and moved over to Chequers restaurant for the wedding breakfast. There was no feeling of being rushed around or having to wait around whilst rooms were changed over. A number of our guests have already commented it was one of the best weddings they have been to.
    We found this location purely by chance and it turned out to be the best decision we made, Anyone looking for a wedding venue in this area should take a look at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, you won't be disappointed.

    Room Tip: The superior rooms are well worth the extra expense, spacious, full of character and some even have four poster beds!
    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Gareth J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews