We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tomate

El Tomate
Ranked #6 of 81 Restaurants in Mold
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tapas Restaurant
N.Wales
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Went here with some friends for dinner. Decor is lovely, a really warm feeling. You get a sheet of paper with all the dishes on and a pencil and mark off what you want. We had about 12 dishes between the 3 of us which was more than enough. Try and save some room for the deserts, they are £2.50 and the perfect size after a big meal! They are brilliant, would definitely visit again

Helpful?
Thank Red_Gurl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    78
    34
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Quite Pleasant but Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nothing to dislike about this restaurant, but it is really just another basic Tapas Bar. Nothing special, unlike the wonderful "56 High Street" restaurant that was here before. We have been here a few times as its convenient and although its rather ordinary we always enjoy it and will continue to visit in the future, although the prices are rather high

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank UKTravellers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Wales - nevermind just Mold!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've been to this restaurant four different times, three times when it was just called 56 High Street and the first time tonight under it's new name and theme - El Tomate, Spanish tapas. Never have I been disappointed in the quality, quantity, price, service or ambience at this restaurant. Everything is just superb. It's so well done that tonight I had to go to the kitchen just to tell the chef's how impressed we were by their New Year's Eve spread. If you ever have the chance to dine with them for a special occassion with the prix fixe menu - definitely do it. However, the food is always top notch, beautifully presented and the service is outstanding no matter when you go. I'm not from the UK, I'm from America but I've lived all over the world. Still this restaurant ranks in my top 5 in all the places I've ever been and I recommend it without hesitancy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UsaUKGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantstic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

cozy, fantastic food, and lovely staff, we were shown to our table and brought our wine while we perused the menu. the atmosphere was relaxed but very proffessional

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Tapas Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Previously known as 56 High Street amd well known as a fish speciality retaurant, one which we had visited and very much enjoyed.
This was my first visit since it had changed to Tapas, with my previous experience of Tapas being restricted to La Tasca - Needless to say I won't be going back to La Tasca again.

There were 16 of us in our party and we received great service from the outset, whether it ws ordering drinks or food. The speed of the service was also excellent.

The quality of the food was outstanding, in particular for me the mixed seafood special and the scallops really stood out, howwever I wouldn't want to do any dis-service to any of the other dishes as they were all fantastic.

The staff looked after all of us really and we were never kept waiting when drinks were ordered and they really were a credit to the restaurant.

I would recomment El Tomate to anyone who loves Tapas and to anyone looking to try Tapas for the first time.
I will most certainly be coming back for more visits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adil9217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tomate also viewed

 
Mold, Flintshire
 

Been to El Tomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing