We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time in the land of the 'poppety ping'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beaufort Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mold
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great time in the land of the 'poppety ping'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

There's no doubt that the hotel is an excellent base for exploring North Wales - but first you have to find it! Perhaps our SatNav was having an off day but we certainly had an extensive tour of the area before spotting the entrance. Whatever you do, don't type Alltami Road, Mold, into your TomTom as we were advised. You'll finish up with a real headache. The hotel is actually in New Brighton.. Or were we just unlucky? That having been said, we had a wonderful three-night break. The restaurant is great and the rooms are adequate if a little tired. The showerheads certainly need attention. There's always plenty of hot water but don't expect a power-shower! One thing we could not fault was the attitude of the staff, especially supervisor Fiona Lettsome who is a gem, extremely helpful and a real whizz when it comes to creating all manner of things out of a paper napkin. I've got to make mention, too, of three mature musicians who apparently use the hotel from time to time to play a wide range of music to which visitors are invited to sing along. 'The Fallen Archers' (sic) were great and a real asset to the Beaufort Park. Long may they carry on making music! Oh . . . and who taught us that the Welsh word for 'microwave' is 'poppety ping' (though I'm not sure how to spell it!).

Room Tip: It's an obvious tip: if you are unhappy with the room allocated, ask for another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashovercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    202
    131
    48
    25
See reviews for
109
220
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

just returned from a 1 night stay with national holidays been to this hotel 5 times now and it never lets you down the staff ,the rooms,the food you cant fault anything entertainment isnt x factor but you always have a laugh so well done everyone will most definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room if your not good on your legs as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gisarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I arranged a group walking holiday for over 20 people and we used The Beaufort Hotel as our centre, staying here for five nights. We were given a very warm welcome, our rooms were very clean and spacious and the food was good. We booked a group package for dinner, bed and breakfast and the management - Becky in particular, was very obliging in agreeing to amendments to our bookings, arranging refunds for cancellations etc. The staff were all very helpful and courteous.
There are some superb areas close to The Beaufort for walking - both challenging climbs as well as easier valley walks. The scenery around was stunning. It is very close to Chester and to Liverpool, both places ideal for a day excursion. The whole group thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Beaufort and I have received lots of positive comments about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeicsHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times now, as a convenient base to visit family and to tour some interesting places. First to sort out a couple of points. It is not in Mold as they state, it is a couple of miles outside Mold and in a place called New Brighton. However if you have transport this is no problem and it is a peaceful and quiet location. The reason for the failure to mention New Brighton is that their are two New Brightons in that area of Wales so don't get confused and go to the wrong one ! I have stayed in some really grottyy hotels in Wales, particularly those with twisted corridors, doorways, walls and ceilings due to ground susidence. This one is nothing like those. It is pretty modern, bags of parking, spotlessly clean, with staff who are friendly and helpful. It is classed, I think, as a 3 star, but I have stayed in 4 stars which couldn't hold a candle to it. The rooms are a reasonable size, all en suite, with tv, radio, alarm clocks, heaters, telephones, windows you can open, comfortable beds and chairs, trouser presses, bed lights you can read by, in short just about nothing any reasonable person could complain of.
That said, one shortcoming does exist. There is no lift to take you from the ground floor to the first floor. However they will carry your luggage up to your room if you cannot manage. If you really cannot manage the flight of stairs I presume you would have to ask for a ground floor room. The food provided is both adequate and good in quality and preparation. The hotel is clearly used by coach excursion companies and they also cater for weddings and conferences, but these are kept, and fed, separately from private bookings so far as I could tell and caused no problems. We were using the hotel as a base so:-

The nearest small town is probabaly Buckley which was created largely by workers from the Staffiordshire potteries who came to make bricks, now ceased, and nothing much to see there. However the Welsh language nutters could not tolerate the English name and so created Bwcle, or something like it, as the town name, which is largely ignored by all sensible people.

Down the road is Mold which has interesting little shops, buildings and a statue dedicated to a chap called Daniel Owen who apparently wrote Welsh novels of some repute though I have never read them. Mold also has the reputation of having one of the most vindictive bunch of magistrates in the country though I have no personal experience. If you visit on a Wednesday or on a Saturday you will find the mains street full of market stalls. On the outskirts you can find all the main supermarkets and major names of the bigger stores.

Further away in Wrexham they also have a market day but they also have a couple of indoor markets worth a visit, and the same is true of Queensferry indoor market but the type of stalls vary on differnt days.

Turning now to Chester (back in England) this is, in my opinion, the most beautiful and interesting city in the country. Chester being the Roman name for camp, or fort, still has many traces of their occupation on view,and a museum with a Roman leaning. The walls of the city can be walked and overlook country which saw many battles over the centuries. The cathederal is ancient and well worth a vist as are the double tiered shopping walkways with their black and white timbered frontages. Given the right weather river trips in either individual boats or cruise boats are available to spend time on the river. The only drawback to Chester is that no matter what time of year you go there the main streets are packed with tourists, and it is a terrible place to park.

Finally I would turn your attention to Erddig which is just outside Wrexham. It is a National Trust property and gardens. If you wish to cover both the house, the vintage colllection of tools and machinery, and the gardens you had better allow a full day. If you are familiar with National Trust properties you will have some idea what to expect, and you will not be disappointed. But there is one exceptional aspect to this property. It seems to have the largest collection of photographs and background information about the servants and their lives and deaths as they served the family and the estate over the years of any such property. known to me. The family chapel inscriptions clearly indicate that the family was not exactly socialist minded but there was clearly some large degree of attachment between the family anf their staff and someone was obviously interested enough to consider it important to record their positions and soemthing of their lives. I should perhaps mention another place to visit, namely Chirk Castle, which is not far away, but I have no personal knowledge since it has always been closed when I went there !!!

Right !! thats it !! Back in Bristol,now !!

Room Tip: We had room 240 this time....no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squash27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I went for a meal there. The staff were warm and hospitable. They coped very well when it got extremely busy. A good selection of dishes on the menu.

Warm, friendly environment and extremely cosy atmosphere on a very wet, cold, October Saturday afternoon.

Room Tip: We only went to eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the rooms. I would recommend that if you did s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very helpful staff in reception and in the restaurant. Bedoom very clean, spacious with good solid facilities. Unlike other guests who have provided reviews, we had no problem with the TV - the tea.and coffee facilities were well placed slightly higher up. Equally, looking at the other reviews, if guests are looking for some super modern or boutique 'London style' hotel, then a hotel with conference and wedding reception facilities is unlikely to meet their expectations.The bedroom was very well lit, which is a regular complaint of my wife, when visiting other hotels. We slept well -no road noise etc.There are plenty of places in the hotel to relax in the many diffrerent areas of the hotel. Breakfast had good (what seemed to be) locally sourced items. - no cheap thick fatty bacon or 'basics' substitutes. Staff even went out of their way to provide a fruit tea for my wife.
We used an excellent local taxi service called Apollo to travel to a local evening event. Very prompt, fair price, very helpful driver. Similarly we would use Apollo again.

Room Tip: Use the Apollo local taxi service if you need a taxi while there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ikohlinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Firstly all the staff at the Beaufort Park seemed friendly and helpful in the hotel, bar and restaurant. The rooms need work, they are very dated, TV and internet is hit and miss, bed is not the most comfortable and the showers are poor - but the rooms are a good size and cleaned to a decent standard.

The saving grace is that the food in the arches bar\restaurant is decent, plentiful and reasonably priced. The bar has a decent choice and is pub priced.

I used the hotel for business and to be fair, its more geared to the coach party crowd they seem to attract, but decent food and staff made it.

Room Tip: Good food and a decent pint in the Arches bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcPensom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mold
1.8 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.8 mi away
Plas Hafod Hotel
Plas Hafod Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
1.2 mi away
Soughton Hall Hotel
Soughton Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Northop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Park Hotel

Property: Beaufort Park Hotel
Address: MOld, Mold CH7 6RQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Mold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaufort Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Snowdonia National Park and the fabulous North Wales coastline on our doorstep, only 20 minutes away from the historic city of Chester, the Beaufort Park Hotel truly is perfectly located for both the business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Beaufort Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Park Hotel Mold, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing