We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wetherspoons”
Review of The Gold Cape

The Gold Cape
Ranked #59 of 82 Restaurants in Mold
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
N.Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wetherspoons”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

wetherspoons is wetherspoons where ever you are. Cheap and cheerful. I'm coeliac and it was the first place i found that has symbols at the side of the food to tell you if its glutenfree, veggi, or how spicey it is. Its good for me.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    44
    39
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Beam me up scottie!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I will keep this brief.....breakfast very cheap....looked good when it arrived, food plentiful and well worth the cheap price until you tasted it to find it was cold! Tables around us has been cleared of dishes but not wiped, staff sparse and under pressure, food on floor, it was a bit like a large transport cafe. snotty nosed kids running round, push chairs strewn......noisy oiks with no decorum.... where is that space craft when you need it! lol x

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Just_a_Giraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A meal out...”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Dark, Dismall...The table was not cleared the whole time that we were their leaving us with dirty glasses on the table as we tried to enjoy our meal. Table appeared not to have been wiped for many days. Once the food arrived after a delay due to a burst dishwasher pipe, we were very dissapointed: The food was luke warm and was not the same size as shown on the menu's. Didnt know the U.K had a shortage of chips :P We had the gammon, eggs and chips main. We found that the gammon was extremely salty not what you would normally expect.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave9876589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is what it is...”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Its a wetherspoons - what more can be said. The service can be very slow and the drinks are cheap - so its busy with the raggle taggle of Mold - not a place to go on a first date if you have standards!
Fine with friends and you will no doubt meet other friends and various groups getting drunk and rowdy - hence the need for bouncers on the door - which i find says it all about the clientelle...?
Food is basic, but edible and depending on when you go, it can be fairly pleasant to chat.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank derwennaMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great pub food, cheap and excellent service. The chips were lush, best chips I've had in ages. Staff really friendly and great atmosphere

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharkbait85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gold Cape also viewed

Shotton, Flintshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 
Holywell, Flintshire
Mold, Flintshire
 
Mold, Flintshire
 

Been to The Gold Cape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing