We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tavern, the place to go - Great restaurant fantastic food chic decor friendly staff”
Review of The Tavern Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

The Tavern Bar and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Tavern, the place to go - Great restaurant fantastic food chic decor friendly staff”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant many times over the last couple of years, with friends and family but have never taken the time to say how fantastic the tavern is. Having heard there had been some negative comments I wanted to say this is the best restaurant in Mold, in fact in the local area and if you haven't visited yet you really must do so. the food is freshly prepared and the flavours are divine. The menu selection is great and the specials board is un-rivalled.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter w, Owner at The Tavern Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
many thanks for your review it means a lot to all the staff to see our hard work appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    76
    32
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best food in this area”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have heard great things about this restaurant and been meaning to try it for ages, when I looked on TA I had mixed views then , a friend of mine suggested Sunday lunch and it was fabulous . The roast lamb lunch had the best roasties I have ever tasted, and the crime brûlée was superb ( if I could have licked the cup clean I would have ) The service was excellent, very smart and proffesional . We booked for 12.30 and stayed till after 1600 with no pressure to move
Would not hesitate to recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadie3157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter w, Owner at The Tavern Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review . It means a lot for us after all the hard work we put in for people to give us good reviews and honest ones.
We are especially proud of our sunday roasts and very glad you enjoyed it.
We are very shortly bringing out a new menu so hope to see you again soon.
kind regards peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pete gill and staff”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

What ,a delicious meal and a fantastic welcome we had on sat night the fish meals where first class service by gill excellent and a very varied menu meant we where.spoilt for choice would recommend this re.staurant highly nothing was a trouble great staff great chef and value for money gay and john

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gaynorbeattie2333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter w, Owner at The Tavern Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Good that you enjoyed the fish , our fisherman is out a lot at the moment and we are expecting the wild Hilbre sea bass anytime soon.
hope to see you again
kind regards peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorks
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great night”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Excellent evening tonight. Service very good and attentive. All courses cooked and presented well especially the market fish of the day. Nice ambience and setting, definately recommended if you are in the area. Cant believe the negative reports. A great gastropub, shame we live in west yorks, otherwise it would be a regular haunt. Even sorted a local taxi to get us back to our hotel. A good brigade will get food ordered out to on the customer quickly....that does not mean its pre prepared...its just an organised kitchen!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimSLeeds_WestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter w, Owner at The Tavern Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind (and honest) review. Glad you enjoyed your evening and hope to see you again when you are in the area
kind regards peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real disappointment”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

After reading reviews we had high hopes- a real disappointment I'm afraid. Service & ambience was very good but the food was a real let-down. Looked very well presented but all courses were salty and did not look freshly prepared. Water at £3.95 a bottle may give you some indication of the final bill- definitely not cheap and not memorable either.
We will not be returning!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnevsChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter w, Owner at The Tavern Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
this is absolute nonsense nothing is pre prepared in our kitchen, this is complete rubbish we are probably the only restaurant in our area that does make everything fresh.
someone else jumping on the bandwagon and knock us. end of the day this is what happens when you get to number one . suddenly everyone knocks you . feel free to call me on 01244 550485 to explain in detail what you had and exactly what was wrong .
as for the water at 3.95 you had a large bottle for the table of local spring water.
we are not expensive and considerably cheaper than some local rivals.
if you want two for £10 go down the road. we do fresh food which is expensive to purchase and we use a standard industry calculation to price dishes.
I look forward to hearing from you.
peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing