We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE let down compared to other Village Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Chester St David's
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have stayed at 4 or 5 of these hotels over the last 5 years and was looking forward to the stay here based upon previous experience.

Went for the upgrade to upper desk for an extra £20 thinking it would be great - but apart from a few Starbucks branded drinks and a bigger bed I did not see any real value. The room was clean and well presented but that was it.

Tried the Victory Pub for a few drinks before bed and was shocked to find a party of a bout 3 couples getting very, very drunk and more and more loud and leary as the night went on, the staff continued to serve them despite it being obvious there were very drunk.

The last few places we've enjoyed the breakfast, so we set off in the morning into the restaurant for the breakfast - in short - DON'T BOTHER!

It was the most disgusting, cheap food served up - I would not expect to see this type of food in a "greasy spoon" cafe let alone a hotel. The sausages were full of lumps of fat and gristle, and barely just cooked, the bacon was over cooked and very fatty, the ketchup was a very very cheap brand and the beans were too.

So in short it falls short of my expectations of a Village Hotel and I wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Get breakfast somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageStDavids, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Acydman,

I a very sorry to read of your dissatisfaction with your Upper Deck Bedroom. The upgrade consists of Luxury Sealy Beds, pinchable toiletries, Starbucks branded coffee, a Bose Docking Station and a Sky Movies package which is usually a very popular choice with our guests.

I am also very sorry for your breakfast experience, at Village Hotels we are very proud of our full English breakfast. I have passed your comments on to our Head Chef who will investigate your comments with his team.

We would love to be able to welcome you back to Village St David's and put the above right in the very near future.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,285 - 2,291 of 2,867 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have stayed at 4 or 5 of these hotels over the last 5 years and was looking forward to the stay here based upon previous experience.

Went for the upgrade to upper desk for an extra £20 thinking it would be great - but apart from a few Starbucks branded drinks and a bigger bed I did not see any real value. The room was clean and well presented but that was it.

Tried the Victory Pub for a few drinks before bed and was shocked to find a party of a bout 3 couples getting very, very drunk and more and more loud and leary as the night went on, the staff continued to serve them despite it being obvious there were very drunk.

The last few places we've enjoyed the breakfast, so we set off in the morning into the restaurant for the breakfast - in short - DON'T BOTHER!

It was the most disgusting, cheap food served up - I would not expect to see this type of food in a "greasy spoon" cafe let alone a hotel. The sausages were full of lumps of fat and gristle, and barely just cooked, the bacon was over cooked and very fatty, the ketchup was a very very cheap brand and the beans were too.

So in short it falls short of my expectations of a Village Hotel and I wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Get breakfast elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in between Christmas and New Year with my husband and daughter. Having previously stayed at other village hotels I was expecting similar quality, facilities and service. Our room was a clean and ready on arrival. We booked a family room which boasts either two double beds or double bed and sofa bed. We all ended up sleeping in the double bed as the sofa bed had what can only be described as a mattress topper 1inch thick, it didn't have a suitable mattress. The pool and gym facilities were on a small scale only having one 10m pool. The hotel staff were not as friendly and professional as other village hotels. Breakfast was Luke warm but edible. Won't be staying here again. Still waiting for housekeeping manager to contact us regarding feedback on sofa bed situation.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank thehealinghands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageStDavids, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear healinghands,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Village St David's.

I have reviewed your comments and very disappointed to read of your disatisfaction. Our primary aim is to ensure all of our guests leave happy and relaxed.

I have spoken to our Head Housekeeper with regards to the sofa bed in your family room. The sofa beds are slightly smaller than the average bed due to them being for children under 12yrs old however they should still be extremely comfortable. I am very sorry that you are still waiting for a response with regards to this unfortunately we do not have any records of you contacting us. Our Housekeeper and I are more than happy to discuss this further with you if you would like to contact me direct heather.speed@village-hotels.com

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope we can you welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night, dinner bed & breakfast bought from a deal on KGB for £95 but paid £20 to upgrade to an upper deck room.
Good choice of meals
Room was excellent and comfortable - only downside it was a little too warm but it was quiet enough to open the window.
The staff throughout the hotel especially the restaurant were very friendly & helpful - made such a difference.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageStDavids, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Jaken,

Thank you very much for your review.

Your kind words have been passed on to the teams.

We look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is pleasant enough but I paid £95 B & B and frankly it is nothing more than an upmarket Premier Lodge. There is a gym which would appear to be open to non-residents and when I checked in it was a struggle to park the car. The hotel provided all my pet hates - liquid soap dispensers that don't work properly, instead of a bar of soap. No shampoo or other freebies and no tissues in the room. It was clean, serviceable and comfortable and at say £65 would have been a fair price.

At breakfast the waitress said that she would bring tea or coffee and that was all she would bring - meaning you are on your own buster. She said that to all the guests so it must be policy - some policy.

It is said that in life you get what you pay for except in this case I don't consider I did and it was not worth the money to me but I'm sure others will think it is great.

Room Tip: To avoid walking for miles ask for a room close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellandrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageStDavids, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Yellandrock,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We value all feedback given as it can only help us improve in the future.

The breakfast we offer here at Village Hotels is a buffet style. We offer such a large variety of breakfast products we find it more convenient for our guests to help themselves. If however you stay again please do let us know and we would be more than happy to serve you at your table.

I hope we can welcome you back again in the very near future.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel as we were after another nights stay close to chester....happy with the service recieved from staff.. Lovely breakfast with very friendly staff ... Nice spacious room with good facilities.. Didn't eat in the hotel but chose to walk to the nearby pub for evening drinks as the hotel bar was quite expensive ! Nearly £9 for a large wine!!! Wasn't made aware that the hotel pool was actually a private gym that shared with the hotel but the pool was closed for maintenance work on the morning we were going to use it !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benski33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageStDavids, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Benski33,

Thank you for your recent review of Village St David's Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and with the service received from all of our staff.

Our pool was unfortunately closed for 24 hours for maintenance work, this is all now complete and I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night which we chose as it was close to chester zoo. Was impressed by the stylish modern rooms and was a comfy bed.
Had drinks and food in the victory bar in the hotel, loved the atmosphere in this pub it didnt feel like we was in a hotel.
Good price for food and drinks! Would recommend here instead of driving out to a restaurant.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JoJoPidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageStDavids, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear JoJoPidge,

Thank you for choosing Village St David's for your over night stay whilst visiting Chester Zoo.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with and that you took the time to share your comments.

We hope we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewloe
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
6.8 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
479 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Chester Northop Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
2.7 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#33 of 45 in Chester
526 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Chester St David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Chester St David's

Address: St. Davids Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Ewloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Price Range: $52 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Chester St David's 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Chester St Davidls is close to the historical City of Chester and is also an ideal base for touring the splendours of the Snowdonia National Park and North Wales coastline. Excellent motorway access allows you to visit some superb attractions, swimming with sharks at the Blue Planet Aquarium to a gentle steam railway journey through the picturesque Vale of Llangollen. Village Hotel Chester St David's has 140 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Hotel Chester St David's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Chester St. David`s Hotel Ewloe
De Vere St Davids Park
Village Hotel Chester St David's Ewloe, Wales - Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing