We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Chester St David's
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Newcastle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good weekend”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here on a special offer of £40 for 2 nights so was very good value for money for us! Room was clean (apart from the ask from a cigarette on the bathroom wall) and tidy although there was a nice water stain on the ceiling in the far corner (see Photo!). Hotel itself is very much standard for Village hotels (We go to our Local Newcastle one regularly for social reasons). Starbucks on site too. hot choccies were delightful! Bar prices a bit steep but that's to be expected in a chain hotel. Slept fine both nights with parties on the ground floor both nights. can understand people who have rooms on the ground floor having noise issues though; we walked passed the function room and the music was blasting! All in all a good weekend, breakfasts were OK too, especially for £5 each. Would probably visit again.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms as you may have noise issues if there's a party on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleJojo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    795
    553
    251
    142
See reviews for
489
1,151
50
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just returned from a fab 1 night stay in the Village Hotel. The staff on reception were excellent, ours rooms were modern, very clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. We also went to tribute night Lee Lard, very funny comedian (Peter Kay style) lots of laughs, followed by a disco until 1am. Breakfast at £5 each was good value and plenty of choice, and even better when 2 friends arrived for breakfast escorted by Batman and Captain Rock from the spa.....hilarious .
I stay in lot of hotels on business and the Devere Village Hotels are now my first choice because of the variety of facilities and excellent customer service.Will definitely return to St.Davids and hopefully use the spa next time. Well done to all!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I went on a much needed 4 day break to Village St David's with 3 members of my family who also needed a break because of health problems, we hardly slept each night because of all the noise from children and adults, there were wedding party's on each day that we were not told about, the duty manager did her best to help solve the problem for us but the other guests just didn't seem to care about anyone else apart from themselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Attending a wedding in the locality over the Christmas period so decided to stay overnight here and relax a little before and after. Booked a " superior" room ( superior because its on the second floor) which was clean and comfortable but decorated in greys and brown which gave it a gloomy feel. Our expectations of a quiet time were shattered on arrival as the "pub in the hotel" was overflowing with football fans watching the match - took over 20 minutes to order a drink and we were very lucky to find a table to eat our bar meal from. 3 large parties were also in full swing in the function rooms. The pool and spa are very small and these were also overwhelmed . Sleep was relatively quite except we were next to the lift shaft which made a noise when in use.
Breakfast was a farce - queue for 20 mins for a table before they decided to open the second dining room. Buffet kept running out - had bacon and sausages but no eggs or beans. Eggs arrived but bacon had run out and so it went on. Staff trying there hardest but overwhelmed.
Will not return in a hurry.

Room Tip: Avoid a room next to the lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ewloe hotels

Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three nights while visiting friends in the area. The room was large and clean and the bed comfortable. However, there could have been more in the way of soap, shampoo, shower gel etc. provided in the bathroom.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The pool area was a little disappointing. It was a bit chilly and the water was too shallow to swim in properly. Also, some of the shower room doors didn't lock and there was nowhere to hang your towel while showering! A small thing, but frustrating at the time. We enjoyed the steam room and the jacuzzi however.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for two nights on an excellent 241 room rate offer. The room was an "upper deck" room. Very comfy bed with other extras such as sky Tv. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff who were fantastic and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent value and of a good quality. Some advice, ask for a room over looking the inner court yard, it's much quieter as the hotel is on a major road junction and also check out the adult swim times at the pool as children swim times renders the facilities useless for those without kids. Also there is a pub over the road "The running hare" which does a fantastic carvery two for ten pounds. All in all a great stay and would happily recommend on a room rate offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the court yard to reduce traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monks G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were married at this hotel have been back many times since and always good, arrived for a Christmas 4 day break including Christmas Day lunch and a Robbie Williams tribute night, having traveled a day to get there from the Isle of Man we wished we had not wasted our time and money.
The bedrooms where dusty, dated and dirty, hardly no drawer/storage space for belongings. Three hangers only in the wardrobe between two people and no suitcase stand two days out of four beds had not been made.
As for the Robbie Williams tribute night we were not told it was a party night for office workers when we booked it as they ruined what could have been a good night as people kept leaping on stage when the act was performing, management of the hotel did not try to intervene and stop them, as for the food that night it was over cooked, plated, just warm, totally unacceptable.

As for Christmas Eve, we as residents of the hotel could not get into the bar or lounge for a drink with our family all night as non residents of the hotel had taken over these areas, I asked at reception if there was a function on they replied no it was local people celebrating Christmas Eve, with that we had to retire to our dusty rooms.

As for Christmas Day lunch we were booked in for the Carvery the food again substandard it was even worse for the price we paid than the tribute night, we had warm Champagne served to us we sent it back when it was eventually served to us we were on our sweet course, staff waiting on where still dressed in the same scruffy polo shirts and jeans from when we had our breakfast that morning, when all guests having lunch where well dressed for the occasion.

I could go on and on about the standards of the hotel, in all very disappointed with our four day stay at the hotel it ruined our family Christmas break.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clivep68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewloe
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
8.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
12.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Chester St David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Chester St David's

Property: Village Hotel Chester St David's
Address: St. Davids Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Ewloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Chester St David's 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Chester St Davidls is close to the historical City of Chester and is also an ideal base for touring the splendours of the Snowdonia National Park and North Wales coastline. Excellent motorway access allows you to visit some superb attractions, swimming with sharks at the Blue Planet Aquarium to a gentle steam railway journey through the picturesque Vale of Llangollen. Village Hotel Chester St David's has 140 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Village Hotel Chester St David's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Chester St. David`s Hotel Ewloe
De Vere St Davids Park
Village Hotel Chester St David's Ewloe, Wales - Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing