We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Chester St David's
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could have been better!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Family room booked- double bed, single bed and sofa bed. The windows had condensation and mould in the corners and let in so much draught we put the drinks there to chill.
Reception were most unhelpful when I requested their assistance and it was up to a manager to appease me after 2 days this issue being unresolved.
Location was adequate for what we wanted - Chester zoo but it was a trudge from the back car park to get to the front doors.
The retail park round the corner is handy for the cinema and any other necessaries or a spot of shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fu_shar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    775
    532
    241
    131
See reviews for
467
1,110
48
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Positives first... the therapists in the spa were fantastic, my facial was the best I've ever had. they work very well in quite cramped surroundings I suppose that's what happens when you work for a chain of hotels. Pool area was ok, sauna and steam room about the same, which brings us to dinner. we booked for 8.30pm we were shown to our table given 2 menus which were exactly the same. Our order was taken, lot's of interest from various waiting staff for drinks and food orders.The food was ok if quite unimaginative, I had soup and smoked haddock, the young staff needed a lesson in customer services, food was plonked down with very little interest. we were asked if we would like dessert I asked what the cheese was (extra £2.50 we were on spa deal dinner included.) Stilton and cheddar was the answer, we ordered deserts and then proceeded to wait for over 25 minutes, in the end we gave up and went to settle the drinks bill only to be told your desserts are on the table... We declined and were offered another bottle of wine which we accepted, I have my suspicions this is quite a common occurrence because of how quickly it was offered. we then visited the Victory pub and listened to the entertainment, a young lad called Ryan he was very good. We sat in the conservatory type bar area which leaked, had to choose chairs carefully! Rest of stay passed uneventfully and besides having to wait for 5 minutes for breakfast buffet to be replenished the company definitely saved the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Visted this weekend with my sisters on a Spa weekend package.
First impressions were good, there was a wedding on so everyone was very busy.We revieved 2 treatments from the Spa and we were made very welcome by the ladies who ran it.We had back massages on Saturday afternoon,which was the best we have had! The girls were totally professional.
We used the gym and sauna/steam room ,Jacuzzi and pool then went and prepared ourselves for the evening meal.
The service from a young waitress in particular was dreadful, she banged plates down and didn't even smile...we did mention this to the front of house. Then we ordered dessert which after 45 minutes had still not arrived.We left and paid for our wine and given a bottle on the house for our inconvenience.
The following morning we returned o the Spa where we had a variety of treatments, pedicure,facials and eyebrow tints. Again the ladies were extremely professional and friendly.Our only gripe was the lack of a relaxation room, why oh why have the hotel skimped on this? Come on sort it out! We definitely would recommend the Spa -the hotel staff could learn from the ladies in there :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Me and my husband come here regularly. The food is always worth coming back for and the Victory manager David is a brilliant host. If you like sports they will always accommodate to ensure its on one of the many TVs. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CferCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

There is certainly a lot going on in this English Village from the De Vere stable. A busy conference venue by day, and event centre at night, it is always bustling with clientele.
Whilst this is testament to the success of the enterprise, it can make it difficult for guests to enjoy a peaceful sleep, with screaming youngsters by day and pounding music in the evenings. As it was essential to keep the bedroom window open - our visit coincided with the peak of the 2013 July heat-wave - there was no escape from the sounds of merrymaking.

Our room was spacious and well furnished, but dark, stuffy and gloomy because the window was so small. There was no air-conditioning, and the build-up of heat by late afternoon was intolerable. I requested an electric fan, and an hour later one arrived. It was the most rickety fan I have ever seen, with both a list to starboard and a downwards droop which directed the air to one's right foot. To obtain any relief from the air-flow it was necessary to prop the machine up on a carefully-arranged shoe, which left it hanging precariously, ready to be sent flying at the slightest jolt.

Other notable absences from the suite included mini-bar, hair-drier and complementary toiletries. The duvet was too small, and the mattress and pillows too hard. One light didn't work, and the ones which did failed to illuminate the room adequately. To read in comfort it was necessary to sit in the bathroom.

After all these negatives, it is time to mention what was good about this hotel. There is free Wi-Fi in the bedrooms, and complementary copies of The Independent always available.The staff are friendly and helpful, even under stress. (The receptionist when we stayed was working a double shift, but was back at her desk smiling the next day, and the day after.)
The hotel serves good, reasonably-priced food from its restaurant, bar and coffee lounge. The pool is pleasant, but very crowded during the day. The men are offered a communal changing area with nowhere to hide for the old, the ugly or the poorly-endowed. The ladies, I believe, have individual cubicles, but here I speak not from first hand experience.

One of the great charms of this hotel is its courtyard garden with pond, gazebo and ducks. When we stayed there were two sets of tiny baby ducklings to feed and coo over.

Would we go back? Probably, but not during a heat-wave!

Room Tip: Genuine four-star comfort apparently requires a Top Deck surcharge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fossicker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on 13th July after Chester Races. £89 for a twin room was excellent value compared to what similar standard hotels in Chester were charging. Only 20 minute taxi journey into Chester and no probs geting a taxi back at night.
Hotel bar was excellent with good choice of beers at reasonable prices.
We didn't use spa so can't comment on that.
We will be coming back next year for our annual visit to the races.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel during Chester Races week. Greeting was excellent, stayed in Upper deck room which was more like 5 star, Jenny and Ayla REALLY ensured my stay was pleasurable, they could not do enough to facilitate my specific requirements. Extremely good value for anyone thinking of going to Chester or the races.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewloe
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
8.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Chester St David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Chester St David's

Property: Village Hotel Chester St David's
Address: St. Davids Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Ewloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Chester St David's 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Chester St Davidls is close to the historical City of Chester and is also an ideal base for touring the splendours of the Snowdonia National Park and North Wales coastline. Excellent motorway access allows you to visit some superb attractions, swimming with sharks at the Blue Planet Aquarium to a gentle steam railway journey through the picturesque Vale of Llangollen. Village Hotel Chester St David's has 140 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Hotel Chester St David's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Chester St. David`s Hotel Ewloe
De Vere St Davids Park
Village Hotel Chester St David's Ewloe, Wales - Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing