We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spa get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Chester St David's
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Spa get-away”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked into a King Spa Room for my wife's birthday, and we were very pleased indeed! The room was huge, probably to accommodate the enormous bed which was so comfortable we nearly couldn't bothered to get out!

We didn't really use the restaurant or bar so can't comment, but the on site Starbucks was handy for breakfast in the morning. The Spa has everything we could want, and the gym was more than adequate for anyone's needs.

Recommended!

Room Tip: King Spa Rooms sit right above the Spa, so you're only a few feet away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnysorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    775
    532
    241
    131
See reviews for
467
1,110
48
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at the de vere whilst on bussiness on a B&B option. Very nice setting and good location in nice surroundings. Breakfast was buffet and was plentiful, setting us up for the day. In the evening we ate at the localm pubs nothing against thier food but as it was nice evenings the beer gardens where more appealing. The staff where helpful and if in the area again would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanwick, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Chester back in June as a little birthday treat. We have a 1 year old (and a buggy), and booked a cot at the time of booking. However when we checked in and got to the room, firstly we were at the top of a flight of stars (not accessibly via a lift - very difficult with a load of luggage, a buggy, and a 1 year old), and secondly there was no cot in the room.

I complained to Reception, and they quickly apologised, moved a few things about and changed our room to another room. However, it wasnt a groundfloor room, and was only accessible by the unreliable lifts! We did get stuck in the lift for approx 15 minutes, we tried to raise the alarm, but nobody came. We would have been stuck in there a while had my husband not done a James Bond and prized the doors apart, and got us out. Frightening experience, especially with a tired and grotty baby!!

The restaurant wasnt much to shout about either, and I would far more recommend the Marstons Pub across the road. Alcohol in the Hotel was very expensive, a pint and small glass of wine £10.00! Across the road at the Marstons Pub, £7.

The indoor pool was lovely, but there are 'child friendly' times to visit.

The hotel was approx 10 minutes driver from Chester Zoo.

All in all, okay, but they could do better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybeehenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Absolute perfection. We stayed for one night, and had a massage and a facial in a couple's treatment room which was brilliant. We had a three course meal which was included on the price and the food was faultless. We had wine and watched a boxing match on tv in the sports bar in the evening and listened to the live acoustic guitarist. Breakfast was served until 10:30 so we could have a lie in. The room was spotless with all the essentials such as iron, bath and even a settee and large flatscreen tv with freeview. Feel relaxed and rejuvenated and feel like we had our money's worth x 10. We book through 'spa breaks' the day before our stay and got a cracking deal. Would definitely go back x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie6269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

had a great time with the wife, nice hotel, great location and only 20mins from chester, we travelled into chester by taxi costing around 16 pounds! (nice places to eat there) we used the leisure and pool area a lot even though the pool is small! we had dinner in the victory pub with a couple of friends, had a meal which was classic pub grub! enjoyed staying after for a drink as there was live music! also pub staff very easy to get along with, and happy to have a chat. Thanks to Tom (one of the bar staff) we stayed longer than expected and had a great night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stev f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are a local couple who regularly visit the Bar for a drink and a meal , After reading some of these reports feel very strongly that you could NEVER meet more friendly staff . ESPECIALLY Claire , Always there to say hello and her infectious laugh . We regularly eat there with food being great ,OK can be a little on the expensive side ,but im a great believer that you get what you pay for ,and always enjoy what we have

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dontie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. From the minute you walk in, you are welcomed by heather and the check in staff. Nothing is too much bother. The rooms are lovely, all clean and well cleaned. Great tv with all the channels you could ever want.
The bar, although quite expensive is great. You are looked after by Tom Jenkins, Jason and Sarah who are always busy, but not too busy for a quick chat and a laugh. Really enjoy my stays here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewloe
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
8.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Chester St David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Chester St David's

Property: Village Hotel Chester St David's
Address: St. Davids Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Ewloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Chester St David's 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Chester St Davidls is close to the historical City of Chester and is also an ideal base for touring the splendours of the Snowdonia National Park and North Wales coastline. Excellent motorway access allows you to visit some superb attractions, swimming with sharks at the Blue Planet Aquarium to a gentle steam railway journey through the picturesque Vale of Llangollen. Village Hotel Chester St David's has 140 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Hotel Chester St David's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Chester St. David`s Hotel Ewloe
De Vere St Davids Park
Village Hotel Chester St David's Ewloe, Wales - Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing