We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Chester St David's
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here on business - reception was very pleasant and helpful, rooms were good, shower and bath. Best part was the food and service in the restaurant - the lamb risotto was amazing.

Downside was non air con in the room - I was in a courtyard room which overlooks where people smoke and it was noisy till about 11:00 pm some night but the rooms on the other side were south facing and got really hot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,587 - 2,593 of 3,036 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the hotel. I booked it for my husband and two little girls as we went to Chester zoo! The hotel is in good distance to the zoo so this is why we chose this hotel! On arrival the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. We used the swimming pool which was lovely and my husband used the gym which he was impressed with. At 6pm we were hungry so went to the desk to ask which is the best place for us to have a meal as we had small children! She informed me that 'The Victory' was more suitable and casual for children! So we went around to the victory which was heaving with people drinking and standing around! With two small children it certainly wasn't the family place that we had been expecting! When we went to look at the verve we stood and waited to be seated but no one came so we ended up going back to the room (having been to the pub across the road and them telling us they were fully booked) and ordered room service! Hmmm!! Forgotten some of our food order but didn't want to wait any longer so told him to leave it as by now we had two very tired little girls on our hands!! We went down even earlier to the victory the second night yet again was packed with people drinking and a dj setting up his decks!! So off for a two mile spin up the road and had to settle for a McDonald's!!! Why can't they have an area where people can sit and have a meal without being surrounded by people drinking? There's plenty of room there for it????
The room was clean and tidy with clean towels on second day!
Breakfast was an average choice and the cooked breakfast was hot. The waitress was very pleasant and we only had a short wait for the table to be ready. i would stay at this hotel again if they sorted out there facilities for children!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just come back from my future daughter in laws hen party-what a special experience it was- from the tribute night, the back and facial massages the following day- the hotel was lovely with all friendly staff- would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel gym is decent with usual array of treadmills, bikes, free weights and even Personal Trainers. Its open to the public so does get over-subscribed during peak hours. The hotel does have an in house Starbucks which will no doubt appeal to Starbucks fanatics. I'll pass thank you.

The rooms are average and I don’t see what the fuss is about the "Upper Deck" room upgrades. Seeing several large pieces of chewing gum stuck on the outside area of the window in my hotel room was pretty appalling. To me this shows what sort of guests can stay here and that the property is poorly maintained since they have not been removed. Having said that I stayed here during on the week and all the guests were decent!

Im sorry but the breakfast was disgusting.

Room Tip: If you must stay, choose the Upper Deck room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent the night here and paid a reasonable fee for what we thought would be a good hotel.
First thing to say is that the staff were all charming and keen to help. However , they couldnt compensate for the downsides.

The place is deteriating. Its has damp , its linen is less than pristine and there was hair of previous guests on the hairdryer and in the bathroom. Its also the only hotel Ive ever stayed in that doesnt provide soap , shower jell and shampoo in saches. These were For sale in the foyer.

The breakfast was very good . But even the worst Premier Inn we have stayed in was 100% better. Just dont, there are other hotels near (Holiday Inn , Springfield etc) that actually care about the state of the rooms.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheNomadCorwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

At over £150 for 1 night, I was expecting a bit more of our 'family' room. A fairly small room with a big double bed plus an awful camp bed squeezed in between the bed and window (just). The camp bed was far too small for 2 so 2 of us had a very uncomfortable night. Little things make me really mad in nice hotels - both soap dispensers in the bathroom were either empty or broken so no soap! However on the upside the leisure facilities are good, the bar was good and the food excellent, and breakfast was faultless. On checkout the excellent receptionist agreed the room is far too small for a family of 4 so next time we should book the more expensive family 'plus' rooms. Fair enough, but for £150 for 1 night I expected far more.

Room Tip: If you're prepared to pay more, go for the better family rooms. Avoid the basic ones, they'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveW898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in March when the snow was at its heaviest. On arrival we were given the key to our room which had not been cleaned from the previous occupant. They offered us complimentary Starbucks coffee while we waited which was gratefully received. The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable but its everything else that lets it down. The first evening we decided to book in the restaurant and make use of the vouchers they sell on the front desk. The vouchers seem a good offer until you look at what you get. The menu is VERY limited. I had a rack of ribs that was cold on arrival and served on a chopping board so I had to eat the chips with my fingers because they came in a ridiculous little bucket. My wife has steak but had to pay extra for a sauce and there was a £2 charge because she wanted the cheese board. We asked for red wine but received white and were charged for both bottles when I received the bill. I had sticky toffee pudding for dessert but had to pay extra if I wanted custard or cream. The Bar also serves food but gets so busy and rowdy from outside visitors that we decided to not wait for a seat.
The second night we walked over to the pub across the road and this was a life saver. The staff
were friendly and the food was out of this world.
The breakfast at St David's is a very good buffet system but the staff made you feel like you had to be quick and leave ASAP.
The 2 day stay was also plagued by heavy snow fall but there seemed to be no plan to clear the car park of snow and the guests had to pretty much fend for themselves when it came to getting their car out.
All in all a nice hotel but I certainly wouldn't eat in the restaurant again. Its nicely situated for Chester or any part of North Wales and the rooms are comfy and nicely decorated.

Room Tip: If you book an "upper deck" room make sure you get the extras you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewloe
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
6.8 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Chester Northop Hall
6.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Chester St David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Chester St David's

Address: St. Davids Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Ewloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Price Range: $47 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Chester St David's 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Chester St Davidls is close to the historical City of Chester and is also an ideal base for touring the splendours of the Snowdonia National Park and North Wales coastline. Excellent motorway access allows you to visit some superb attractions, swimming with sharks at the Blue Planet Aquarium to a gentle steam railway journey through the picturesque Vale of Llangollen. Village Hotel Chester St David's has 140 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Village Hotel Chester St David's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Chester St. David`s Hotel Ewloe
De Vere St Davids Park
Village Hotel Chester St David's Ewloe, Wales - Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing