We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel and Staff!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Chester St David's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Chester St David's
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hotel and Staff!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Having read the reviews on this site the morning before I was travelling to the hotel, I got my husband to start checking other hotels in the area! So I was amazed when I arrived at St David's Park to be greeted by a great car park, and clean, modern reception area with friendly. efficient staff. We were shown to a lovely newly refurbished room, clean and with everything in there we would need. The restaurant was lovely, serving good portions of delicious food. The bar area was fun as well as relaxing. We attended a wedding the following day which was well run and in beautiful surroundings both in and outside the grounds. A really great hotel... I wish we had stayed longer to try out the leisure facilities and pool.

Room Tip: All rooms are good or just asked to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DYoung63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizNewmarch, Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at Village St. David's. I'm pleased to hear you had a great time and particularly that you had a lovely day for the wedding. Your feedback is essential to us and we appreciate you taking the time to to feed back your positive comments. They will be passed onto our team to encourage them to continue to go the extra mile for our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can enjoy our new leisure club and Healthworks Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    732
    501
    228
    125
See reviews for
437
1,053
44
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

we reguarly use this hotel for a break from the kids. we took 2 of the kids with us this time ,we had a very nice stay as usual, the staff are very friendly checked in with no problems found are room with ease. we went straight to the pool which is clean and it was not to busy there is a time when children are not allowed in which is great as we often go with out them. we used the pool jacuzi & steam room which are all very nice. The bedrooms are nice & spacious beds are very comfy kids slept great on the sofa bed.The kids felt like they were on holiday we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariedacosta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Why is it called a village? So you can have the privilige of buying your coffee from Starbucks.
The room was dark with the most uncomfortable mattress ever - it was so firm it gave me backache!
There was no extractor fan in the bathroom and no toiletries except for a wall mounted soap dispenser. No tisssues and no clock in the room either.
As for breakfast -where do I start? Well I certainly couldnt start breakfast when I went for it at 8:45am - we were told to wait in a darkened bar until a table came free. When we got in the dining room 15 minutes later it was clear there just werent enough staff on - it took another 10 minutes to get my coffee then the pot of coffee was dumped on the table without a word. They'd run out of the pastries ( and werent making any more) and there werent any clean glasses for the orange juice.
Dont book a room unless you get a very good deal.

Room Tip: How to get the best room? - book somewhere else!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brodie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Overall, a fair place to get your head down, but nothing special owing to the inconsistency in the quality of the rooms. Now rebranded as part of the Village chain of hotels, the whole hotel has been refurbished. However, whilst some rooms are very smart, a number of others have only undergone light refurbishment and are average at best. There is also something of an overall feeling of slight neglect about the place - a plethora of missing lightbulbs, noisy aircon, slightly tired looking bathrooms, and on one occasion a bath without a plug (with no replacements to be found anywhere!). I even had to use my mobile to call reception to complain about one room - as the phone had been removed/stolen! Still, the staff are fairly helpful, there's a decent health club, and the food is decent, if pricey. If you, like many others, are visiting offices in St David Park, its convenience outweighs any of the foibles.

Room Tip: Don't be shy to demand a room change!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clippedwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed here on a Friday feel good deal and it lived up to the title! From checking in staff were helpful and appeared happy, it was the day of the Royal Wedding! We were asked what time we would like our evening meal and given instructions/information where everything was in the hotel. Had no problem finding the room and it was spotless. The bottle of wine, which was included in the deal, was already chilling.
We used the pool and my husband used the steam and sauna rooms, he said they were good.
The restaurant was busy, however, our 3 course evening meal was very good, hot and nicely presented. Yes we did have to wait in between courses but that was not a problem to us. Breakfast in the morning again was really good.
This was our first time at this hotel, we both enjoyed our stay and we will be using this hotel again next time we are in the Chester area. Great location for Cheshire Oaks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella2008Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizNewmarch, Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for your recent feedback following your stay at St. David's. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Check our website for our Great British Breaks promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Hotel looks ok from outside, free parking a bonus but while waiting in the queue we realised there may be more to this hotel than we thought!! People were not being told how to get to their rooms propally, the queue was getting longer, staff hanging around, unruly children, babies crying and that long queue! Luckily I asked for a quiet room away from the road/carpark. The room was very hot, esp the bathroom, hense the mould on the bath/shower! Good tv and wifi. Nice to have a table in room too. Restaurant was full so couldn't have a meal in hotel but over the road is a good pub that does a nice carvery! Bed was comfy, room still too hot! I had read about problems at breakfast and they had warnings out, so we rushed down for an 8am start, thank heavens we did, they were actually giving numbers out to people and then calling them to eat, one poor lady said she had been waiting nearly half an hour!!! TERRIBLE The breakfast was very good, pleanty of choice in eveything except fruit. The swimming pool was horribly busy, too many children jumping in and just not in control, the "lifeguard" needs some training from Haven! I was very glad to leave

Room Tip: Get to breakfast at 8am, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekender066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

overnight stay,very friendly staff,excellent meal deal before 7oclock,breakfast was very good ,ideal for families ,plenty of parking overall very comfatable stay great location for

cheshire oaks shopping!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_wakeham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewloe
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
8.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Chester St David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Chester St David's

Property: Village Hotel Chester St David's
Address: St. Davids Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Ewloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Chester St David's 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Chester St Davidls is close to the historical City of Chester and is also an ideal base for touring the splendours of the Snowdonia National Park and North Wales coastline. Excellent motorway access allows you to visit some superb attractions, swimming with sharks at the Blue Planet Aquarium to a gentle steam railway journey through the picturesque Vale of Llangollen. Village Hotel Chester St David's has 140 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Village Hotel Chester St David's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Chester St. David`s Hotel Ewloe
De Vere St Davids Park
Village Hotel Chester St David's Ewloe, Wales - Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing