We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill”
Review of Running Hare

Running Hare
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Ewloe
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Running Hare is ideally situated at St David's Retail Park Ewloe just off the busy A494 from Chester to North Wales. We serve great pub food all day and our carvery is available 7 days a week 12pm until 9pm.There's no need to book, just turn up when you fancy trying one of our delicious dishes, cask ales or wines. We welcome all the family and have an indoor and outdoor children's play area, somewhere to keep the children entertained whilst you sit back and relax. Come along and see for yourself, you won't be disappointed. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Used to be great place for a quick, cheap, catch up with friends. Have had to send food back a couple of times recently...overcooked, not what was ordered etc. The local feeling is that it's not what it was and should be avoided. Will not be returning until the problems have been sorted out. Such a shame because used to visit regularly but there are much better places to eat in the area now.

Helpful?
Thank 22LMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RunningHare, Manager at Running Hare, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Let me apologise for the disappointing last couple of visits that you have had with us. Please make us aware whilst in the restaurant and we will happily resolve any complaint that you may have. We feel saddened to of let you down so again please except our apologies again. As a team we are working very hard to ensure all our customers have great visits and food when they dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    234
    148
    93
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise for just a fiver!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

When friends invited us to this restaurant and said it was 2 eat for £10 my heart sank! I almost considered taking a sandwich in my handbag! When we arrived and so how big it was we wondered how we would ever find our friends but no need to worry as a very pleasant young girl took us to them immediately. The rest of the party said they'd have the carvery so we tried it too and were very impressed. There was a choice of 3 different meats put onto very hot plates and at least 5-6 different vegetables plus roast and new potatoes, and the the normal gravy, mustard etc to help yourself to. The restaurant was very busy but the staff were all very polite and helpful. The turkey was moist and tasted of turkey and the beef, though well cooked, was still pleasant. We didn't have starter or desserts so I can't comment but for a cheap rough and ready meal when you don't want to cook or as a place to meet with a group of friends we thought it was very acceptable. Not gourmet or high quality but a lot better than restaurant chains where we've paid £8+ each. And fine for an occasional meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheherezade2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RunningHare, Manager at Running Hare, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We take all feedback as a learning tool; it is great to hear god feedback. Thank you from all the team at the Running Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Busy Busy Busy!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Have dined here quite a few times, normally during the day for lunch.

The quality of the food can be a bit hit and miss however it is very convenient for a catch up with former colleagues who work in offices very close by

The staff, on all visits. have been attentive, polite and very quick to rectify any errors/problems. We have never had any issues locating a table which have always been clean and well maintained. There is a good choice of meals and the carvery apparently is excellent and whilst I have not ordered this for myself others have and have commented on the quality of the meat and the value for money.

It's not necessarily a place for a relaxing time, it's usually very busy with lots of coming and going.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenCorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RunningHare, Manager at Running Hare, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. The message has been passed on to our team who are thrilled to have such great feedback about their customer service and efficiency. Thank you from the Running Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“rubbish”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My partner and myself went on a Thursday at 2.30, it was fairly quiet. We ordered beer battered fish and chips.When it arrived what a dissapointment, the fish was dry, the batter over cooked, when it was cut it broke up it was that hard, oh and we counted 9 chips on one plate and 11 on the other.At no time did any staff come and ask if we were satisfied with our meals, the plates were collected with the food left on them, still no interest off the waitress.We have eaten here before and enjoyed it, after today we will not be returning, bad food and bad service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RunningHare, Manager at Running Hare, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Please except our apologies for letting you down last time you visited. We work very hard to ensure we give great customer service and great food, however when we fail to do so it really saddens us. Please do not let this put you off dinning with us again as we will work even harder to continue to deliver great food and service. Your comments have been passed on to our team and they also feel let down that they failed on this occasion to give you a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“family meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

went for family tea after been shopping as pub is near to supermarket, usually food is tasty and good vlue. Dissapointed with this experiance won't be in a hurry to return, had mixed combo as starter to share between the four of us, onion rings very greasy potatoes wedges hard. two duaghters had ordered carvery which they usualy love as help urselves to what vegetables they like. on this occasion meat was very dry no mashed potatoes, roast bounced of the plate went trying to cut them, vegetables soggy no mint sauce. i had lite bite steak and ale pie onc piece of meat in soggy pastry , son had chickenburgur which was no different than going to a fast food place>>> Overall very dissapointing meal won't be rushing back not worth the money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RunningHare, Manager at Running Hare, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Please except our apologies for letting your family down on this occasion. You have previously left a fantastic review of us at the Running Hare so please ensure that this was an isolated event. We would of course rectify any disappointing meals whilst you were dinning with us if we were made aware. We now have mashed potatoes back on our carvery as well so I hope this encourages you to dine as a family with us again. Your comments have been passed on to our kitchen team and they feel saddened that they let you down on this occasion. Thank you for your feedback and let me apologise once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Running Hare also viewed

 
Queensferry, Deeside
 

Been to Running Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing