We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not that bad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beaches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beaches Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Cumbria, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's not that bad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

I was apprehensive about booking this place after reading the reviews on here. It might be because the hotel was quiet, but I didn't have any of the issues that some of the reviewers have had.

A few minor gripes, the bar was badly stocked (only available bar snacks were salt and vinegar crisps and no lemonade) and the TV reception was poor (but I didn't ask them to do anything about it, so only myself to blame). They didn't start doing food until 6.30pm, which wasn't any good for us with a kid we want to get ready for bed at around 7.

Room was nice and plenty of space, but we were put in one of the rooms which had a name which you would assume are nicer than the rooms which don't have names. Breakfast was OK. No complaints about the service. Pool was nice, not too cold and very clean.

For what we paid, absolutely no issues with this hotel. I've paid more to stay in hotels not as nice as this.

And one thing about the other reviews on here. If the view from your room is important to you and you're staying in a hotel called The Beaches, then surely you would ask for a sea view. If the view isn't that important to you then presumably looking at Pontins isn't going to bother you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moley75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    180
    111
    48
    51
See reviews for
161
198
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Rooms very clean, staff pleasant and helpful, food good quality and value. No gripes whatsoever. Get a sea facing room if you can. Lie in total darkness, listen to the waves and see the stars through the window! We will be back..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishonsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

My friend & I arrived to check in at Pontins with our 2 kids for a sun break. After checking in and out within an hr we had to find somewhere else to stay sharpish. The Beaches is situated just behind Pontins which you must not hold against them as some of the rooms overlook it.

When we rang, Shaun booked us in and i could feel the stess being lifted from my shoulders straight away.

We arrived at the hotel at around 11pm and Norris, the night porter was there to greet us all. We were all tired and Norris was fab, check in was quick, when i asked for more pillows they were there for my son and i.

The rooms are clean and homely, our beds were fab, my friend was moved as their beds were lumpy but this was sorted with ease.Alot of noise from Pontins at night but not hotels fault.

Breakfast was lovely and the view of the beach was lovely from the hotel. Walk on beach was so nice as sun was out.

The pool was lovely, the kids loved it, we loved the jaccuzzi :)

If we return to the area then i would stay again, Jan and her hubby ( 2 locals are worth going in to meet, lovely people, had us in stitches ) Norris really made our stay we all loved him not only the kids !!!!!, Shaun recognised my voice and remembered my name from booking :) Nothing was too much trouble.

What started out as a disasterous weekend ended really well thanks to all at the Beaches.

Thank you all :)

Sarah, Sheffield

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1971_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

We had to go to Prestatyn for family visit, and choose the best hotel in the area - if this is the best they have then I would hate to stay at the worst.
The positive side first, the rooms were very clean, and the double bed was comfortable.
The views over the beach were lovely. (If we had been overlooking Pontins this would have been dire!)
The negatives - well where to start -
The single beds were really uncomfortable (we had adjoining rooms)
There was no ice in the bar for drinks
The receptionist was rude
The breakfast food was poor, with no coffee on one day, and the following days the coffee was horrible out of a flask. We decided that we wouldnt risk having any other meals there as breakfast was so bad.
The swimming pool was very cold - and when we mentioned it to the receptionist, she told us that it was regulation temperature (in her normal abrupt manner - no sign of the customer always being right here!)
When we left we were over charged by over £80 and it took me a number of months, a lot of emails and finally threatening them with small claims court before we got a refund.
If this hotel had been very cheap, then we wouldnt have objected so much, but it is not a cheap place to stay, but has the air and the staff of a cheap hotel.

We will not be staying here ever again, and will hopefully never have to set foot in Prestatyn again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieCHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed for several days with my grandson. Firstly the cleanliness of the rooms was impeccable. That was the only plus point! The window would not open in our room and when I asked the large blonde receptionist she replied "Of course it opens! You're not trying hard enough!". I then asked for a fan if possible as the room was so hot and she replied "The only fan is in the gym. You can't expect to have that one surely?!" I then said there was no hairdryer in the room and she said "We've had 6 go in the past month. You'll just have to wait till I order some." A colleague standing near her volunteered to go out and buy some hairdriers but the receptionist refused.

The pool is not the one advertised in the brochure or on the website.. it is their sister hotels pool and sauna. The pool was freezing cold and many people complained while I was there and were met with excuse after excuse. Only children seemed to be able to bear the cold to swim in it! The man responsible for looking after the pool who doubled as bar staff and waiter and whatever else was completely rude and miserable when questioned over the pool temperature. Why are these people working in a customer service industry??

Whenever any guest who arrived at reception had a query, it was met with curt, abrupt replies and no offer of help or friendliness.
This hotel is not cheap by any means.. the food is quite good but the whole hotel staff bar the cleaners, a handyman and a manageress who was very pleasant, need to be retrained in the art of customer service or in the case of the large blonde receptionist and the pool man fired now! It is unforgivable in this day and age and for the expense of the hotel stay.
Prestatyn itself is nice and quiet for a break but not very good for children if the weather is bad as there is little to do for them. I would stay further along the coast in a future visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

Thankfully only stayed 1 night only , was very noisy we had a seaview room , and the bar in the hotel was open late hence you could hear people drinking , shouting and talking loudly while trying to sleep..
The rooms were disapointing , small and bed was very uncomfortable , walls paper thin could hear the guy snoring next room to us , wouldnt visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shell032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed here recently and found the place very comfortable. There are excellent views from most rooms of the gorgeous Prestatyn beaches. The rooms are functional and clean, the bed we used was very comfy.
The en suite was shining and the shower was very powerful.
However we have a couple of minor niggles...
The bar staff seemed to vanish from time to time leaving quite a few people waiting, after speaking to one of the bar staff i learned that they have other duties as well. Some dedicated staff purely assigned to the bar would be a good idea. Also the menus are not displayed very well. I had to ask for the bar menu which for some reason are kept behind the bar. Also the restaurant menu has to be obtained from the reception, again these should be displayed more prominently in my opinion.
The wifi seemed to be unobtainable in our room, but could be accessed ok in the bar area.
Apart from these issues our experience was a most relaxing one.
We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJI_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
17.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
24.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches Hotel

Property: The Beaches Hotel
Address: Beach Road East, Prestatyn LL19 7LG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaches Hotel is located on Barkby Beach in the North Wales town of Prestatyn. The hotel has 69 rooms and suites as well as a gym, bar, restaurant, conference and event facilities, free ample car-parking, a games room and free WiFi throughout. The hotel also boasts a leisure centre with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Located right on the beach, the hotel has stunning views over the Irish Sea and the rugged North Wales coast as well as having stunning views of the Prestatyn hills to the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beaches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Prestatyn
The Beaches Hotel Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing