We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potentially a good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beaches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beaches Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Potentially a good hotel”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Needing somewhere to stay for one night whist visiting relatives we booed this hotel having stayed there several years before. The hotel is located on the sea front with wonderful views over the Irish Sea. We arrived soaking wet at about 5.15pm. The receptionist was quite polite. Being so wet we enquirer as to whether there were any drying faciliities and were informed that the housekeepers had just gone home. Thank goodness that there was a hair dryer in our room as it enabled us to get our clothes dry enough to be able to wear them when we went to dinner in the hotel. Our room was OK, the bed was qute comfortable but the pillows were fairly hard. The bathroom was clean. Clearly the hotel had been refurbished since our previous visit. Breakfast the following morning was nicely cooked but the service was lacking. Several tables were occupied for breakfast but nobody asked us on our arrival to breakfast whether we wanted tea/coffee or any toast. Eventually after several minutes one of the waitresses realised that we were not being served and took our order. We were informed by another member of staff the we should have "shouted out for service".
Overall this hotel appears to lack the final touches of customer care that would enable you to book with confidence that'd you were getting value for money but there is little other real choice of accommodation in Prestatyn. Perhaps the hotel is just sitting on its laurels. It could easily sharpen up its act and make you feel more welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    180
    111
    48
    51
See reviews for
161
198
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

It was with some trepidation we approached this hotel, as the reviews had not been particularly kind. However as soon as we entered the hotel, the staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. All of the staff, especially Jeff, Wayne and Sasha went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The wedding reception was fantastic, again every member of staff catering to our requirements - nothing was too much trouble!
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone, and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 100 which was a family suite, as we are a family of 5. There was more than enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

In short the place is wonderful. Sacha, Jeff and Darren were amongst the friendliest service staff I have come across. Thanks to my Mum and the hotel staff, all my Wife and I had to do was turn up. We could not have wished for a better wedding and the staff and venue played a huge part.

A truly fantastic place and the food far surpassed expectations. I cant sing its praises enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Our son got married in Hong Kong earlier this year. As he and his wife were coming to visiting early December, he decided a t the last minute, in early September, that he wanted a religious ceremony for family and friends. At such a late date, it was proving very difficult to get a venue for early December. We visited several places including The Beaches Hotel. Despite the unprepossessing exterior of the building we were warmly welcomed by reception staff then by Sacha the Hotel manager. Sacha informed us that the only room available did not hold a lot of people but we said the wedding was only 30-40 people. No problem!

Convinced we had found the right venue we went home and looked at Trip Advisor.

We were horrified at the comments and realised we could not have our son's wedding at The Beaches as many guests who were coming from abroad only stayed in 5 * plus hotels.

We went back to see Sacha who convinced us that we could trust her. We did!

The wedding party grew from small to 82 people. No problem! We will manage!

Throughout the lead up to the wedding, Sacha, Wayne, Jeff and staff were calm, reassuring and thoroughly dependable.

Guests arrived on the Friday from Canada, Hong Kong, Dubai, Singapore, Australia and Cyprus all at differing hours of the evening. Despite the varying times all through the evening all were warmly welcomed and had delicious meals.

Having attended many Wedding Breakfasts and corporate dinners, this was up the with the best.

All in all, everyone from throughout the world, were very impressed with the warm and friendly atmosphere and the high standard of the food.

We would like to thank Sacha, Wayne, Jeff and the rest of the staff for going far beyond the call of duty to make the whole weekend from Friday to Monday a memorable and special time in all our lives.

Please, please ignore the derogatory comments. We are so glad that we did.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The reception was efficient and friendly. The large reception area was very pleasant to sit in waiting for friends, with a fire at one end and plenty of comfortable sofas.The Hotel staff were all very polite,friendly and very efficient.
We chose a bar meal at night rather than a full course meal in the Beaches restaurant.
It was well presented and good value.
The catering the following day was excellent for a sit down meal wedding for 80 guests in the Dunes restaurant and food very good.
The room was nicely decorated for a wedding with a comfortable atmosphere.
We would be happy to go there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked our xmas party for 7 of ous staff for the Beaches Hotel on the 7th Dec , the cost per person was £32 which included a meal and a Micheal Buble` tribute act.
We were told to be seated at our table before 7,30pm in readiness for our 3 course meal.
After waiting nearly 40mins for ous starter we were all very disappointed with the food. The soup was bland and tasteless , the holoumi cheese was awful and the smoked salmon starter was just a couple of paper thin slices and some lettuce. We could only hope that our main courses were of a better quality and standard. How wrong we were !! After being served last again our meals came and all 7 of us looked up at each other and commented that there was a tiny amount of veg and Potatoes on our plates, in fact there was 2 sprouts , 4 carrotts , 1 tiny roast potatoe and a well cooked pig in blanket , 1 slice of very poor quality Turkey and a slab of cold stuffing. We asked the waiter for some more Vegetables and he said he would see what was left in the kitchen. Two minutes later a young waitress came over with a small dish of Vegetables and slammed it down in front of us. The puddings were all again very bland and tasteless.
Considering the very high price that we all paid for this event we left there feeling very disgruntled, ripped off and hungry !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went to Michael Buble tribute night, didn't stay over but colleagues did.
Service very slow, staff did try hard but there was a wedding on the same evening so understaffed.
First courses tasteless, hammuni (sorry about the spelling) (left it) colleagues had butternut squash soup (left it). Smoked salmon served on a leaf swimming in oil Poor.
Braised steak very tough, accompanied by a spoonful of mashed potato, 2 sprouts, 2 mushrooms and 2 slivers of carrot. Food cold on delivery.
When we asked "where's the veg?" we were told "its on your plate". The waiter came back shortly after and unceremoniously slammed some extra vegetables on the table.
When told food was cold we were told we got out as quickly as possible, maybe that was why the beef was tough.

Sweets very poor except for Christmas pudding.
Coffee and mince pies very nice and well served by a very pleasant waitress.
Toilets had soaking wet terry towels instead of paper or hand driers, not good is it??
Not what you expect for more than £30
Wont be back, Read, learn and improve!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
114 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
24.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches Hotel

Property: The Beaches Hotel
Address: Beach Road East, Prestatyn LL19 7LG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaches Hotel is located on Barkby Beach in the North Wales town of Prestatyn. The hotel has 69 rooms and suites as well as a gym, bar, restaurant, conference and event facilities, free ample car-parking, a games room and free WiFi throughout. The hotel also boasts a leisure centre with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Located right on the beach, the hotel has stunning views over the Irish Sea and the rugged North Wales coast as well as having stunning views of the Prestatyn hills to the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beaches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Prestatyn
The Beaches Hotel Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing