We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas party night 7/12/13 Poor!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beaches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beaches Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas party night 7/12/13 Poor!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went to Michael Buble tribute night, didn't stay over but colleagues did.
Service very slow, staff did try hard but there was a wedding on the same evening so understaffed.
First courses tasteless, hammuni (sorry about the spelling) (left it) colleagues had butternut squash soup (left it). Smoked salmon served on a leaf swimming in oil Poor.
Braised steak very tough, accompanied by a spoonful of mashed potato, 2 sprouts, 2 mushrooms and 2 slivers of carrot. Food cold on delivery.
When we asked "where's the veg?" we were told "its on your plate". The waiter came back shortly after and unceremoniously slammed some extra vegetables on the table.
When told food was cold we were told we got out as quickly as possible, maybe that was why the beef was tough.

Sweets very poor except for Christmas pudding.
Coffee and mince pies very nice and well served by a very pleasant waitress.
Toilets had soaking wet terry towels instead of paper or hand driers, not good is it??
Not what you expect for more than £30
Wont be back, Read, learn and improve!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    180
    111
    48
    51
See reviews for
161
198
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is looking fantastic - a very warm, welcoming atmosphere, great staff and really good service. The barman in particular was friendly and did well looking after 'The Dunes' bar despite the drunkards on the dance floor!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 767Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Friendly staff, nice clean room but the food was disgusting! Belly pork was undercooked causing myself and my husband to be sick during the night! Breakfast on Saturday morning was ok, but Sunday morning the sauages were off! We would stay there again but we woulnd't eat there ever again!!! NEW CHEF NEEDED URGENTLY!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachesManagement, General Manager at The Beaches Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay here at The Beaches Hotel.

With regards to your comments about the food, please accept my sincere apologies for the experience that you have had, this is not something that is acceptable to us and with be addressed as a matter of urgency. We have recently updated our menus and brought out our Autumn / Winter menu and I am sure you can appreciate that with anything new there is always teething issues, but rest assured your comments will be taken on board and dealt with to ensure that no future customers have the same experience.

With regards to the breakfast, again your comments have been passed to the relevant team and matters will be addressed, as they already have, with some changes being made to the way in which the service and breakfast is carried out.

I would like to invite you to join us for food again, as the new menu is full of delicious winter choices and I can assure you that you would not be disappointed a second time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

Prestatyn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Even though only l night at this hotel we found it to be very good - room warm and spacious, bed very comfortable, breakfast very good with great choices and staff very courteous and helpful. Right by the beach so good sea view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staff were so pleasant and warm. Breakfast was not nice at all, sausages were like hotdogs. Swimming pool had such a high level of chlorine in it that it was harmful towards anyone's skin who got into it again not maintained. Bathroom in room had a damp musty smell in it. Bar shut very early on weekend which was a disappointment. Hotel is away from any shops so car is needed without a doubt. Stunning sea views. Hotel is very outdated and is in need of investment to change room decor. Blood was found on pillow case upon arrival into the room not a good sign at all. Staff again I will stress was so pleasant and always smiling.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highopes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

On the whole a very nice hotel, staff were very friendly, parking & breakfast were spot on.

Didn't like the fact that not only was the hair dryer broken, but it was also past it's test date. Also the walls around the window were damp with paint flaking off & the curtains were dirty. Shower refused to get any warmer than tepid.

Despite this I would stay here again, bed was comfortable, room was warm & outside floodlights were turned off at night, so no garish lights streaming through the windows :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babydoll_blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is at a push ok.
Good points nice view out of the room I stayed at.
Breakfast - quality of ingredients used ok.
Get biscuits in the room.


Bad points

Car parking across the road in a poorly lit area.
Pillows flat and old.
Shower cold no heat at all!
General decor old and tired.
Stupid out dated cancellation policy, independents complain that the chains are taking their business however they are realistic when it comes to cancellation policies.
Two days before is not realistic 24 hrs in this decade is more flexible. it's no longer the 1980s! Therefore next time I am in the area premier inn it will be.


Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Touran2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
17.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
24.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches Hotel

Property: The Beaches Hotel
Address: Beach Road East, Prestatyn LL19 7LG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaches Hotel is located on Barkby Beach in the North Wales town of Prestatyn. The hotel has 69 rooms and suites as well as a gym, bar, restaurant, conference and event facilities, free ample car-parking, a games room and free WiFi throughout. The hotel also boasts a leisure centre with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Located right on the beach, the hotel has stunning views over the Irish Sea and the rugged North Wales coast as well as having stunning views of the Prestatyn hills to the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beaches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Prestatyn
The Beaches Hotel Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing