We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blood on pillow case! Not maintained well”
Review of The Beaches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beaches Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blood on pillow case! Not maintained well”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staff were so pleasant and warm. Breakfast was not nice at all, sausages were like hotdogs. Swimming pool had such a high level of chlorine in it that it was harmful towards anyone's skin who got into it again not maintained. Bathroom in room had a damp musty smell in it. Bar shut very early on weekend which was a disappointment. Hotel is away from any shops so car is needed without a doubt. Stunning sea views. Hotel is very outdated and is in need of investment to change room decor. Blood was found on pillow case upon arrival into the room not a good sign at all. Staff again I will stress was so pleasant and always smiling.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highopes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    193
    121
    54
    55
See reviews for
170
212
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

On the whole a very nice hotel, staff were very friendly, parking & breakfast were spot on.

Didn't like the fact that not only was the hair dryer broken, but it was also past it's test date. Also the walls around the window were damp with paint flaking off & the curtains were dirty. Shower refused to get any warmer than tepid.

Despite this I would stay here again, bed was comfortable, room was warm & outside floodlights were turned off at night, so no garish lights streaming through the windows :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babydoll_blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is at a push ok.
Good points nice view out of the room I stayed at.
Breakfast - quality of ingredients used ok.
Get biscuits in the room.


Bad points

Car parking across the road in a poorly lit area.
Pillows flat and old.
Shower cold no heat at all!
General decor old and tired.
Stupid out dated cancellation policy, independents complain that the chains are taking their business however they are realistic when it comes to cancellation policies.
Two days before is not realistic 24 hrs in this decade is more flexible. it's no longer the 1980s! Therefore next time I am in the area premier inn it will be.


Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Touran2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

After spending some time in the bar and restaurant I noticed that only a hand full of the staff were carrying the work load of other staff. I started to pay more attention and noticed these staff seemed to go without a break, not once complaining or letting the standards slip

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pg431234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

was a good stay indeed, lovely friendly staff, nice rooms and sea view to die for, good leisure club, nice breakfast, all round lovely experience ...on small hiccup was room services late one day but they rectified this by offering us a nice drink in the bar for 3 of us...yes would stay again, location is very very good, parking good and close to al facilities and motorways etc for travelling. nice

Room Tip: either request sea view or mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1958maxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked The Beaches for a family get together in October 2013. The staff were very helpful over email before we arrived and offering advice on booking options for our large party. On arrival, we were greeted warmly by reception staff and given a room upgrade which was very welcomed.

The bar has a lovely view and balcony area outside. The weather wasn't suitable for us to sit outside but during the Summer months thus would have been a lovely place to sit in the evenings.

The hotel also has a kids play room which again would be great for restless kids on rainy days. It's just off the bar so fantastic for parents wanting to keep an eye on kids whilst having a drink!

The hotel has a large free car park opposite.

Negatives- the hotel is in desperate need of decorating and modernisation. The lift is old, the wallpaper and decor is outdated, my parents door to their room didn't close properly, their window wouldn't open and their blind was broken. In the hotels defence, we didn't bring this up as we only stayed 1 night. If we had of been there longer, I would have insisted this to be looked at.

Our meal had mixed reviews! The Chicken dish was very nice. However the Steak was very tough and most people who had this left the majority of their meat. It's advertised as Sirloin I would guess that it was actually rump. I had to ask a number of times for someone to come and take our drink order. Special mention to the 'head' waiter though. Very funny and polite!

Breakfast was average. Had to ask for someone to take our order after a very long wait (we weren't even asked what we wanted to drink when we say down). Bacon was dry, it wasn't that hot either. On the positive side we had loads of toast brought to our table. There was no salt and pepper on any of the tables!

I wouldn't be rushing back here I'm afraid which is a shame as it's a lovely location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Having been invited to a wedding in December at the Beeches, we decided to make a visit and check out the accommodation for our party of four adults and two children. We were offered a selection of keys for various possible room options. All of the staff were very friendly and most welcoming. All the rooms we looked at were immaculate, well furnished and for the money, very good value. The family suite for the adults with little ones is ideal with twin beds in a separated sleeping area. We choose rooms overlooking the sea. After a brisk walk on the lengthy promenade we enjoyed s simple but very well cooked lunch in an attractive bar dining room again overlooking the sea. So if it is accommodation that you are looking for the Beeches is fine and in summer the sandy beech would be most attractive , there is a nearby golf course, but not a lot else, which is a real pity.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank She9753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
371 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
573 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
600 reviews
11.2 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
453 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches Hotel

Property: The Beaches Hotel
Address: Beach Road East, Prestatyn LL19 7LG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaches Hotel is located on Barkby Beach in the North Wales town of Prestatyn. The hotel has 69 rooms and suites as well as a gym, bar, restaurant, conference and event facilities, free ample car-parking, a games room and free WiFi throughout. The hotel also boasts a leisure centre with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Located right on the beach, the hotel has stunning views over the Irish Sea and the rugged North Wales coast as well as having stunning views of the Prestatyn hills to the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beaches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Prestatyn
The Beaches Hotel Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing