We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing staff”
Review of The Beaches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Beaches Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had our wedding reception here last July and couldn't fault one thing! The Hotel was clean,tidy and the staff were more than helpful. We had another occasion to attend to a few weeks ago and again couldn't fault it in any way. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelleyshell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 661 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

After a few nights camping in North Wales we fancied a proper bed so decided to book a hotel at the last minute. We booked a double room for £90 online.

The hotel's website makes it look a lot nicer than it really is, although right on the beach it is also next to the Pontins holiday park and quite far from the town centre

When we arrived we were told a double was not available and were instead given a twin, we were also handed the TV remote control with our room key which gave an indication on the type of clientèle that they expect. Upon entering the room we sat there wishing we had just spent another night in the tent.

The room wasn't very clean, pushing the beds together revealed about an inch of dirt under the bed (and also a couple of quid in change, profit!). The beds were very cheap and not the most comfortable the room was also very small.

At breakfast the next morning they were struggling to keep stocks up, firstly there were no glasses for the juice, then as soon as glasses appeared the juice ran out. Although it is a buffet breakfast it is closely guarded to make sure you don't have more than one plate of hot food!

If I had paid £60 for this hotel I would be happy but at £90 I think it was a bit of a rip off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l3nny600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights,the hotel and rooms were very clean and tidy and of a good size,staff friendly and location excellent,did not use pool or gym so can not comment on that,breakfast was great with a good choice. we didn't have the evening meal but the bar meals were good and at a reasonable price.Outside on the patio was great for a few drinks in the evening overlooking the sea watching the sun set,Good base to explore north Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigelfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Tired from a long drive I came across the Beach House and decided it looked nice for a mid morning refreshment. Was slightly taken aback to be informed food and beverages were only served from noon onwards (it was 10.00 a.m.). However, the receptionist made a call and I was able to order two slices of toast and a pot of tea which was greatly appreciated.

Given the location of the hotel I am sure there would be demand for morning coffee so perhaps this will be considered in the future - particuarly as the main holiday season is underway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a very nice seaside hotel, we went for a family birthday and had four rooms, all but one recently refurbished, the whole hotel appeared to have been redecorated and carpeted. we stayed for two nights, breakfast was excellent and the service good. The restaurant was a little overpriced so almost everyone was eating in the bar, the food was good, the staff tried so hard working against the system, only one till, and three people trying to take the money, long waiting to pay for food and drinks

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

stayed for 5 nights last week (15th July) after a weekend at Bodelwyddan Castle and although it wasn't as opulent, it was well worth the money. The room was clean and fresh , the breakfast was served by courteous staff and plentiful, the weather was exceptional so a great base for sightseeing. Having sun downers on the terrace in the evening was brilliant. Would visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The reception staff were very helpful. The restaurant staff were friendly but they needed a lot of training. When asked where the red wine was, the reply was "We're trying to find a corkscrew!". That was the start. The rolls were dished out without being asked whether we wanted brown or white. Two people in our party didn't get any starters until it was asked where were they (we sent the order in earlier). Finished starter plates were being taken away before the table had finished. The main meal seemed to go without a hitch although two steaks were ordered and the waitress didn't check which was the well done one, and which was the medium one. The person who eventually got the medium one said that it was well done. We were then asked what coffees we wanted. We explained that we hadn't had the dessert menu yet so the waitresses were asked to hold off the coffee until we had finished the desserts. They didn't. The coffees started coming before we had the desserts given to us. Two people had apple and blackberry crumble. They said it was hard to eat into and one person pulled something out 3" long and we were all trying to guess what it was - without luck. To complain about so many things would be inappropriate when one is a guest at the table but ........... the waiters and waitresses did not seem to understand the etiquette of an evening meal. It would also be helpful that when someone asks for something - in my case, a toothpick (and I had to ask twice) - that you actually get what you asked for rather than the staff just forgetting all about it - which is what happened.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
1 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Halcyon Quest Hotel
#3 of 3 in Prestatyn
115 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
18 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,790 reviews
11.2 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches Hotel

Address: Beach Road East, Prestatyn LL19 7LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range: $90 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaches Hotel is located on Barkby Beach in the North Wales town of Prestatyn. The hotel has 69 rooms and suites as well as a gym, bar, restaurant, conference and event facilities, free ample car-parking, a games room and free WiFi throughout. The hotel also boasts a leisure centre with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Located right on the beach, the hotel has stunning views over the Irish Sea and the rugged North Wales coast as well as having stunning views of the Prestatyn hills to the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Beaches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Prestatyn
The Beaches Hotel Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing