We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away on Business - but a nice seaside escape!”
Review of The Beaches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beaches Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Chesham, Bucks, England
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Away on Business - but a nice seaside escape!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I satyed here on Business - just a night late October.

It was a frosty Friday - but the welcome was warm and friendly.

Room was a single - but bed was comfy, room was cosy - with enough space and storage. Tea and coffee making facilities, and a hairdryer. I'm a simple girl with simple pleasures!

I basically checked in - and went straight out to my meetings. Came back late at night. Room was still toasty, and night porter/manager provided me with the remote and showed me how to work the TV - previous guest had switched signal - or something techie like that.

Sleep was uniterrupted - nice and quiet - even though room overlooked front of hotel.

Not the best view of Pontins Accomodation - looked like Colditz!

Next morning Breakfast was at 8am (weekend times) - so I had time for a quick swim in the pool at 6:15am and then a stomp up and down the beach - this is where the hotel wins - on location - right on the beach. Great views and sea-air! Worked up an appeitite.

Swimming pool is great size for a quick dip. Clean and not too chlorinated.

Breakfast was good and plentiful - buffet style - but they serve you canteen style - plenty for all palates and I was stuffed!

Check out was painless - and the staff friendly still.

Would reccomend for a gettaway break as a couple like like to walk beaches, Offyes Dyke Way, etc. and for a business trip base.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel ... I was at the front - 3rd floor - overlooking Pontins/Col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    191
    117
    52
    54
See reviews for
169
206
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

When we walked the receptionist, who must have seen us, went to the office and did not re-appear until we rang the bell.
The room was a bit small but pleasant.
Dinner was excellent value - well prepared and well presented. Waitress was very pleasant
Breakfast was usual fare, with an efficient waiter.
We were there, in what is a holiday hotel on the beachfront, for only one night in October, but I believe the above is a fair picture of what we got.
I was driving from near London and wanted an overnight break. I booked this hotel on the internet as being within reasonable distance from Holyhead. It is more off the beaten track than I expected.

Room Tip: room 101 is on corridor from bar to stairs to upper rooms. Guess it could be noisy at busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank septagenarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just had a couple of days here and it was a refreshing difference for a U.K. hotel.Check in staff were very cheerful and helpful.The room on the top foor was very clean and tidy,good decor.The only problem was the heat.I turned the radiator off and the room was still really hot.
I told them about the problem and they moved us to another room one floor down where the windows opened more and this room was great.
We had a bar meal for dinner which was both tasty and plentiful,draught beers/ciders were well kept and cold.All staff were polite and helpful,and breakfast both mornings were ample.
Along with free wifi ,yes FREE, hotel chains take note, this was a cut above your average British hotel.
Well done The Beaches.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seem to be slighty larger,and windows oen more than third floor ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Soulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

we had a double room which was smaller than what we expected, the room was very clean and warm, with tea and coffee making facilities, the shower is powerful and hot and toiletries were provided for us, breakfast the next day was a little unorganised as there was only 2 members of staff serving about 9 people, the breakfast was nice but i couldnt eat much for a cooked breakfast as there was no options for vegetarians, i enjoyed my stay here at the beaches and would gladly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were fine
Overpriced even for location we paid £90 for 1 night
Food prices were very high £17 for a steak meal I think is a bit much
Clean though n beds were comfy
Lovely view in the morning
Shower was amazing very powerful

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barneybinks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived at around 9pm and so could not fully appreciate how close to the beach the hotel was actually located. The hotel did not look anything special from the outside but I have to say how pleasantly suprised we were by the interior. The spacious reception was well lit and cosy-looking and attended by a very friendly receptionist who changed our room so that we would have a sea-view in the morning, without being asked.
Our room was fairly large, with a comfortable bed and a had a pleasant bathroom with a shower over the bath. We had no complaints with the decor and it looked as though it had been modernised, with a small feature wall with nice, neutral wallpaper.
We were on the first floor, where there was a bar (we did not hear any noise from this, although our room was not really in too close a proximity to it) and also a small games room, with darts, pool table and a quiz machine. The bar is quite small and the staff are friendly and there is a decking area with a lovely view out over the sea.
Breakfast was a cold buffet, with a selection of teas, coffee, juices and cereals with option of ordering something cooked.
There is also a smallish swimming pool with a small gym area, sauna and steam room, which is a lovely addition and unusual for a hotel to offer in this price bracket.
We stayed for one night, slept well and were pleasantly surprised by the amenities of the hotel and it's decor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarryEyed14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I have just got back from a weekend away with my family from the beaches hotel. The service was fabulous the staff were so helpful and the breakfast was lovely, it could be more up to date but everywhere was very clean! I would definately reccomend this hotel for a long weekend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
361 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
584 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,214 reviews
11.2 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches Hotel

Property: The Beaches Hotel
Address: Beach Road East, Prestatyn LL19 7LG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaches Hotel is located on Barkby Beach in the North Wales town of Prestatyn. The hotel has 69 rooms and suites as well as a gym, bar, restaurant, conference and event facilities, free ample car-parking, a games room and free WiFi throughout. The hotel also boasts a leisure centre with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Located right on the beach, the hotel has stunning views over the Irish Sea and the rugged North Wales coast as well as having stunning views of the Prestatyn hills to the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beaches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Prestatyn
The Beaches Hotel Prestatyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing